We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bay City Motor Lodge
Nearby Hotels
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
US$117
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Average 3/5
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
US$96
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
US$121
US$101
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Townhouse Motel(Timaru)(Great Value!)
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$103
US$95
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grosvenor Hotel(Timaru)(Great Value!)
US$108
US$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (30)
Filter reviews
30 results
Traveller rating
7
10
7
1
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
7
10
7
1
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswalking distancegreat locationground floorthe main roadstayed hereclose to townbalconyfacilitiesnzaccommodation
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
26 - 30 of 30 reviews
Reviewed 14 February 2013

Did the motel basics well enough: clean room, good bed, good shower, good TV. Not luxurious, but fine for a business trip. Quite expensive, and breakfast in the morning was extra. Near a very busy road.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamiddlebrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2012

Very nice and new. The nicest motor lodge that I have stayed in my 11 days in NZ. It is new and modern. Very clean. Walking distance from city and restaurants. The owners were very nice and the hotel also had free Wi Fi. Excellent!

Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
2  Thank TexHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

I just called this motel to make a reservation for two nights. I spoke to the owner and when I was going to give my credit card number he quoted me a price per night of $15 more than on their website. I pointed this out very pleasantly (I travel a lot so it's not uncommon for this to happen). He then gruffly asked me "Well how old is that website?". I was taken aback and replied "I am not sure sorry - it's your motel's website, and this is how I found out about you." The owner then said I could have a basic room for $115. I thanked him, and then asked which unit it was - I was looking at their website and there were detailed descriptions of all the rooms. He said "Just a plain and simple one. I don't know about what you are talking about, I am too busy to look at websites" in a rude and accusatory manner.
His tone had turned nasty and at that point I politely told him that the conversation was making me uncomfortable and that I had decided not to proceed with the booking.
He sounded angry at this point, mumbled something and then hung up on me.
I hope I just spoke to him in a bad moment, and he is actually very pleasant in person. A pity to have had that experience though, as I would have certainly booked.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Service
2  Thank rachlovestravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Als je in Timaru wil overnachten, boek van tevoren je motel, want velen zijn volledig bezet!
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews