We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Comfortable and Quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
ASURE Ashley Motor Lodge
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Timaru
Certificate of Excellence
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Clean, Comfortable and Quiet”
Reviewed 23 May 2010

Stayed one night with my son. First thing I noticed was how clean the unit was. I can honestly say it was the cleanest unit I have stayed in. Very comfortable and extremely well equiped. Everything one could need. Excellent wet floor bathroom. And extremley friendly/helpful owner... Thanks Carl.. We thoroughly enjoyed our short stay with you and would have no hesitation about staying with you again. Nice and quiet too...despite being on the main road into Timaru from South, we didnt hear any traffic noise.
Forget the others... this place is tops !!!

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewZealandJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    31
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
30
42
12
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 24 April 2010

“Lovely quiet peaceful motel”

I couldn’t believe how different our experiences were from MacWilder of Sunfish Lake. We are Chris & Lil from England and stayed in the Ashley Motor Lodge in late November 2009. Carl and Janet were very friendly helpful hosts who explained to us they had only been there a few weeks and had made considerable changes to the place already, yes they had converted the gym into a bedroom for their daughter but all signage relating to the gym is gone and in the compendiums it tells you that gym equipment is available. I’m not sure what MacWilder means about spa but the unit we had and the other units Carl showed us all have their own Spa Baths. The Broadband worked extremely well. Our stay was a very nice experience and we could only recommend this place as somewhere great to stay in Timaru. It was a quiet, modern very clean spacious motel.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chiil90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
211 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2010

A very modern, clean motel, with a really pleasant helpful owner.
We just stayed for one night on our way down to Dunedin from Christchurch. It is right on the main road, just out of the town centre.
We were made very welcome when we checked in, the owner even gave us a discount voucher for a local restaurant (Robbie's Bar & Bistro), which we took advantage of.
Our unit was very spacious, clean and well equipped with a large flat screen TV and a very comfortable bed.
Our only regret was that we didn't stay longer.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick_Harris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2009

This is a typical motel. The rooms are OK, its clean, and its manager, Carl, is cheery and helpful.

But...

The "gymnasium", which is featured on the motel's website and on a sign outside the facility--and which is one reason I selected the place, doesn't exist. (It's now Carl's daughter's bedroom.) The similarly promoted "spa" apparently refers to jacuzzi spouts in the otherwise ordinary bathtubs. The "broadband internet" does exist, but clearly doesn't provide the claimed 200 mB capacity. Carl does cheerfully reset the internet connection when it no longer functions, but still calling him repeatedly for this purpose shouldn't be necessary.

Ashley is the first motel encountered in Timaru when coming from the south. Timaru has many motels, and some of them appear nicer than the Ashley based upon a superficial glance. One might do better to select one of them.

However, Ashley is adjacent to the quite nice Timaru Botanic Gardens, which is a factor in its favor if one is interested in visiting them.

Nevertheless, travelers may wish to avoid patronizing a place that egregiously misstates the extent of its offerings.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MacWilder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Timaru hotels
0.4 mi away
Aspen on King
Aspen on King
#3 of 18 in Timaru
162 reviews
1.2 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel
Grosvenor Hotel
#5 of 18 in Timaru
255 reviews
1.6 mi away
Comfort Hotel Benvenue
Comfort Hotel Benvenue
#9 of 18 in Timaru
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Avenue Motor Lodge
Avenue Motor Lodge
#1 of 18 in Timaru
96 reviews
1.8 mi away
Bay Viaduct Motor Lodge
Bay Viaduct Motor Lodge
#4 of 18 in Timaru
65 reviews
1.7 mi away
Townhouse Motel
Townhouse Motel
#7 of 18 in Timaru
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ASURE Ashley Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ASURE Ashley Motor Lodge

Property: ASURE Ashley Motor Lodge
Address: 95-99 King Street, Timaru, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Timaru
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Timaru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — ASURE Ashley Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ASURE Ashley Motor Lodge provides quality, 4 Star Plus rated, central Timaru accommodation and is ideal for corporate travellers, families and tourists. ASURE Ashley Motor Lodge offers 17 spacious quiet fully self-contained and serviced studio, one and two bedroom apartments. Asure Ashley Motor lodge also offer the twin king unit, a two bedroom apartment with kind sized beds in both rooms, as well as having two access rooms. All apartments have fully equipped kitchens, spa baths (except for access studios), FREE WI FI (100MB Limits Apply), Continental and cooked breakfasts are available each morning. ASURE Ashley Motor Lodge is situated on SH1 just south of the bypass, 3 minutes' drive to central Timaru, Caroline Bay and restaurants, close to the Timaru Hospital, the Timaru Botanic Gardens and golfers have a choice of seven nearby golf courses. Your hosts Carl and Janet offer you a warm welcome at ASURE Ashley Motor Lodge located in the heart of Timaru. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your ASURE Ashley Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing