We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So disappointed”
Review of Mt Potts Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mt Potts Lodge
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We had heard how wonderful Mt Potts was as a place to stay in our camper. After waiting some time to speak to someone in a bar where someone was walking around with a “loaded” bow and arrow I asked if we were in the right place. “no, we no longer do that – it is an old publication” she said, tossing her hand at my brand new 2014 club book. I explained it was the new publication - “fffuf” she said, again tossing her hand. We had hoped to stay, the location is wonderful and would have loved to have enjoyed a meal there but the rudeness and dismissive way in which we were treated left us with a very unpleasant taste in our mouths. We shall not be recommending this to any of our many friends.

Room Tip: Can't unselect rooms - we didn't stay, so have no comment
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Jan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MtPottsLodge, Manager at Mt Potts Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience about Mt Potts Lodge without even staying at the property. Mt Potts Lodge is private property and does not offer free of charge camping. Our rates are $ 28 / non-power site and $ 35 / powered site and both apply for 2 persons, as advertised on our website. Our staff offered one of these options, but it was refused. It is a decency to pay for services we provide. It is a also a decency to wait for a moment until our personnel help customers that arrived earlier. Our staff is always professional, helpful, and deal with customers with respect.

This review does not reflect reality of Mt Potts Lodge and we reserve a right to inform that this review is deceptive.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (63)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2014

I stayed here with a 15 year old exchange student who is a big LOTR fan. We both absolutely loved our time at Mt Potts. It was a real highlight of our whole South Island trip. The scenery is spectacular - photos don't do it justice at all. Even though I'm not a LOTR fan myself, it felt very special staying there. Mt Sunday is just five minutes away and you can climb to the top to get stunning views. I was very glad we decided to stay because it made a real occasion of the trip, particularly after the long drive along a bumpy gravel road. We arrived late in the afternoon so there was almost no one in the valley, and we had the top of Mt Sunday to ourselves. We stayed in one of the en suite rooms at Mt Potts Lodge, which was clean and new with comfortable beds. The staff member who greeted us was friendly and helpful. We had dinner at the lodge. Our stay coincided with a hen party who were having a barbeque, so we were offered the same food, which was very good. It was gorgeous going out for a walk after dinner and seeing the light of the setting sun on the mountains.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Merran C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

The room was recently renovated and was excellent. The staff were al friendly and helpful. The only down was the fact that the restaurant was not running due to the chef leaving shortly before we arrived. We managed with the microwave in the room and the help of the staff. The walking in the surrounding area is challenging but rewarding and the scenery is amazing.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidswiss1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Wow beautiful surroundings, we stayed up at Mt Potts as part of an adventure race. The accomodation was a great set up and fantastic to have the lodge right there with a cosy fire, resturant and bar. We got to see a lot of amazing parts of the area on our race but I definitely want to go back and do some more exploring. Would definitely recommend Mt Potts lodge for an active weekend away!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hilary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We stayed here for the Mystery Lake Adventure Race and thought it was fantastic. The setting is stunning, with the remoteness of it all adding to the experience. Perfect location for a get-away from the hustle and bustle. Our room was excellent, easily fitting four of us and all our gear. Highly reccommend for a weekend away. Thanks

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hollie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

if you are looking for a place with stunning landscape, scenery, quietness and a sense of being away, then this a great place to start.
It wont have all your needs covered but it will have a nice bed, clean room, bar and cafe and a generally pretty easy going feel about the place.
We stayed as part of a race over a weekend and it certainly catered to all that i have mentioned above.
Enjoy

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AaronAgnew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We recently stayed at Mt Potts Lodge as part of the Mystery Creek Adventure Race. The location is incredible, magnificent scenery and isolation. After racing it was wonderful to come back to hot showers and heated bathroom floors to warm up the cold toes. The food was wonderful and the bar very welcoming with a cosy pot belly stove adding to the charm of the lodge. The staff are all very friendly and helpful. We would definitely recommend Mt Potts Lodge if you are looking to get away from the bustle of everyday life in a remote location and enjoy the great outdoors.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coops1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ashburton hotels
47.4 mi away
Taylors Motel
Taylors Motel
#1 of 7 in Ashburton
180 reviews
47.4 mi away
Coronation Park
Coronation Park
#4 of 7 in Ashburton
147 reviews
47.5 mi away
Ashburton Motor Lodge
Ashburton Motor Lodge
#3 of 7 in Ashburton
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
47.4 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Ashburton
46.7 mi away
ASURE Adcroft Motel
ASURE Adcroft Motel
#6 of 7 in Ashburton
65 reviews
47.3 mi away
Hotel Ashburton
Hotel Ashburton
#7 of 7 in Ashburton
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mt Potts Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mt Potts Lodge

Address: 2131 Hakatere Potts Rd | Ashburton Lakes, Ashburton 7771, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Ashburton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Ashburton
Price Range: £18 - £368 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mt Potts Lodge offers an impressive location and relaxing private ambiance in the mid of High-Country in Hakatere Conservation Park, Canterbury. We cater for all events and propose a tailored solution for any occasions' function venue with quality service and facilities. Welcome you to relax and enjoy a real NZ high country experience. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing