We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely room overlooking the bay - trains no issue.”

Baywatch Motor Lodge
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Baywatch Motor Lodge
Ranked #14 of 18 Hotels in Timaru
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely room overlooking the bay - trains no issue.”
Reviewed 29 December 2012

We hadn't booked accommodation before arriving in Timaru - which is very unusual. We checked a number of other motels all of which seemed quite expensive and could have been very noisy given their location on the main highway. Baywatch was mid-range in price. It is also on the main road; however, our front room overlooking the bay was really peaceful, well equipped, and comfortable. As other reviewers note there is a train line right outside. I am a light sleeper and so was a bit worried about this. However, the line was rarely used during out two night stay and the trains go by so slowly that you can barely hear them. Worth staying here when in Timaru.

Room Tip: It is worth paying more for a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shari W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    16
    13
    8
    6
See reviews for
15
20
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
194 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2012

I asked for a room at the back overlooking the bay. The service was bright and friendly. The unit was well equipped, roomy, clean and airy.

The view over the bay in the morning was terrific. It is close to the rail line but this is not exactly a busy line. I am a light sleeper and found the unit very quiet. I may have "noticed" one train in the night. I have stayed in other Timaru motels were the noise from truck exhausts kept me awake all night. I found Baywatch very quiet.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NZMike57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inchbonnie, null, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012

VERY clean unit. Staff very friendly and helpful. However, VERY noisy - so much for "quiet, double glazing" as stated in our motel guide. No "panaromic view" of Caroline Bay for us either as we had a side unit - looks like only 4 units have a seaside view. Pleased we were only booked in for one night.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

We booked into Baywatch Motor Lodge because I didn't research adequately. Google Earth clearly shows that there is a railway line within spitting distance, our room in a block at 90 degrees to the coast, with a glimpse of sea to the left and right, across the car park and adjacent roof structures, and State Highway 1 roaring past all day and a fair bit of the night. Well, you learn from every experience - don't believe everything you read and see in Motel blurb. Lousy location, and not worth the asking price IMHO, but friendly/feisty manager and staff. Dated, ill matched but comfy room. Killer stairs with heavy suitcases! Cute guard dog (does not appear on Google Earth!)

Room Tip: You're between a rock and a hard place with this one - avoid the traffic noise and you've go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mahler8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Timaru hotels

Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
75 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2012

Have stayed here a couple of times - keep coming back because of the wonderful views over Caroline Bay and pretty garden outside room. Units very clean and tidy with nice homey touches. Owner welcoming and very pleasant - we had booked 2 separate units for my husband and I and one for my parents. Seeing we were a family group, he offered us a unit that would accommodate all of us. Enjoyed the train and the closeness to Stafford Street.

Room Tip: Ask for one with views over Caroline Bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank forans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2011

Booked for our big rwc 2011 trip but unfortunately this experience left a bad taste in my mouth.
Rooms were clean and i cant even complain about the trains being a heavy sleeper. Didn't mind it not even being beachfront as claimed. Had to go out in the evening as the TV wasn't working and the owner/manager complained and may as well accused us of breaking it. When we decided to leave a day early as it wasn't what we were looking for was charged the extra night even though it was clear it wasn't booked out on a sunday night in October.
also pricey for the location.
Wouldn't recommend.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2011

I thought as the place was a little pricier than the others in the area and there was a "superior suite" that I would treat myself and my parents to the room with the view. Well the view was great, however the trains at midnight, 1 am, 2 am and 4am were not. The train line is so close that you could jump from the window onto the train and as they are heavy goods trains the whole room shook. I was even woken in the back room each time. The owner had poor attitude. The only positive was the room were nice and clean but you can get that for half the price in this area.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank troysoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Timaru hotels
0.7 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel
Grosvenor Hotel
#5 of 18 in Timaru
4.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
1.3 mi away
Aspen on King
Aspen on King
#3 of 18 in Timaru
4.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
0.0 mi away
Comfort Hotel Benvenue
Comfort Hotel Benvenue
#9 of 18 in Timaru
3.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Avenue Motor Lodge
Avenue Motor Lodge
#1 of 18 in Timaru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bay Viaduct Motor Lodge
Bay Viaduct Motor Lodge
#4 of 18 in Timaru
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harbour View Motel
Harbour View Motel
#2 of 5 in Timaru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baywatch Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baywatch Motor Lodge

Property: Baywatch Motor Lodge
Address: 7 Evans Street, Timaru 7910, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Timaru
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 18 Hotels in Timaru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Baywatch Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Baywatch Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing