We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic place to stay”
Review of Townhouse Motel

Townhouse Motel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Townhouse Motel
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Timaru
Kincumber, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to stay”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Stayed here on our way back to Christchurch and were surprised by how neat, tidy and groovy our room was. The room was big and had a seperate kitchen. The motel is an older building but I found it added to the charm, a little like staying at nanna's. Our room was very quiet and I would highly recommend staying here to anyone going to Timaru. Garry was a great help with recommendations for dinner and a lovely walk.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dyannegreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    24
    11
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
28
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level Contributor
84 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

this place is awesome. The only bad thing is the parking but we coped ok. the units are really big. You get a whole kitchen and a lovely spa bath in the really big bathroom.The owners were really helpful and recommended a great restaurant for us and rang a taxi van as well.
would definitly be coming back here next time we are in imaru.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandy22NewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandurah, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed here in April the rooms are clean, spacious and well equipped, with comfortable beds. Could do with a refurbishment. As previously stated the parking is very tight but overall would recommend this accommodation for an overnight stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London UK
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Sat on SH1 this is easy to find and good for overnight as you travel on east coast. Accommodation was very spacious - large room with double and single beds and table and chairs. Kitchen was good size with oven, fridge, microwave and could be separated by sliding screen. Lovely bathroom - one of the best we have experienced. At last, a mirror that is near power point for hair dryer! Very clean and comfortable and good value. Walk/drive to Pak n Save supermarket (best value one there is) and Caroline Bay. Takeaway jaunts but no restaurants on doorstep.

Room Tip: This property is at right angles to main road so further away from road the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EalingGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
130 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

From the outside I was very doubtful about the booking here
But our stay was lovely
On the main road but very very quiet.
Parking a bit tight but that is the limitations of the site.
Room was very comfortable and spacious
Beds super comfortable
Plenty of hot water
Didnt ask for the newspaper but was given it anyway which was a bonus.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glentunnel, null, New Zealand
Level Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Clean,tidy,and great value!!Staff very triendly and went out of their way to help!!Surprisingly quiet-being on the state highway.Spa bath awesome!!KIng size bed awesome!!Great size for a couple.Free newspaper!!

Room Tip: Room nine has a king bed!!HUGE!!.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Glenn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

Hi stayed at timaru. Room well appointed with cooking facilities heating and very comfortable bed. Shower was hot plenty of towels appointed with everything needed. Staff friendly and helpful and complimentary wifi was a bonus lovely place to stay. Breakfast was hearty and plentiful well cooked and hot when delivered to the room.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Timaru hotels
0.8 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel
Grosvenor Hotel
#5 of 18 in Timaru
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
1.4 mi away
Aspen on King
Aspen on King
#3 of 18 in Timaru
4.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Hotel Benvenue
Comfort Hotel Benvenue
#9 of 18 in Timaru
3.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Avenue Motor Lodge
Avenue Motor Lodge
#1 of 18 in Timaru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.3 mi away
Parklands Motor Lodge Timaru
0.2 mi away
Harbour View Motel
Harbour View Motel
#2 of 5 in Timaru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Townhouse Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Townhouse Motel

Property: Townhouse Motel
Address: 29 - 31 Evans Street, Timaru 7910, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Timaru
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Timaru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Townhouse Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Townhouse Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing