We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great accomodation at excellent price”
Review of Blue Dolphin Motel

Blue Dolphin Motel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Blue Dolphin Motel
Ranked #16 of 18 Hotels in Timaru
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great accomodation at excellent price”
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Our second stay (unfortunately only 1 night this time) at the Blue Dolphin.
Management is fabulous.
We had a 2 bedroom unit, which as normal here, were clean and comfortable.
Excellent price and a great location.
Thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    11
    7
    2
    9
See reviews for
20
10
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wallacetown
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2013

After arriving in Timaru at 9pm at night, it was lovely to walk into our room that was so warm and comfortable. I could have easily picked up my bed and pillow and taken it with me on to Christchurch. What a fantastic nights sleep. Very little traffic noise although we were right on the main highway. Thankyou, would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Very comfortable beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2013

We stayed here just 1 night, very comfortable unit, spotless, maybe the cleanest motel we have ever stayed in which is a huge plus! Fantastic location right on Caroline Bay & across the road from the swimming pool, great location for kids!! Manager was extremely helpful & friendly. Would recommed to all & stay again!!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eden9825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timaru, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 January 2013

This is a clean, comfortable motel, which is in a great location, right next to Caroline Bay, and within a short walking distance from several good restaurants. The managers are quite friendly and helpful. A good value and location for families and those traveling on Holiday.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2012

This motel is in a superb location, extremely close to the wonderful Caroline Bay (has to be one of New Zealand's best beaches!) plus the city centre. It provided adequate facilities for a night's stay and the staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellovin5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Nice, clean and comfortable motels. Easy walk to Caroline Bay and City Centre. Great staff.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SamadhiStuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
auckland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 23 October 2010

great managers friendly helpfull good value close to city centre

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shjdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Timaru hotels
0.9 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel
Grosvenor Hotel
#4 of 18 in Timaru
253 reviews
1.4 mi away
Aspen on King
Aspen on King
#3 of 18 in Timaru
157 reviews
1.3 mi away
Avenue Motor Lodge
Avenue Motor Lodge
#1 of 18 in Timaru
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Baywatch Motor Lodge
Baywatch Motor Lodge
#14 of 18 in Timaru
49 reviews
0.0 mi away
Townhouse Motel
Townhouse Motel
#6 of 18 in Timaru
51 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bay Viaduct Motor Lodge
Bay Viaduct Motor Lodge
#5 of 18 in Timaru
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Dolphin Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Dolphin Motel

Property: Blue Dolphin Motel
Address: 40 Evans Street, Timaru 7910, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Timaru
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 18 Hotels in Timaru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blue Dolphin Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Blue Dolphin Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing