We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Glendeer Lodge
Ranked #1 of 16 Timaru B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 February 2013

What a wonderful place this is. We were greeted most warmly when we arrived. The bedroom we had certainly had that wow factor. It was most beautiful and very well-appointed. We felt this was a home from home. Outside, there is a small deer paddock with some very photogenic fallow deer. Jude saw us looking at the deer and came out with food to tempt them closer to us. She also gave us a recommendation of where to eat in Timaru. We found this very helpful and had a lovely dinner.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GerMar60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (90)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 90 reviews

Reviewed 4 February 2013

We stayed at Glendeer Lodge a couple of days ago, the room was great very nicely spacious and all the facilities where fab. The Couple who run it Jude and Pal where very helpful and at only a few minutes away from Timaru it really was great value for money too!

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

My husband and I stayed here for New Year's Eve. It was wonderful having access to the common areas (Kitchen and living area) for this occasion. We stayed in two different rooms (having booked an additional night later). Both rooms were beautifully decorated and very comfortable. Our host was very pleasant and helpful. The family lives upstairs (with a separate entrance) which makes the accommodation feel quite private. I would happily stay again.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melb0urneSarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

During our 4 weeks NZ trip we stayed in more than 20 different places but Glendeer Lodge was our clear favorite! It features 3 luxury Bedrooms plus a spacious public area including a well equiped kitchen, a cosy living room, garden furniture....-everything you can ask for. Everything is of top taste and quality! ON top it is very reasonably priced: I highly recommend this fantastic place only 5 min away from Timaru!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harald S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

Paul and Jude have a beautiful B&B on the outskirts of Timaru. Gorgeous, spacious and very homey. I was there for a few days of flyfishing with Paul, the best guide on the South Island and was fortunate to stay at Glendeer. I felt like I wa staying with family. I highly recommend this cozy hideaway in Timaru.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Redlands_CAFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank miccyann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jude M, Owner at Glendeer Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank TALOFA2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jude M, Owner at Glendeer Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2015

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Timaru hotels
2.6 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel
Grosvenor Hotel
#5 of 18 in Timaru
265 reviews
9.3 mi away
Solace Country House Bed and Breakfast
1.9 mi away
Avenue Motor Lodge
Avenue Motor Lodge
#2 of 18 in Timaru
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Baywatch Motor Lodge
Baywatch Motor Lodge
#12 of 18 in Timaru
52 reviews
2.7 mi away
Elizabeth Court Guest House Bed & Breakfast
5.4 mi away
No photo provided
Northpark Motel
#13 of 18 in Timaru
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glendeer Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glendeer Lodge

Address: 51 Scarborough Road, Timaru 7971, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Timaru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Timaru
Price Range: £87 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Glendeer Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glendeer Lodge offers luxury bed and breakfast accommodation set on 5 tranquil acres, with a large manicured lawn and native garden complete with wonderful bird life. This beautiful modern and new accommodation is surrounded with stunning mountain to ocean views; the private guest lounge looks out into the native garden area where pet Fallow deer can be watched roaming behind the fenced area. The king bedrooms are extremely spacious, comfortable, bright, airy and well appointed, with modern, spacious bathrooms featuring under floor heating, heated towel rails, and complimentary toiletries available in all rooms. Glendeer Lodge is a handy five minute drive to the centre of the town ship of Timaru which offers an array of fine dining restaurants, bars and cafes.All rooms are modern and well-appointed with nice garden views, the two king rooms have their own private court yards with big French doors and direct outside access. This beautiful modern and new accommodation is surrounded with stunning mountain to ocean views clients feel very relaxed as they sit back in the private guest lounge taking in these stunning scenic vistas whilst in the back ground of the fenced garden area our pet Fallow deer quietly roam.Glendeer Lodge is centrally located between the cities of Christchurch and Dunedin; it is the gateway to the Southern Alps and Mount Cook National Park.With coastal walks to a local lighthouse and wetland area are nearby, fly fishing, hunting, bird watching and scenic back country tours can all be organized at the lodge.Glendeer Lodge features fly fishing facilities on-site and serves a continental breakfast daily. A 10-minute drive from Te Ana Ngai Tahu Maori Rock Art Centre, it offers free parking and free Wi-Fi access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Glendeer Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing