We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Timaru Accomodation option”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
ASURE Ashley Motor Lodge
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Timaru
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Timaru Accomodation option”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Our family of four stayed at the Asure Ashley Timaru, King Street for two nights last weekend.
We stayed in a two bedroom unit with spa bath (unit 1). It was very clean, modernish and comfortable. A nice surprise was the units are serviced. Hosts are very welcoming and helpful. Dairy and garage nearby. Would stay here again and recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mertyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    31
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
30
42
12
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

Terrific roadside Motel. We were traveling down from Christchurch, needed a place to stay for 1 night. Lots of room for our family, two bedroom unit (also had pullouts), kitchenette, jetted tub, all very clean. Host provided fresh milk for morning coffee. Free WiFi.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

I couldn't have found a better place to stay in Timaru. The Hosts are such hard working, friendly and the best people to be staying with! Your in "Great Hands". The premise is immaculately presented, Clean and Comfortable. It honestly felt like I was in a upmarket establishment and I couldn't be wrong. Even tho my intention was to be out most of the time as you do on Holiday; with Caroline Bay in magnificent form we were so comfortable at the lodge to put our feet up and enjoy the premise. With the beautiful community Gardens 500m away and a vintage tennis court so close we were content to enjoy the surroundings. The deluxe room was adequate for two of us but would accommodate three. The bath with spa was nice and living room comfortable especially the leather seats, they were real nice. The table was great for a work station and is good to be used as dinner table.
Having sky TV with the added bonus of so many channels to choose from was great.
You couldn't go wrong with this gem in Timaru! Thank you for the experience, I enjoyed the stay.

Room Tip: Try them all. Swimming pool and restaurant not applicable
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

We stayed one night at the motel together with my wife and 2 teenage kids. The rooms were clean and spacious and the spa bath was a plus. Only downside was that after we used the spa bath twice in a row, we had a really hard time to get the heater to provide more hot water to refill after that ... I think it was probably that we had exceeded the capacity of the water heater and could only get hot water again after quite a long time ... Other than that, it was a good stay and the place was nice and comfortable ...

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter_sg2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We stayed one night at the ASURE Ashley Motor Lodge in Timaru. We stayed in a deluxe studio. It consisted of a double bed, a single bed, 2 large and very comfortable leather lounge chairs, small table and chairs, small kitchenette - with microwave, electric kettle, cutlery and crockery, and a large bathroom/toilet. Very clean, and tidy. Its a pity we couldn't stay longer.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rozee328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Our family of 3 stayed at Ashley Motor Lodge for a week in a 2 bedroom unit that was modern, comfortable and kept very clean. A well equipped kitchen and spacious bathroom rounded off the unit. Location was good-close to the city center and shops. Although the motel was located on a main street, noise was never a problem and the complex as a whole was very quiet. Hosts Carl and Janet along with their staff were always friendly and accommodating, offering local advice on where to visit and where to eat. Excellent value and service- would not hesitate to stay here again and highly recommend it. Thanks for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whizzly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013 via mobile

I recently stayed at the Asure Ashley Motor Lodge and was generally impressed with the accommodation. It was spacious and had all the bits and pieces you would expect. The spa bath was a nice touch. When considering the cost, I got what I paid for and won't complain about the decor. The decor was dated but not to the extent that renovation was urgently needed. unfortunately the fridge in my room was noisy so had to be turned off. I found the customer service friendly and helpful. The lady that helped me suggested a restaurant down the road which turned out to be an excellent recommendation.

Unfortunately, a poor nights sleep is never great, especially when you have early starts for business purposes. The noise from the traffic was constant and all night long. As the Motel is located at the top of a hill. with the main through road literally outside, it is impossible to get away from the noise issue. Due to the location and hill, and with an awful lot of heavy trucks using the through road, the main noise offender was the sound of trucks engine braking just outside the motel. Needless to say, I woke up feeling shattered which isn't great when you have to face a day involving a lot of driving.

If it wasn't for the friendly customer service I would have only given two stars but a friendly face always helps lift ones mood.

Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank stannas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Timaru hotels
0.4 mi away
Aspen on King
Aspen on King
#3 of 18 in Timaru
161 reviews
1.2 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel
Grosvenor Hotel
#4 of 18 in Timaru
255 reviews
1.6 mi away
Comfort Hotel Benvenue
Comfort Hotel Benvenue
#9 of 18 in Timaru
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Avenue Motor Lodge
Avenue Motor Lodge
#2 of 18 in Timaru
96 reviews
1.8 mi away
Bay Viaduct Motor Lodge
Bay Viaduct Motor Lodge
#5 of 18 in Timaru
65 reviews
1.7 mi away
Townhouse Motel
Townhouse Motel
#7 of 18 in Timaru
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ASURE Ashley Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ASURE Ashley Motor Lodge

Property: ASURE Ashley Motor Lodge
Address: 95-99 King Street, Timaru, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Timaru
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Timaru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — ASURE Ashley Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ASURE Ashley Motor Lodge provides quality, 4 Star Plus rated, central Timaru accommodation and is ideal for corporate travellers, families and tourists. ASURE Ashley Motor Lodge offers 17 spacious quiet fully self-contained and serviced studio, one and two bedroom apartments. Asure Ashley Motor lodge also offer the twin king unit, a two bedroom apartment with kind sized beds in both rooms, as well as having two access rooms. All apartments have fully equipped kitchens, spa baths (except for access studios), FREE WI FI (100MB Limits Apply), Continental and cooked breakfasts are available each morning. ASURE Ashley Motor Lodge is situated on SH1 just south of the bypass, 3 minutes' drive to central Timaru, Caroline Bay and restaurants, close to the Timaru Hospital, the Timaru Botanic Gardens and golfers have a choice of seven nearby golf courses. Your hosts Carl and Janet offer you a warm welcome at ASURE Ashley Motor Lodge located in the heart of Timaru. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your ASURE Ashley Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing