We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hospitality and lunch.”
Review of Mt Potts Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mt Potts Lodge
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We had a fantastic day thanks to Matt and his family...

We were walking to Mt Sunday, a hillock in the middle of the plain that hosted one of the villages in the Lord of the Rings and Matt and his young son came along in their truck and offered us a lift to the base saving us about 40 minutes walk. All 10 of us hopped on the back, enjoying an open air ride with the wind rushing through our hair. He came back after we'd walked the hill (fantastic views with the snow capped mountains all around) and took us back to the lodge where we had a beautiful lunch with fresh salads and tasty hot food. He and all of his family gave us a lift back over the swollen ford to our cars. Fantastic day and wonderful generosity. Thanks so much guys. ...Di

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Di B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (55)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 55 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2013

This lodge is in a wonderful location but is lacking the touches that make it a really special experience. for seasoned travellers the little things count; so not having a TV in our room, or the ability to connect to the internet in room, only one toilet roll, no hooks in the bathroom for clothes or towel racks. no breakfast offered at the restaurant but no facilities to cook our own, no cutlery or dishes of any kind, no milk in the fridge. At $160 a night we did expect more. Also the meals in the restaurant, though very nice were overpriced. $30 for a simple lamb roast is rather a lot. Its a great idea but they have a ways to go yet

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KateRussell65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MtPottsLodge, Manager at Mt Potts Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2013

Mt Potts Lodge is an isolated place, located in beautiful landscapes of Rangitata Valley. The closest village is 45 km away. We would like to encourage our guests to stay with us, not because they need a roof for one or two nights on their way somewhere else, but because we offer a unique opportunity to experience high country way of life in its natural form.

The aim of Mt Potts Lodge is to provide guests with maximum of comfort, so they can feel as part of the family and not like in hotel or motel units that can be often so impersonal. We do not have TV because we offer our guests much more - peaceful and relaxing environment and sporting activities: free access to Mt Potts property including Mt Sunday (one of the shooting locations of Lord of The Rings - Edoras), to experience our animal farm and pet zoo, free rent of mountain bikes for daily bike tour all around Mt Potts and Lake Clearwater, assistance with hiking up to the Hakatere Conservation Park, free access to fishing areas which are part of the property, assistance for those who would like to go to up to Erewhon Park ski field area or require helicopter or heli-skiing.

All guests are more then welcome to spend time in the Lodge lounge where is free internet available and the TV in case they feel the need to be connected with the rest of the world for some time.

Our Cafe is open from early morning with selection of breakfast and lunch, daily treats, ice cream, and free fresh spring water. We are available for any requests 24 hours a day. That includes running out of toilet paper or need of the milk. Our meat has 100% traceability, we know sources from where it is coming from, we co-operate with small family businesses, local suppliers and use locally sourced products in our Cafe.

Mt Potts is the place for recreation and sport, where our guests can touch the nature in its own beauty and natural essence.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Mt Potts is the most amazing location in the heart of Lord of the Rings country. Just a hop away from Mt Sunday (Edoras). It is a truly amazing location totally away from it.
We went up a week after the biggest snow in years and the road was pretty clear. We had chains but didn't need to use them.
We stayed in Stag Hill Cottage which is a short walk from the main Lodge. The cottage has two bedrooms with amazing under floor heating. It was really warm.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Simon943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2013 via mobile

We dropped in for lunch and had toasted sandwich, curried chicken & vegetable soup and a bowl of hot chips, with a glass of wine and a ginger beer. Good value for money and they even had Gluten Free rolls!
The rain clouds were creeping in which made the view very atmospheric. We will definitely be staying here for a weekend of walking at some point.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Kezzie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

You couldn't ask for a nicer place to stay. Bob and his staff were wonderful. He made us feel at home from the moment we arrived. The cottage was private, quiet, and clean. It was a great place for my family to stay. The location is beautiful, especially for Lord of the Rings fans. We are looking forward to returning again. Thanks again Bob!

Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank newnztraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2013

I stayed at the lodge through helpx and had do much fun spending time in the lodge and helping out. Very fun staff and welcoming atmosphere. Would definitely recommend visiting if you are looking for a beautiful view and a Lord of the Rings experience. Highly recomended location to visit!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank InjuringApollo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

If you are looking for an absolutely incredible experience in the heart of the Southern Alps of New Zealand, you have to consider Mt. Potts Lodge! My wife & I, along with my oldest son & his fiancee, stayed in a charming 2-bedroom cabin with an amazing view of the soaring mountains & valley floor. Just a short drive away is the trail head to Mt. Sunday, know to LOTR fans as Edoras/Rohan. The setting is spectacular. From the top of the rise, you can almost see Gandalf streaking across the plain below on Shadofax!

A VERY special thanks to Matt for helping make this one of the most memorable stops on a memorable trip to Australia & New Zealand!!!

Room Tip: The single cabin facility is homey & clean, with two bedrooms, a comfy living room with a small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank soccerdad_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ashburton hotels
47.4 mi away
Coronation Park
Coronation Park
#4 of 7 in Ashburton
144 reviews
47.4 mi away
Taylors Motel
Taylors Motel
#1 of 7 in Ashburton
176 reviews
47.5 mi away
Ashburton Motor Lodge
Ashburton Motor Lodge
#2 of 7 in Ashburton
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
47.4 mi away
Commodore Motor Lodge
Commodore Motor Lodge
#5 of 7 in Ashburton
35 reviews
47.3 mi away
Hotel Ashburton
Hotel Ashburton
#6 of 7 in Ashburton
110 reviews
47.4 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Ashburton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mt Potts Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mt Potts Lodge

Address: 2131 Hakatere Potts Rd | Ashburton Lakes, Ashburton 7771, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Ashburton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Ashburton
Price Range: £19 - £375 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mt Potts Lodge offers an impressive location and relaxing private ambiance in the mid of High-Country in Hakatere Conservation Park, Canterbury. We cater for all events and propose a tailored solution for any occasions' function venue with quality service and facilities. Welcome you to relax and enjoy a real NZ high country experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Mt Potts Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing