We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
ASURE Ashley Motor Lodge
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Timaru
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 May 2013

I stay at this motel often.

Carl and Janet are excellent hosts. The units are clean, spacious, quiet and well furnished. The room rate is very reasonable.

The motel is on the main road south of the city and close to supermarkets and restaurants.

I would always stay here when in Timaru. Timaru is worth a visit if you are touring the south island. Go to Caroline Bay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anniess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (124)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 124 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2013

Our family stayed in a two bedroom unit at the Asure Ashley Motor Lodge on our journey down to Dunedin. We enjoyed our stay so much that we decided to stop for another night on our way back to Christchurch several days later. The units were very clean, modern, and spacious and great value for money. Although positioned near a busy road, we did not notice any traffic noise at all and slept very soundly. Our children particularly enjoyed the spa bath in the two bedroom unit! Thanks Carl and team for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VdB187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013

The motel was very easy to find as it is right on the highway when entering Timaru from the south. It is a bit of a drive to get to restaurants and shops, but my family (my parents, my children, and I) thought it was worth it because the apartment was beautiful, clean, and very comfortable. The most amazing thing was that we stayed on Easter, and the staff had hidden chocolate eggs in the room for my kids to find! It was a wonderful treat for my kids who were missing all of their Easter celebrations from home, and was really "above and beyond." Thank you!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MonicaH_SLO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

We stay in a lot of different styles of accommodation with our sport. The Ashley ticked every box for us. I could not fault any aspect of our stay. It was clean, modern,value for money and the hosts went that extra mile. It was lovely and quiet and very handy to town and everything I needed. Make sure you consider this venue if you visit this lovely seaside town.

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms have a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anthony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013

Due to us arriving late we only had a short time at the Asure Ashley Motor Lodge in Timaru but of the 4 lodges we stayed in, this one was the best.

Arranged for a late arrival and the motel room was ready for us without having to faff about trying to find someone. Parking was available outside and walking in to the living room we found it to be modern, sizeable with a couple of sofas, large tv, table and chair etc. The lodge had 2 bedrooms, a double and a twin, kitchen with facilities you need to make a brew or cook a meal.

The bathroom had a great power shower and a modern style bath too.

On check out, the gent who I think was the owner was chatty and sociable, taking an interest in our trip.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank forthevillage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

This was our third time staying at the Ashley Motor Lodge. As always very quit, heaps of room in the units and the beds are so comfortable for those with a bad back.
Love the recycling option in the units and nice to get a good choice of coffee and tea's
We will be back to stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013 via mobile

Loved this motel- although not new, it was totally utterly spotlessly clean!
A very helpful kind owner; the only motel Ive stayed in with two full size couches in the lounge- brilliant. Divine spa bath. Would stay here again in a flash.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathryn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Timaru hotels
1.2 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel
Grosvenor Hotel
#4 of 18 in Timaru
259 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aspen on King
Aspen on King
#3 of 18 in Timaru
169 reviews
1.6 mi away
Comfort Hotel Benvenue
Comfort Hotel Benvenue
#9 of 18 in Timaru
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Avenue Motor Lodge
Avenue Motor Lodge
#2 of 18 in Timaru
97 reviews
1.8 mi away
Bay Viaduct Motor Lodge
Bay Viaduct Motor Lodge
#5 of 18 in Timaru
69 reviews
1.7 mi away
Townhouse Motel
Townhouse Motel
#8 of 18 in Timaru
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ASURE Ashley Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ASURE Ashley Motor Lodge

Address: 95-99 King Street, Timaru, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Timaru
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Timaru
Price Range: £89 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — ASURE Ashley Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ASURE Ashley Motor Lodge provides quality, 4 Star Plus rated, central Timaru accommodation and is ideal for corporate travellers, families and tourists. ASURE Ashley Motor Lodge offers 17 spacious quiet fully self-contained and serviced studio, one and two bedroom apartments. Asure Ashley Motor lodge also offer the twin king unit, a two bedroom apartment with kind sized beds in both rooms, as well as having two access rooms. All apartments have fully equipped kitchens, spa baths (except for access studios), FREE WI FI (100MB Limits Apply), Continental and cooked breakfasts are available each morning. ASURE Ashley Motor Lodge is situated on SH1 just south of the bypass, 3 minutes' drive to central Timaru, Caroline Bay and restaurants, close to the Timaru Hospital, the Timaru Botanic Gardens and golfers have a choice of seven nearby golf courses. Your hosts Carl and Janet offer you a warm welcome at ASURE Ashley Motor Lodge located in the heart of Timaru. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your ASURE Ashley Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing