We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was open thankfully”
Review of Purple Lizard Cafe

Purple Lizard Cafe
Ranked #4 of 4 Coffee & Tea in Timaru
Cuisines: Cafe, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
341 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Was open thankfully”
Reviewed 16 November 2013

There is not much open for brunch in Timaru on a Sunday so we were thankful that the Purple Lizard was.

The coffee was tasty and rich. The bacon and eggs was well done and fulling. The atmosphere was a good cafe culture.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bruce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    32
    17
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Hebrew first
  • Any
English first
Queensland
Level Contributor
124 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great coffee stop”
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We went for breakfast a few times and it was nice. The hash stack was a bit unusual with 4 hash browns but the rest of it was nice. The whitebait patty was lovely and coffee excellent

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank missiek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dunedin
Level Contributor
73 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Okay food but Grubby surroundings”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

The food was okay - not great value for money but once I had ordered, paid and looked around I realised the place is decidedly grubby. Would not revisit.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Kris s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great brekkie and coffee”
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Seriously, this was an exceptional breakfast - eggs benedict. And the coffee was very good as well - and to think almost missed it - free wifi, and sun streaming in, with a peek of an open vista rather than just other shops - nice feel.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Junofish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay of Plenty Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
125 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Efficient service and good coffee”
Reviewed 11 March 2013

This cafe has changed hands and it shows. The new owners are friendly and helpful and the service slick. The cafe looks bright and clean. We enjoyed their coffee and cinnamon bagel - in fact we opted for a second coffee! We will return next time we're in Timaru.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank josied1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Purple Lizard Cafe also viewed

Timaru, Canterbury Region
 
Timaru, Canterbury Region
Timaru, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Purple Lizard Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing