We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hosts with the most”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pleasant View Bed & Breakfast Timaru
Ranked #3 of 16 Timaru B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 November 2011

thanks for an awesome stay in Timaru. As a frequent traveller for work and leisure, I can say this is one of my favourite places to stay. Great views, modern and spotlessly clean. Breakfast was fantastic and the shortbread biscuits with the nespresso coffee was a nice touch. Rosemary dropped us to the wedding which just shows how nice the hosts are. Nice walk down to the beach etc. I will be back staying here for sure when next stopping in Timaru.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiwi012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (74)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2011

A great B and B and apart from Rosemary's inability to make scrambled egg the hosts were most helpful and charming. The room had a wonderfull view with large glass windows on two sides and we had access to a large lounge with similar grand vistas. It looked a long way from the town but it only took a 20min pleasant walk

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msykes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

We stayed at Pleasant View on our family trip around the South Island. We flew into Christchurch and hired a car and drove south to Timaru. We found the drive south was just about to get tiring, and we drove into town. The directions that we received from Ian and Rosemary were great, and we were soon in their wonderfully modern house.

It was very cold outside, but inside the heaters were on waiting for us, and we were soon nice and snug. We stayed in the large room which comfortably held a king bed and a single bed for our son. The rooms were modern, clean and the en suite contained a very nice shower.

Breakfast in the morning was bacon, eggs tomato as well as cereal. Freshly baked bread was available for toasting along with some lovely home made jam. There were also tea and coffee making facilities.

After our trip around the island we stayed another night before flying home. This time we stayed in the smaller of the two rooms, which held a queen bed as well as the single. This was slightly more crowded, but still very comfortable. Again the hospitality was top rate.

We then left Timaru to travel back to Christchurch and then home, but due to volcanic ash, we were stranded for another couple of days. So where did we go? Back to Pleasant View! Rosemary welcomed us back like family and we enjoyed our extra night there as much as our first.

The views over the bay to town are spectacular, and the house itself is modern, clean and spacious. Flat screen TVs and DVDs available to watch. Definitely 5 out of 5 for us, and if we travel to Timaru again, this will definitely be where we will stay.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BMHT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2011

Pleasant View B&B does deserve its name - the sea view of the house is breath-taking! We stayed there for only a night but it was a pleasant one - the bedroom and the washroom were clean, tidy and stylish. Also we enjoyed the walkway just across the house - which you would have a chance to see Hector's dolphin from land (it's a pity we didn't see any though). The scenery is gorgeous and we spent a relaxing morning out there. And the hosts - Rosemary and Ian - were nice and helpful. We chatted a lot and they gave advice about how to get to Lake Tekapo from Timaru. We really thank them for their hospitability and we'll definitely stay at their place next time when we get to Timaru!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sands1023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2011

A very apt name! Both the owners and the view were pleasant indeed. The room was very clean and spacious and overlooked a neat garden and the bay. It is worth the little bit extra for this room. The lounge was well appointed and has all the amenities for comfort. Timaru is a good place to stop on the way to the Otago Peninsula and Pleasant View is the place to stay if you are making the stop. What we particularly liked about this place is that the guests accommodation was purpose built. Although it is labeled 'homestay' you do not feel as if you are living in someone's home which can sometimes be stifling. And by the way, the home baked bread is to die for.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vbm6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2011

We stayed here for three nights and had use of both rooms and the private lounge view with a beautiful view over the bay.
Both bedrooms were of a good size and had excellent ensuite facilities; the lounge was very comfortable with the Sky TV and a good selection of DVD's. A pair of binoculars is also provided for guests to use.
Rosemary and Ian are a very nice couple who are not obtrusive but are very helpful in providing information about the area etc
The cooked breakfast is well prepared and of good quality.
All in all this is a good place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boristhebold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2011

Only stayed there one night, but we were very pleased that we selected the Pleasant View. Rosemary and Ian are very helpful and friendly hosts, making a dinner reservation for us the night before and providing us with a very decent cooked breakfast in the morning .
Our room, I believe the smaller of the two, was not large but quite adequate and did have more than enough space to easily accommodate our two open suitcases. The whole house was built quite recently so the rooms and en suites are very nicely fitted out.
Location is out of the main tourist area in a very quiet location with an excellent view over the bay.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike_M_Montreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Timaru hotels
1.3 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel
Grosvenor Hotel
#4 of 18 in Timaru
259 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bay Viaduct Motor Lodge
Bay Viaduct Motor Lodge
#5 of 18 in Timaru
70 reviews
1.9 mi away
Avenue Motor Lodge
Avenue Motor Lodge
#2 of 18 in Timaru
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Parklands Motor Lodge Timaru
2.3 mi away
ASURE Ashley Motor Lodge
3.7 mi away
Glendeer Lodge
Glendeer Lodge
#1 of 16 in Timaru
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pleasant View Bed & Breakfast Timaru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pleasant View Bed & Breakfast Timaru

Address: 2 Moore Street | Waimataitai, Timaru 7910, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Timaru
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Timaru
Price Range: £75 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pleasant View Bed & Breakfast Timaru 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern accommodation in Timaru New Zealand, with amazing views across the ocean, bay, town and hills beyond. 2 double bedrooms with en-suites one looking out across the sea and garden, the other onto a sheltered courtyard. Guests own lounge with kitchenette and TV/DVD. Free wireless internet Sit and relax looking out to sea. An easy walk to restaurants and takeaways. Great walking and cycling tracks on doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Pleasant View Bed & Breakfast Timaru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing