We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredibly welcoming and hospitable place to stay!!!”
Review of Taylors Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Taylors Motel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Ashburton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 October 2011

We stayed two nights in this motel and having travelled for many years, we have to say this motel rates at 110%. We were offered complimentary coffees on our arrival which were made while we unpacked the vehicle, the rooms were spotlessly clean and comfortable. The weather turned while we were out at the wedding we were in town for, and on our return, the motelier had slipped in and turned heating and blankets on and pulled the blinds - all for our comfort. The beds were comfortable and the grounds were immaculate. Even though located next to railway lines there was very minimal noise once inside the units.
We would highly recommend this motel and these wonderful motelliers and staff to anyone staying in Ashburton. Rating this motel and service at OUTSTANDINGLY EXCELLENT!!!!!

Jacque, Verena, Kayleen and Katrina.

Room Tip: book in here...you absolutely wont regret it!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (176)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

150 - 156 of 176 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2011

When we arrived after a long day we were greated by Kaye.
She could not do enough for us.
We stayed at quite a few places while we were in New Zealand and no other place came even close to the service we received.
The place was also very clean.

Would definitely go back there!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smorelli49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2011

Good, clean facilities and wonderfully friendly and helpful service from the manager. From coffee on arrival and a unit with the heater already on, to defrosting of car on departure, it was top notch all the way.

Many thanks!

Room Tip: Excellent value for money
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pollyannarh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2011

We started our tour of the South Island with a stay here and it was a great introduction to NZ hospitality! Rebecca gave us the best greeting of our trip and made us feel quite welcome. She also helped us to find what we need in Ashburton. Our room was fine; clean, roomy enough and a comfy bed.
We stayed a second time a week later as we ended our trip; we were looking forward to staying there even after a great week of touring. Taylors did not disappoint; we had another warm welcome, this time with coffee brought to our room. We had two minor issues that were fixed quickly.
An enjoyable stay, thanks for being part of our vacation!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve-Laura-Ottawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2011

Who knew there would be a hidden gem in a sleepy town of Ashburton! We were warmly welcomed and treated to a nice cup of tea (very good chai tea indeed, they had several choices for you) The room we had was a compact studio ensuite on top floor. It was well laid out and didn't leave us feeling compact at all. The bed was super comfortable, tv worked well and the motel was beautiful, well maintained and within walking distance to the Ashburton Domain, a lovely park.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AumAroundTheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2011

We arrived at Taylors sleep deprived and cold. We were greeted immediately by the very friendly and helpful host, Rebecca, who upgraded our room and gave us a nice warm cup of tea. The motel is quiet, clean, and everything we needed. Rebecca even recommended a nice cafe for us. Taylors has far exceeded our expectations!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Minigingerbread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2011

Very friendly welcome. Unit was as described. Spotless and well appointed.
Staff were very helpful, nothing was a problem.
Among the best I have stayed in.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jock023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashburton
0.3 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Ashburton
0.5 mi away
Hotel Ashburton
Hotel Ashburton
#6 of 7 in Ashburton
110 reviews
18.8 mi away
Methven Resort Hotel
Methven Resort Hotel
#1 of 2 in Methven
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Commodore Motor Lodge
Commodore Motor Lodge
#5 of 7 in Ashburton
35 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ashburton Motor Lodge
Ashburton Motor Lodge
#2 of 7 in Ashburton
89 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coronation Park
Coronation Park
#4 of 7 in Ashburton
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taylors Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taylors Motel

Address: 770 East Street | Ashburton, Ashburton 7700, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Ashburton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Ashburton
Price Range: £62 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Taylors Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your hosts, Craig and Rebecca Lambie with young family, provide genuine superior service, comfortable, relaxed and friendly welcome. We also offer Free high speed WiFi and sky 50+ channels with guest select. Taylors Motel is your Ashburton home-away-from-home. We are the closest motel to town located in a quiet garden setting facing north. Walk outside your downstairs unit to a lovely lawn area with swing seat, and bbq or enjoy the magnificent views of the southern Alps from upstairs. We have in-house meal options and restaurant opposite. We are located 1 hour South of Christchurch and a 45 min drive to Mt Hutt Skifield. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Taylors Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taylors Hotel Ashburton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing