We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“average motel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Homestead Lodge Motel
Ranked #12 of 16 Timaru B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 January 2014

The couch was sagging when you sat on it the noise from the road traffic made it hard to sleep and woke you up early and once you parked your car the space was limited in which to turn around or you just had to back out onto the road into traffic. The room was clean and warm but the units could do with a newer sofa not one covered with a sheet. Perhaps the other units are better but I can only judge on our unit.

Room Tip: pick a unit away from the road noise and reverse your car into a park so you can get out easier.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatMacnz64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (48)
There are newer reviews for Homestead Lodge Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 48 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2013

Stayed one night here on our way to Tekapo. The units are dated, but tidy. Thought $110 per night (without a kitchen) was a little OTT, especially when we compared it to the great motel unit we got at Oamaru the next night for $115. We were well back from the road but our sleep was disturbed all night by trucks going by. Needs double glazing, The hosts are very friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lengra46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed here enroute to wanaka from hokitika. It was a last minute decision due to the closure of haast pass, and this place was the cheapest available with cooking facilities.

The place is ok. Room looks a little tired but importantly, it was clean. Good location. The owner was a bit reserved and quiet and not the cheerful welcoming type but he wasnt rude either.

i would recommend this place for the non fussy customers.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YusriSafri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

I use this motel when I am in Timaru for a sport I am involved in. It is easy to get to and although I have a large vehicle and trailer there is no problem with parking. The units are standard and very clean, and although on the main highway are reasonably quiet. I sleep well and the breakfast which I ask to be provided is excellent. Nothing is too hard and Fay makes your stay relaxed and welcome. I will continue to use this establishment as often as I go to Timaru.

Room Tip: The rooms further from the street are quieter.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RM361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2012

En route to Christ Church we made an unplanned stop in Timaru. We went to the information bureau who were extremely helpful in finding us accommodation to suit our pocket and personal requirements. Our hostess Fay was such a friendly and helpful person. The motel is
Centrally located, a little old fashioned but stocked with tea and coffee making facilities, a microwave, fridge and toaster as well as Sky television and free wi-fi. All units are non smoking
The units are self contained, sleep 1 to 5 people, are all on the ground floor.

Cooked or continental breakfasts are available and are served to the motel rooms.
Plenty of well-lit off street parking plus a guest laundry. I would recommend trying to get a room that is not next to the guest laundry. We had a surprisingly good stay as everything is so central.

Room Tip: Try not to get a room net to the guest laundry
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TempusFugit12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Timaru hotels
1.4 mi away
Aspen on King
Aspen on King
#3 of 18 in Timaru
165 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel
Grosvenor Hotel
#4 of 18 in Timaru
256 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Hotel Benvenue
Comfort Hotel Benvenue
#9 of 18 in Timaru
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Avenue Motor Lodge
Avenue Motor Lodge
#2 of 18 in Timaru
96 reviews
0.4 mi away
Elizabeth Court Guest House Bed & Breakfast
0.7 mi away
Timaru TOP 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homestead Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homestead Lodge Motel

Address: 28 Evans Street, Timaru 7910, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Timaru
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Timaru
Price Range: £55 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Homestead Lodge Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Homestead Lodge Motel and Timaru, gate way to the southern lakes and mountains. Ten ground-floor 3 star plus rated Studios and Family Units, 1 Homestead 3 bedroom Superior Apartment and two self-contained Budget Apartments. FREE Wifi and FREE Parking. Breakfast available and delivered to your room. Barbecue Area for Guests. We are located 5 minutes walk to beautiful Caroline Bay, recently voted in New Zealand as one of our top 10 beaches by the Automobile Association. Walk to town and explore our shops and boutiques. Walk to CBay Aquatic Centre and have endless fun in the water. Stroll to Restaurants and cafes, some of which have a view over Caroline Bay. Local Museum and Art Gallery. Experience Maori culture at Te Ana Maori Rock Art Centre and their Te Ana site tour. Check out the Little Blue Penguins at Caroline Bay, the smallest penguin in the world. We have a wealth of local knowledge to assist you during your stay in Timaru and look forward to showing you our little part of the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Homestead Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing