We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Real Home Away from Home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pleasant View Bed & Breakfast Timaru
Ranked #3 of 16 Timaru B&B and Inns
Christchurch
1 review
“A Real Home Away from Home”
Reviewed 29 March 2010

Ian and Rosemary are wonderful hosts are very welcoming .The accommodation is so neat and you never get tired of the view or Ians Home Cooking.
Its always nice to stay somewhere that has a clean and modern atmosphere.
Well Done guys.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kenworthChristchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    17
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
52
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
evesham
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2010

We stayed here for just one night and we cannot praise the hospitality enough. The beautiful house is in a wonderful position with superb views over the bay and out to sea. The room was first class, couldn't be faulted. A delicious cooked was a real bonus.
We wanted to stay much longer!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank faxEvesham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 February 2010

Warm welcome from Rosemary & Ian. All we could ask for in this modern, spacious, ultra-comfortable accommodation overlooking the bay (& Hector's dolphins!). Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PrestonJohnBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2010

This was unexpected. The views are just awesome. We could a see a seal swimming in the harbor. Our only regret was that we just spent one night. Not only was our room perfect, private and snazzy, they also have a huge lounge for the guests with everything you could want.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HoosierNana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruges, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2010

We had the pleasure to stay two nights during our roundtrip through New Zealand in the B&B Pleasant View Homestay.
The moment we arrived we felt at home. The hosts Ian and Rosemary welcomed us and showed us our room which was stunning and had a fantastic ocean view. The B&B is very well furnished (you can immediately see that the owners have very good taste) and it lies a bit on a hill overlooking the beach. It is very relaxing if you fall asleep with the sound of the ocean on the background and the beds are so comfortable that you hardly want to get up in the morning.
Since we were the only guests at that time we had the downstairs lounge to ourselves.
It is a very nice lounge with big windows. The view was to die for since we were lucky with the weather. In the evening you can watch a DVD or use the wireless internet and in the morning you are treated to a very nice cooked breakfast with eggs, tomatoes and freshly baked bread. We could even use the washing machine and dryer which is very handy if you are away for several weeks. One day we went to the beach which is only minutes walking and one day we drove up to Mount Cook. It is only 2 1/2hours driving so it is actually and ideal day trip.
We would like to thank Ian and Rosemary for their hospitality. We have spent five weeks away from home and this was the best B&B we had. We would recommend it to everybody who wants to enjoy a relaxing holiday with fantastic hosts!!!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank becs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
christchurch
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2009

Could not have asked for better, views and accomodation are the best I have ever been too. Thanks to Rosemary and Ian our hosts for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roadrunner75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tuckerton,NJ
1 review
Reviewed 26 May 2009

The Pleasant View more than lived up to it's name. The view was great, the rooms were extremely comfortable (we stayed in both rooms), and the lounge/TV/dining room was pleasant and welcoming. In all, a fantastic accommodation. But, the highlight of our visit was getting to know our hosts, Rosemary and Ian. They were extremely helpful, pleasant, and just great people. We give the Pleasant View our highest recommendation.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NJtripper11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Timaru hotels
1.3 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel
Grosvenor Hotel
#5 of 18 in Timaru
255 reviews
2.0 mi away
Aspen on King
Aspen on King
#3 of 18 in Timaru
162 reviews
1.1 mi away
Elizabeth Court Guest House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Avenue Motor Lodge
Avenue Motor Lodge
#1 of 18 in Timaru
96 reviews
3.7 mi away
Glendeer Lodge
Glendeer Lodge
#1 of 16 in Timaru
87 reviews
0.5 mi away
Parklands Motor Lodge Timaru
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pleasant View Bed & Breakfast Timaru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pleasant View Bed & Breakfast Timaru

Property: Pleasant View Bed & Breakfast Timaru
Address: 2 Moore Street | Waimataitai, Timaru 7910, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Timaru
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Timaru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Pleasant View Bed & Breakfast Timaru 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern accommodation in Timaru New Zealand, with amazing views across the ocean, bay, town and hills beyond. 2 double bedrooms with en-suites one looking out across the sea and garden, the other onto a sheltered courtyard. Guests own lounge with kitchenette and TV/DVD. Free wireless internet Sit and relax looking out to sea. An easy walk to restaurants and takeaways. Great walking and cycling tracks on doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Pleasant View Bed & Breakfast Timaru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing