We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I miss this place!”
Review of Zest

Zest
Ranked #4 of 75 Restaurants in Timaru
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$22
Cuisines: New Zealand
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“I miss this place!”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

This was my go-to place to dine when I lived in Timaru... Absolutely consistently great food, and despite travelling to Italy and having lived in Sydney now for 2.5 years, their Chicken pasta is still my favourite dish ever... Friendly service, and great food without the pretence. Awesome sized portions. If Zest reads this, maybe message me that pasta recipe... I've tried so many times and not succeeded!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JomcNZ74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    91
    15
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Timaru
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Great way to finish off a movie a friend
We both had pasta which was delicious
Never disappointed when we dine here staff are friendly and attentive

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great good and service”
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

I eat at zest frequently for lunch or dinner. The food is great and reasonably priced and the service is friendly, I'd recommend this place to anyone :)

Helpful?
Thank Simon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Our pick of Timaru restaurants”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We lunched at Zest and were advised on arrival that they were very busy and unable to take food orders for 15-20 minutes. However they did take the drinks orders almost immediately - cleverly, so the wait was not noticed. We ordered pizza, a welcome change in the local fare. A slightly doughy base resulting from under-cooking suggested the busyness had greater impact in the kitchen than front-of-house and took a possible 10/10 for the meal to 9/10. All other elements were first class. Very fresh and crisp vegetables and excellent produce seem to be typical of NZ South Island Restaurants. Service was attentive and (also typically for NZ) the staff friendly and approachable. Definitely recommended. (Out of six Timaru restaurants we tried, this was also the most vegetarian-friendly.)

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank GXDL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great spot”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Friendly and quick service, and awesome food at a good price. Was perfect for a quick stop on our way through Timaru.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JEMH2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Zest also viewed

Timaru, Canterbury Region
 
Timaru, Canterbury Region
Timaru, Canterbury Region
 
Timaru, Canterbury Region
Timaru, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Zest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing