We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, relaxing stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pleasant View Bed & Breakfast Timaru
Ranked #3 of 16 Timaru B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We had a wonderful three night stay at Pleasant View. Our hosts Rosemary and Ian made us very welcome. The whole place is spotlessly clean with everything any traveller would want. My husband and I stayed in the smaller of the two rooms which looked out onto a delightful suntrap of a courtyard and garden. The bathroom was more than adequate, with a nice large shower and fresh washed towels every day. The guest lounge is huge with two comfy sofas, large TV and a kitchenette with all you would need. Breakfast each day was a delight especially the home-made muesli and fresh cooked fruit although my husband preferred the full cooked plate.
Rosemary was very helpful with tips for trips and walks, a delightful and friendly host
We will certainly recommend Pleasant View to our friends and relatives and return next time we visit New Zealand.
We

Room Tip: The larger of the two rooms looks onto a sea view
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gillian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (74)
There are newer reviews for Pleasant View Bed & Breakfast Timaru
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2014

We had a most welcoming and comfortable stay with Rosemary and Ian. Good location to walk into town and with lovely views from our double aspect king room. This is the one we would recommend. The lounge and breakfast facilities were fine for us with plenty of room and good self-service facilities. Breakfast was very good with lots of choice with a Nespresso coffee machine.

Room Tip: Book the king room which has double aspect views over the bay.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Would highly recommend a stay, with pleasant hosts and fantastic view to Timaru.
We thoroughly enjoyed the walk into Timaru and also the shorter walk around the small headland where Pleasant View is situated.
The best room is the one which overlooks the Bay but there is also a visitor lounge (fully equipped) which also overlooks the Bay.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with the view!
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We stayed in the King room with a nice view. There are only 2 rooms in this property. The set up is a little different to other motels we stayed in NZ as the tea, coffee, kettle etc were all situated outside the rooms in the shared lounge. This was fine for us as the other guests arrived late so we had the whole lounge to ourselves for most of the evening. The room and attached shower/toilet were so clean and immaculate! Fluffiest towels I have ever used in a non 5 star establishment. Nespresso machine, home made bread, cooked bacon and eggs plus juices and cereals were a very nice treat which you don't always get at other similarly priced accommodations in NZ. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simbing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

Well, we had the King room with its expansive picture windows. Space, I thought, but would it be warm enough for this somewhat cold-blooded northerner? It was so cosy! My better half who knows about these things said "double glazing" and built to high specs. And so it was.

That hurdle over, would it be as peaceful as it should be? Yes. Not a thing disturbed our sleep nor our daytime tranquility.

Two or three other big pluses; the "Pleasant View" is very accessible to a walkway through Caroline Bay on the seafront to some very agreeable eateries in the Bay Hill eat strip; Rosemary's homemade jam is to-die-for and Ian's poached eggs right up there; the tariff not a stretch!

We loved it!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Thangboche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We booked this b and b, requesting a room with a view.
We were shown into the huge lounge/ dining room with absolutely panoramic views of Caroline Bay over to Timaru. After some confusion we were shown to our room... A miniscule room at the back of the house overlooked by neighbours. Amazingly, Rosemary then showed us the only other room, a huge room with stunning views, explaining another guest would be using this room. This had not been mentioned in prior discussions.
The other single guest arrived late, left almost immediately for dinner, came home very late and was gone first thing, while we had to huddle in our tiny room!
The house is lovely, the hosts warm and welcoming, but be sure to insist on the front room or go somewhere else.

Room Tip: Request the front room
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wanderer039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roroTimaru, Owner at Pleasant View Bed & Breakfast Timaru, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Thank you for your review. Sorry you were not happy in our queen room which you reserved through booking.com. We try to ensure the best comfort for our visitors and that evening our large lounge with an amazing view was free for you to have to yourself
As we only have one bedroom with a view this automatically goes to the person who books it, We are happy to upgrade if there is a cancellation. The rooms are priced accordingly.
Maybe you will come back another time and stay in our King room

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We stayed two nights at Pleasant View, and couldn't have been happier. Welcomed by Rosemary and Ian into a beautiful place, with amazing views over Caroline Bay. We had the room with Queen bed which was perfect for our needs. Lovely comfy bed, very quiet and immaculate bathroom. Breakfast was amazing, (been missing it since we left!) with a yummy homemade muesli, followed by the best cooked bacon and eggs I've had for ages. A lovely surprise on our last morning was the visit of a hector dolphin just out in the bay as we enjoyed breakfast, perfect! Would definitely recommend and hope to visit again soon.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sambodio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Timaru hotels
1.3 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel
Grosvenor Hotel
#5 of 18 in Timaru
256 reviews
2.0 mi away
Aspen on King
Aspen on King
#3 of 18 in Timaru
165 reviews
6.8 mi away
Solace Country House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Avenue Motor Lodge
Avenue Motor Lodge
#2 of 18 in Timaru
96 reviews
3.7 mi away
Glendeer Lodge
Glendeer Lodge
#1 of 16 in Timaru
89 reviews
0.5 mi away
Parklands Motor Lodge Timaru
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pleasant View Bed & Breakfast Timaru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pleasant View Bed & Breakfast Timaru

Address: 2 Moore Street | Waimataitai, Timaru 7910, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Timaru
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Timaru
Price Range: £69 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pleasant View Bed & Breakfast Timaru 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern accommodation in Timaru New Zealand, with amazing views across the ocean, bay, town and hills beyond. 2 double bedrooms with en-suites one looking out across the sea and garden, the other onto a sheltered courtyard. Guests own lounge with kitchenette and TV/DVD. Free wireless internet Sit and relax looking out to sea. An easy walk to restaurants and takeaways. Great walking and cycling tracks on doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Pleasant View Bed & Breakfast Timaru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing