We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GF and great service”
Review of Lushingtons Cafe

Lushingtons Cafe
Ranked #10 of 44 Restaurants in Ashburton
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The restaurant is setup so cozy and lovely. Spacious setting but quaintly done. The smells for the meals wafting around really made you hungry.

My partner had Eggs Benedict the looked so great...cookbook perfect. And when he cut the egg it just completed it. 9/10 was what he gave it

I had scrambled eggs n bacon....now they put a sauce on the plate to decorate it...the waitress didn't know if it was GF but shot straight away to find out...no worries, no eye rolling. Quick as she was back to tell me it was a vinegar sauce which was GF.

Top service and great food. We will definitely be going back.

Thank Liza L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophie D, Owner at Lushingtons Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Liza,

Thank-you for your lovely review!
We hope to see you again soon!

Lushingtons Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (95)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 95 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We both ordered salmon cakes for breakfast . This was mostly potato was dry was tasteless , we rang to say we were not happy . Girl who answered said she would get manager to ring us . That was 4 days ago havent heard . We spend a fortune there $800 on roses three yrs ago . Always have had great food . Its gone downhill . Sad

Thank Jimmy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophie D, Owner at Lushingtons Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Jimmy,

I'm extremely sorry to hear you weren't impressed with our salmon cakes last weekend.
We will look into your comments and work to improve our systems for the future

Thanks for your feedback.
Lushingtons Team


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

We met up and Lushingtons Café with relatives (had been here last year), The food looked lovely, our sammies were great but the cake we had was dry. The coffees were middle of the road - much room for improvement. The person taking the orders at the counter was hopeless - she kept missing what we wanted, then mucked up the visa transaction and then delivered one coffee short (5 ordered). Not good folks.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 60stravellers2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2018

On our route from Oamaru to Christchurch, we had been told that there was a great place for a coffee and a bite to eat, but we weren't told the name and so we took a chance stopping at this cafe and garden centre. We were not disappointed, my wife had some delicious scones and I a chocolate brownie. The price was reasonable and the service very good

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Gordon3638
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2018

This is a great spot to browse, buy and recover with a treat and a cup of tea! The plant and gift selection are fabulous and the cafe has beautiful options to sit inside or on a terrace.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SZwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lushingtons Cafe also viewed

Ashburton, Canterbury Region
 
Ashburton, Canterbury Region
 
Ashburton, Canterbury Region
Ashburton, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Lushingtons Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing