We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Down to Earth Kiwi Hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Elizabeth Court Guest House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 16 Timaru B&B and Inns
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Down to Earth Kiwi Hospitality”
Reviewed 27 May 2012

From the moment we arrived Ginny made us fell really welcome and spent time making sure we were settled in.The room was great and the cooked breakfast was yummy.We will be back !

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThePatersons256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ginny C, Owner at Elizabeth Court Guest House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 29 May 2012
Thankyou for your wonderful review. Looking forward to your company again also.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    17
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
12
29
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Timaru, Canterbury, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 10 May 2012

I stayed here when first arrived in Timaru and found it to be one of the friendliest, comfortable and cleanest guesthouses i have been in. After travelling for months it was lovely to stay in a "home away from home". Ginny's friendly welcoming manner was great and the room was comfortable, clean and spacious with more than adequate storage. Awesome breakfast, i had continental but great selection of both cooked and continental. Location also great with a 5 mins (tops) walk into the centre of the town. I would defo recommend this place and was actually sad to leave as met some really nice folk whilst relaxing in the communal lounge area.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ginny C, Owner at Elizabeth Court Guest House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 24 May 2012
Hi Morven, So glad you enjoyed your stay here and enjoyed your warm personality also. Please call in again if you are over this way as I have had another guest from Scotland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Probably more like a boarding house (15 rooms) than a B & B. Room was cosy and clean but lacked wardrobe. Comfortable bed and average water pressure.
Quite noisy when other guests come in late at night, early hours of the morning. Ginny is very friendly and welcoming. Large common room with big TV for relaxing.
Good location and 5 minute drive or 15 minute walk to centre of town.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angel2Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ginny C, Owner at Elizabeth Court Guest House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
Was lovely to have you stay. It is nice to be so close to town that you can wander to the main shopping precinct without having to take the car and visit the art gallery, museum,caroline Bay and Movie theatre all within 1.5km. We look forward to seeing you again if you are back this way even if it is to say hello and thankyou for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austria
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

My husband and I stayed at this B&B on our way south. The hostess, Ginny, was very friendly. There was a good range for breakfast. Free wifi worked well in our room. Ginny gave excellent suggestions for where to go for dinner. The room was very clean and tidy; and the bed was comfortable. Our room had an ensuite bathroom.

The one downside, as is typical in NZ houses, was that the room was a bit cold. Though we had a fan heater and the nightstore heater was on, so the room was nice and warm in the morning :-).

I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SpachNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ginny C, Owner at Elizabeth Court Guest House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
So glad you enjoyed your stay. Am in the process of replacing the heating in the house to make it more comfortable for my guests as the winter comes upon us. Thank you for your feedback as it lets me know where to improve my shortcommings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Tekapo, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Very friendly hostess - Ginny - very clean and tidy - down to earth company in the lounge while I was there.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ginny C, Owner at Elizabeth Court Guest House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 10 March 2012
Thankyou Gordon, Also enjoyed your company and hope we get to see you back again. Welcome to the South Island also. Cheers Ginny.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Timaru hotels
0.5 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel
Grosvenor Hotel
#4 of 18 in Timaru
255 reviews
0.9 mi away
Aspen on King
Aspen on King
#3 of 18 in Timaru
161 reviews
0.4 mi away
Homestead Lodge Motel
Homestead Lodge Motel
#8 of 16 in Timaru
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Glendeer Lodge
Glendeer Lodge
#1 of 16 in Timaru
87 reviews
0.8 mi away
Avenue Motor Lodge
Avenue Motor Lodge
#2 of 18 in Timaru
96 reviews
0.5 mi away
Townhouse Motel
Townhouse Motel
#7 of 18 in Timaru
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elizabeth Court Guest House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elizabeth Court Guest House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Elizabeth Court Guest House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 39 Elizabeth Street | Seaview, South Canterbury, Timaru 7910, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Timaru
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Timaru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Elizabeth Court Guest House Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elizabeth Court Guest House is a 12 Bedroom Character Home situated just off SH1 in Timaru Central in a quiet Residential Street and just out of the CBD. Also just a 5 minute stroll to Caroline Bay, Trevor Griffiths Rose Gardens, and Timarus shopping precinct. There is at least a dozen Restaurants and Cafes within a short walking distance. We have Free Uncapped Wifi with Ultrafast Broadband available. Each room is furnished with Furnishings of Yesteryear keeping in Character with the 1920 style House. The communal Kitchen is stocked with a range of Teas and coffees for your enjoyment. We are looking forward to Greeting you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Elizabeth Court Guest House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing