We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A beautiful, relaxing place to stay.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Timaru
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Longview Farmstay Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 16 Timaru B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A beautiful, relaxing place to stay.”
Reviewed 3 April 2012 via mobile

Anita was very welcoming, as was the dog, Becky. We spent one night at Longview and enjoyed the stay. The gardens provided a lovely walk and were great to see outside our window. Anita cooked a delicious breakfast and couldn't have been a more gracious hostess.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nancy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
16
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

We enjoyed a farmstay for one night at Longview as part of a tour of new Zealand. Anita and Alan are wonderful hosts. We were able to relax, whether relaxing meant sitting on the patio and reading, taking a walk through the olive groves, or drinking a glass of wine with our traveling companions and hosts. The area is quiet and peaceful -- giving us a nice respite from our tour of NZ and Australia. Heartily recommend!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank burnzy64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caterham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

Driving down south from Blenheim to Wanaka Longview at Pleasant Point made the ideal stopover. We were delighted with our accommodation at Longview. A very warm welcome from the hosts with a welcoming cup of tea and cakes in the beautiful garden and we knew we had made the right choice. The house was spotlessly clean and the room spacious with a fabulous view to the mountains. As we were only there for one night the lack of ensuite facilities was not a problem with a lovely bathroom just across the hall. Having a guest's lounge to use with tea and coffee making facilities was a bonus. The breakfast was definitely one of the best we had on our trip to New Zealand with an extensive choice of cooked breakfast including eggs Benedict, need I say more! Anita and Alan were charming hosts but not intrusive

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fabhols_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

What a wonderful property,set in lovely gardens with an olive grove and the views are amazing. Anita and Alan made us feel like close friends and we loved the cooking. We have stayed in many places around the world but if I had to choose a place to live in, it would certainly be "Longview". The bedroom was so comfortable we slept in most mornings, left there feeling like we had truly relaxed. We totally recommend this homestay to all discerning travellers

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Owieandme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
devon
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2011

This bed and breakfast is all we could have hoped for.set in beautiful countryside.
The rooms were very nice, with comfy beds.and nice bathrooms.
A delicious breakfast was cooked and served by Anita,
Alan and Anita were very welcoming hosts,also allowing us to enjoy their beautiful garden.
We would have no hesitation in reccommending this bed and breakfast

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank purdidevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2011

This was the most fantastic B & B you could ever imagine. Anita and Alan were great hosts and we had a lovely room with brilliant views. Anita cooked us great breakfasts and we chatted over breakfast with an American couple who were staying there too. They have a lovely friendly dog and we were just welcomed into their home like family. The house is tucked away and so there were no sounds at night to disturb us and we slept like babies. Anita has olive trees and has them pressed locally. Lovely olive oil. Anita was a wonderful hostess and guided us to some lovely local restaurants and places to visit. Overall this is a must stay if you are in the area.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bettysmate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 19 March 2011

Longview is a modern, well built house set amid olive groves and a lovely, extensive garden. The view of the four peaks is fabulous, our room was very comfortable and quiet, and the icing on the cake was the unexpectedly wide choice of cooked breakfast items - including my favourite eggs Benedict which were expertly prepared by our hostess Anita Blakemore. Highly recommended !

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stickler007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Timaru hotels
0.0 mi away
Glendeer Lodge
Glendeer Lodge
#1 of 16 in Timaru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.0 mi away
Solace Country House Bed and Breakfast
0.0 mi away
Pleasant View Bed & Breakfast Timaru
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel
Grosvenor Hotel
#5 of 18 in Timaru
4.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aspen on King
Aspen on King
#3 of 18 in Timaru
4.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
0.0 mi away
Timaru TOP 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Longview Farmstay Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Longview Farmstay Bed and Breakfast

Property: Longview Farmstay Bed and Breakfast
Address: 86 Longview Road | Pleasant Point, Timaru 7983, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Timaru
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Timaru
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on 25 acres, Longview Bed & Breakfast/Farmstay has stunning, 'must be seen to be believed' views. Enjoy the tranquillity and beauty of the countryside with the advantage of being only minutes away from town. Centrally located, we are 2 hours drive from Christchurch and Aoraki/Mount Cook enroute to Queenstown. We are the perfect stopover on your journey. We have three double rooms available for guests. Two bedrooms and the guest lounge have direct access to the terrace and gardens. Stroll through our olive grove and enjoy a tasting of Extra Virgin Olive Oil from our most recent harvest. Visit our farm animals or explore the local attractions which include Maori rock art, railway museum with restored steam locomotives, golf course, vineyard and Timaru's International Motor Raceway. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing