We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hospitality”
Review of Taylors Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Taylors Motel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Ashburton
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Fantastic hospitality”
Reviewed 8 August 2011

When we arrived after a long day we were greated by Kaye.
She could not do enough for us.
We stayed at quite a few places while we were in New Zealand and no other place came even close to the service we received.
The place was also very clean.

Would definitely go back there!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smorelli49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    41
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
40
72
11
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2011

Good, clean facilities and wonderfully friendly and helpful service from the manager. From coffee on arrival and a unit with the heater already on, to defrosting of car on departure, it was top notch all the way.

Many thanks!

Room Tip: Excellent value for money
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pollyannarh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2011

We started our tour of the South Island with a stay here and it was a great introduction to NZ hospitality! Rebecca gave us the best greeting of our trip and made us feel quite welcome. She also helped us to find what we need in Ashburton. Our room was fine; clean, roomy enough and a comfy bed.
We stayed a second time a week later as we ended our trip; we were looking forward to staying there even after a great week of touring. Taylors did not disappoint; we had another warm welcome, this time with coffee brought to our room. We had two minor issues that were fixed quickly.
An enjoyable stay, thanks for being part of our vacation!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve-Laura-Ottawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2011

Who knew there would be a hidden gem in a sleepy town of Ashburton! We were warmly welcomed and treated to a nice cup of tea (very good chai tea indeed, they had several choices for you) The room we had was a compact studio ensuite on top floor. It was well laid out and didn't leave us feeling compact at all. The bed was super comfortable, tv worked well and the motel was beautiful, well maintained and within walking distance to the Ashburton Domain, a lovely park.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AumAroundTheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2011

We arrived at Taylors sleep deprived and cold. We were greeted immediately by the very friendly and helpful host, Rebecca, who upgraded our room and gave us a nice warm cup of tea. The motel is quiet, clean, and everything we needed. Rebecca even recommended a nice cafe for us. Taylors has far exceeded our expectations!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Minigingerbread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangamata, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2011

Very friendly welcome. Unit was as described. Spotless and well appointed.
Staff were very helpful, nothing was a problem.
Among the best I have stayed in.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jock023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2011

From booking (just after the Christchurch earthquake) to check-in (complimentary coffees), standard of room and facilities, assistance while resident and final check-out, this was a stellar performance. It is not a top of the line motel, nor does it charge the highest rates, but it delivers way above all expectations. Spacious rooms, immaculate cleanliness, everything in first class condition and the friendliest and most helpful staff you could ever hope to meet. In many years of travelling for business or pleasure I cannot recall a better experience, regardless of cost. Highly recommended and we'd stay again in a heartbeat.

John & Robyn Churchill

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Winston018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashburton
0.5 mi away
Hotel Ashburton
Hotel Ashburton
#6 of 7 in Ashburton
109 reviews
18.8 mi away
Methven Resort Hotel
Methven Resort Hotel
#1 of 2 in Methven
125 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Ashburton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Commodore Motor Lodge
Commodore Motor Lodge
#5 of 7 in Ashburton
34 reviews
0.0 mi away
Coronation Park
Coronation Park
#4 of 7 in Ashburton
141 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ashburton Motor Lodge
Ashburton Motor Lodge
#2 of 7 in Ashburton
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taylors Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taylors Motel

Property: Taylors Motel
Address: 770 East Street | Ashburton, Ashburton 7700, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Ashburton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Ashburton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Taylors Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your hosts, Craig and Rebecca Lambie with young family, provide genuine superior service, comfortable, relaxed and friendly welcome. We also offer Free high speed WiFi and sky 50+ channels with guest select. Taylors Motel is your Ashburton home-away-from-home. We are the closest motel to town located in a quiet garden setting facing north. Walk outside your downstairs unit to a lovely lawn area with swing seat, and bbq or enjoy the magnificent views of the southern Alps from upstairs. We have in-house meal options and restaurant opposite. We are located 1 hour South of Christchurch and a 45 min drive to Mt Hutt Skifield. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Taylors Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taylors Hotel Ashburton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing