We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pleasant View Bed & Breakfast Timaru
Nearby Hotels
US$120
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$105
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$111
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
US$97
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$94
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Grosvenor Hotel(Timaru)(Great Value!)
US$101
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$66
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$114
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$101
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Townhouse Motel(Timaru)(Great Value!)
US$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (76)
Filter reviews
76 results
Traveller rating
56
18
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
56
18
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmueslinice breakfastcaroline baycomfortable furniturethe ground floornext morningcontinental breakfastrosemaryloungehostsbedroomdvddriveway
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 76 reviews
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Would highly recommend a stay, with pleasant hosts and fantastic view to Timaru.
We thoroughly enjoyed the walk into Timaru and also the shorter walk around the small headland where Pleasant View is situated.
The best room is the one which overlooks the Bay but there is also a visitor lounge (fully equipped) which also overlooks the Bay.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with the view!
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We stayed in the King room with a nice view. There are only 2 rooms in this property. The set up is a little different to other motels we stayed in NZ as the tea, coffee, kettle etc were all situated outside the rooms in the shared lounge. This was fine for us as the other guests arrived late so we had the whole lounge to ourselves for most of the evening. The room and attached shower/toilet were so clean and immaculate! Fluffiest towels I have ever used in a non 5 star establishment. Nespresso machine, home made bread, cooked bacon and eggs plus juices and cereals were a very nice treat which you don't always get at other similarly priced accommodations in NZ. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simbing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

Well, we had the King room with its expansive picture windows. Space, I thought, but would it be warm enough for this somewhat cold-blooded northerner? It was so cosy! My better half who knows about these things said "double glazing" and built to high specs. And so it was.

That hurdle over, would it be as peaceful as it should be? Yes. Not a thing disturbed our sleep nor our daytime tranquility.

Two or three other big pluses; the "Pleasant View" is very accessible to a walkway through Caroline Bay on the seafront to some very agreeable eateries in the Bay Hill eat strip; Rosemary's homemade jam is to-die-for and Ian's poached eggs right up there; the tariff not a stretch!

We loved it!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Thangboche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We booked this b and b, requesting a room with a view.
We were shown into the huge lounge/ dining room with absolutely panoramic views of Caroline Bay over to Timaru. After some confusion we were shown to our room... A miniscule room at the back of the house overlooked by neighbours. Amazingly, Rosemary then showed us the only other room, a huge room with stunning views, explaining another guest would be using this room. This had not been mentioned in prior discussions.
The other single guest arrived late, left almost immediately for dinner, came home very late and was gone first thing, while we had to huddle in our tiny room!
The house is lovely, the hosts warm and welcoming, but be sure to insist on the front room or go somewhere else.

Room Tip: Request the front room
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wanderer039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roroTimaru, Owner at Pleasant View Bed & Breakfast Timaru, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Thank you for your review. Sorry you were not happy in our queen room which you reserved through booking.com. We try to ensure the best comfort for our visitors and that evening our large lounge with an amazing view was free for you to have to yourself
As we only have one bedroom with a view this automatically goes to the person who books it, We are happy to upgrade if there is a cancellation. The rooms are priced accordingly.
Maybe you will come back another time and stay in our King room

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We stayed two nights at Pleasant View, and couldn't have been happier. Welcomed by Rosemary and Ian into a beautiful place, with amazing views over Caroline Bay. We had the room with Queen bed which was perfect for our needs. Lovely comfy bed, very quiet and immaculate bathroom. Breakfast was amazing, (been missing it since we left!) with a yummy homemade muesli, followed by the best cooked bacon and eggs I've had for ages. A lovely surprise on our last morning was the visit of a hector dolphin just out in the bay as we enjoyed breakfast, perfect! Would definitely recommend and hope to visit again soon.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sambodio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews