We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good sleep”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Hotel Benvenue
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Timaru
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good sleep”
Reviewed 19 July 2011

Travelled to Timaru for business and stayed about 4-6 times. Just a standard motel with a bed and flat screen. Nothing special. Can't comment about service because only spoke with owner when I picked keys up. WiFi had poor reception. Stayed in multiple rooms as travelled on weekly basis and went home on weekends. Try not stay on ground floor as rooms were dated, stuffy and smelt old. Older rooms on second level were much better. The restaurant was great. Food a bit pricey but very tasty.

Room Tip: Dont get ground level rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JuanKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    26
    24
    21
    5
See reviews for
13
15
4
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2010

Stayed in the separate building with 3 room, 2 x bathrooms, large lounge and kitchen, great accommodation as we had me and my husband and mixture of teenages and children, which when travelling with that many a washing machine and dryer would have been excellent especially as there was an empty laundry. A bit of road traffic, but then it is on the main road. Overall all good experience

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jules2705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2010

If you are on a budget, this could be the place for you, but the moment you enter the reception, you can smell the "old-ness" of the place.

the rooms are dated, feels like going into a 1970's hotel

furnishing is basic, the place is not very clean,

the staff are very helpful though.

i did not stay more than 1 night

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edwin11967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Timaru hotels

Norfolk
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2010

These were the three questions we asked the lady at check in as we hadn't booked and didn't know about the hotel. I have to say she more than answered them and was helpful throughout our stay (including providing numbers for two different pizza places who would deliver as it was a tropical storm outside when we were there!). Our room was at the back of the hotel, quiet, clean and well maintained. The hotel had a swimming pool, jacuzzi, a dining room and separate bar, wi-fi (NZ$4 for an hour), a DVD library, a do-it-yourself laundry room (the lady behind the desk provided laundry powder) and plenty of parking. The Benvenue was a pleasant surprise and a decent find for a night stay on a trip up the South Island. Whilst not winning any awards it's a God send to the traveller who needs to get some washing done, contact those at home and enjoy a warm spa before dinner.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elle31_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2010

I have just arrived home from spending 2 nights at the Benvenue. I was very impressed from the moment I arrived. The staff were wonderful, the front desk lady even carried my suitcase up to my room, and thats after she managed to unlock the tricky rental car boot. The room was lovely. I have travelled the world and this room was very well appointed. I had a room with a balcony that had a marvellous view out over Caroline Bay. It was very newly renovated and tastefully done I might add. The room was lovely and clean both days and the staff were always friendly and very helpful. I have read a couple of comments about the noise, but if you book a hotel or motel on New Zealands state highway 1 then I guess you are going to get trucks going past but with the double glazing I must admit that I didnt find the noise a problem. I cant comment on the food myself as I didnt eat there, but while in the lovely warm spa was talking to a gentleman who had two dinners and two breakfasts there and said the food was very delicious!! I hope that this review helps. Thankyou.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank l0rraineh0ward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2010

Stayed there probably 10 times over six weeks. The service was always great. The renovated rooms are very nice but the unrenovated rooms are below standard. It was freezing when we were there - literally, between -5 and 5 - and they constantly turned the heaters off so the rooms were like a fridge when we got home. I appreciate it probably costs a bit to keep them on all the time but you could at least turn them on before we came back.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DACKSON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2009

I thought that this hotel looked fantastic on their website - I should have read Tripadvisor first!!! I wanted to treat my family to somewhere comfortable and luxurious on our Timaru holiday since my mother has mobility issues and would be spending a lot of time in our unit. I also wanted somewhere quiet so was looking forward to their double glazing. We booked the two bedroom unit and I was devastated on arrival to discover it was virtually underground, noisy and stuffy. It was only five metres from the busy main road so the double glazing wasn't enough. Someone had obviously smoked in the unit and we had to open all the windows thus increasing the noise. They had also smoked in bed and I struggled with sleeping on the smelly mattress. The unit looked like a cheap motel unit and in no way resembled the photos on their website. The only positive was the lovely pool and spa area. We only lasted one night (and that only because they would have charged me for it anyway) before we moved to a luxurious motel (Avenue motel) which was far superior to the Benvenue and much cheaper!!! My advice: avoid this place unless you are really desperate.

  • Liked — Leaving it!
  • Disliked — Everything!
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DreamerNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Timaru hotels
0.7 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel
Grosvenor Hotel
#5 of 18 in Timaru
254 reviews
1.3 mi away
Aspen on King
Aspen on King
#3 of 18 in Timaru
158 reviews
0.2 mi away
Townhouse Motel
Townhouse Motel
#7 of 18 in Timaru
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Avenue Motor Lodge
Avenue Motor Lodge
#1 of 18 in Timaru
95 reviews
0.4 mi away
Parklands Motor Lodge Timaru
0.8 mi away
Bay Viaduct Motor Lodge
Bay Viaduct Motor Lodge
#4 of 18 in Timaru
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Hotel Benvenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Hotel Benvenue

Property: Comfort Hotel Benvenue
Address: SH 1/16-22 Evans Street, Timaru 7910, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Timaru
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Timaru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Comfort Hotel Benvenue 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Hotel Benvenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Benvenue Hotel Timaru

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing