We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very, very good food”
Review of Custom Steak House

Custom Steak House
Ranked #21 of 70 Restaurants in Timaru
Cuisines: European
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very, very good food”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

This was one of the restaurants I went to when staying for business in Timaru. I had read some of the reviews and still the food was a surprise. I had the big size fillet and it was cooked a perfect fit to my order. The glass of red wine I ordered was just a bit to cold for its good.
Conclusion: If you want a very, very good steak go to this place. The service is perfect and the food also.
Additional to that, the restaurant is located in the old custom's building and the fireplaces really work.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gpardon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    28
    7
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Timaru
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Simply scrumptious”
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Went with a girlfriend for dinner she had the duck and I had the steak with blue cheese and spinach sauce divine then to finish off we shared the chocolate desert great way to start holiday weekend
Food always excellent never disappointed when we dine here

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Liz N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
143 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A lovely Timaru local restaurant with great food”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

I have been to Custom Steak House a few times. One of my favourite fine dining restaurants in Timaru. The food is very nice. The atmosphere is quiet and not too posh. I will go back to this restaurant when I want to treat myself with good food. The owner is usually there and serves customers. He is very professional and it's a kind of local restaurant you want to support.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Max845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashburton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
73 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We had booked a week ahead of our visit, which I was pleased as the restaurant was busy. We had three courses and they were all above standard and amazing, which was what we wanted as we were celebrating a special occasion and it came out in good time. Dessert was even better! Service was attentive and great wine recommendations. Will most definitely be back!!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robanna121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
44 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A welcoming warm restaurant in a stunning old building, worth the visit!”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Visited on a wet Monday night, we were welcomed into a warm (log fire) and beautifully lit restaurant, a really stunning old building! Great beer and wine list, menu is decent as well. Steak does make up the majority of the menu, but there are some vegetarian choices which is great. Some delicious desserts as well. Most people at our table had steak and really enjoyed it! Sides were really delicious too. Everything was expertly cooked and came out at the same time!Sadly i was too full for dessert! The waiter was really fantastic and filled us in on the history of the building, he also did a great job handling the cheeky people at our table and had a good sense of humor about it! Overall a fantastic dinning experience!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bella W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Custom Steak House also viewed

Timaru, Canterbury Region
 
Timaru, Canterbury Region
Timaru, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Custom Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing