We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Family Accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bay Viaduct Motor Lodge
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Timaru
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 November 2012

One large room with 2 queen beds, kitchenette and large bathroom with shower. Very quiet with some noise from morning traffic. Located near the center of town, minutes walk from restaurants and cafes. Across the street from beautiful park on the beach, with aviary, mini golf, rides and activities for the kids. Beautiful walkways to the beach.
Bathroom although large has small counter for toilet kits and fan is connected to the light switch which can disturb other in the room.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveG9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (78)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 78 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2012

Our family of four stayed in one of the ground floor two bedroom units. Spacious unit that was modern and clean. Plenty of room on our bathroom for toilet bags to be placed on basin. No issues with extra pillows (see comment from previous reviewer) as there were plenty in the drawers. Only problem (if you can call it a problem!!) that we did have was that we overslept as the curtains were very effective and the traffic noise was minimal.
Property was close to main centre of town and Caroline Bay.
Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shazm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012

Thoroughly enjoyed our 5 nights at Bay Viaduct. We stayed in the 3 bedroom house and it was amazing, Very clean and comfortable. Would definately stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BellfamilyNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2012

The bathroom facilities are quite odd. They have a towel rack above the toilets so the towels hang down and sit on the lid. There isn't a lot of bench space for toilet bags and when you put the light on the fan starts up and stays on making an awful noise. My husband found it difficult to see to shave as the lighting isn't that good. What happened to extra pillows? and why do they insist on having the sheets down under your arm area making it difficult to pull up and be warm and comfortable. They have an upright lamp with another one that snakes down and around and can be moved into other directions and when I grabbed it to point the the light down I burnt myself. Having said that the rooms are clean the view quite good and the restaurants close to hand and Caroline Bay is near enough to go for a lovely walk. The other gripe I have is if they don't want to provide a lift for older people who have difficulties with stairs, why can't they get a lift for cases. I struggled to lift my bag up the stairs as my husband and I arrived at seperate times.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gem059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

We called in here when let down terribly by the place we had booked. It was wonderful. Quiet, clean, comfortable, excellent service, lovely people - I couldn't fault it in any way. And a great location as well!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2011

We stayed at Bay Viaduct Motor Lodge in October in an Executive Suite on the 3rd floor. It was very spacious and comfortable and had a balcony with views over Caroline Bay. It was a short walk to the shopping centre and Caroline Bay was just across the road.

The annoying things about the room were that there were no bedside lamps for reading and if you wanted to get up in the middle of the night you had to turn all the lights on or turn the bathroom light on which had a very loud fan. The rooms are double glazed but we found the noise from the trains and main road at night was quite loud.

Other family members stayed in a two bedroom unit on the 2nd floor which was very spacious, with 1 double bed and 1 single in one room and 3 singles in the other. It had kitchen facilities and a large lounge and balcony. They were very happy with their room.

Room Tip: Executive Room is larger than standard room. Two bedroom unit is very spacious and accommodates up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank globetrotters005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2011

We arrived to the Bay Viaduct Motel as we found our first choice of accommodation was not suitable. It was easter week and they were quite busy at the Bay Viaduct but arranged for us to have a room in the building accross from the reception. The room was a studio on ground level and near the road, however they said we could move in three days time to a room on a higher level with a balcony. As the stay went on and it came to moving we decided not to as the room we were in was great. Although near the road we slept like logs! It was really clean, fresh towels and room serviced every day. There are clothes washing facilites and internet in the reception. Very helpful and friendly staff where nothing was a problem! We would have no problem recommending this motel. Close to some really nice places to eat and also to the lovely Caroline Bay!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MooandWoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Timaru hotels
0.7 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel
Grosvenor Hotel
#5 of 18 in Timaru
275 reviews
1.2 mi away
Aspen on King
Aspen on King
#2 of 18 in Timaru
180 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Hotel Benvenue
Comfort Hotel Benvenue
#9 of 18 in Timaru
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
ASURE Ashley Motor Lodge
1.1 mi away
Avenue Motor Lodge
Avenue Motor Lodge
#3 of 18 in Timaru
100 reviews
0.2 mi away
Townhouse Motel
Townhouse Motel
#7 of 18 in Timaru
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Viaduct Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Viaduct Motor Lodge

Address: Cnr Main Highway & Wai-iti Rd | Bay Viaduct, Timaru 7910, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Timaru
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Timaru
Price Range: £79 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the ultimate - spectacular views, superior luxury accommodation, quiet double glazed units, kiosk at reception, liquor license - mini bar. The spectacular view that greets you when you walk into each unit, sets Timaru's Bay Viaduct Motor Lodge apart from the rest. Bay Viaduct captures the catch phrase for its luxury accommodation: "Location, Location, Location." The Motel and Motor Lodge boasts spectacular views overlooking Caroline Bay and has the ideal location just a couple of minutes walk from Caroline Bay, Timaru's cafes, bars, restaurants and central business area. Situated in a prime position on the main highway at the base of Wai-iti Road (always known as the Bay Viaduct corner before the motorway). Bay Viaduct is easy to find for the visiting guest and locals alike. All of our motels units are doubled glazed, so the great view and prime location are not tainted by road noise. Additionally each unit has its own patio where guests can sit in the summer sun, take in the spectacular views and admire Timaru at its best (all units are non-smoking but if you wish guests may smoke out on the patio). All major credit cards accepted. Book now with your friendly hosts to avoid disappointment... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Bay Viaduct Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing