We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor hotel, badly laid out”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Hotel Benvenue
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Timaru
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Poor hotel, badly laid out”
Reviewed 7 April 2013

This place was strange. It was a mismash of corridors and rooms. Although the rooms themslves were reasoable the curtains did not exclude the light as they were wafer thin. There was also a window above the door so light came in from the corridor although a curtain was provided.

It had a well stocked gym but unfortunally for some guests their rooms were opposite this on a corridor. These rooms had glass windows down to the floor on the corridor side and you could see into these rooms when curtains were drawn and lights on.

Only good things were the bathrooms and the friendly Indian gentlemen on reception

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    26
    24
    21
    5
See reviews for
13
15
4
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
La Massana, Andorra
Level 6 Contributor
330 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013

Convenient location on the main road but close enough to town. Some of the rooms (but not all) have been done up & are quite pleasant but you need to book one that has been & is away from the road noise which can be bad at night with heavy trucks passing close by. Also has a pleasant bar which is useful.

Room Tip: Bookone of the newly refurbished rooms as far away from the main road as possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2012

The exterior of the hotel was not great, but the room was nice. There was a lot of road noise though, as the hotel is just off the main road. Bathroom was fine, and the room did have a small balcony. The price was too high though, taking into account the quality of the furnishings and it's poor location - it being a long way from town.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Limestone2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Timaru hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2012

This.was to be our first night in the South island after arriving in Christchurch earlier in the day from Australia. We had booked for DBB (common abbreviation for Dinner Bed & Breakfast) and upon receiving cost of NZ$145 accepted and said it was a good price. he booking was confirmed with the comment "it is a bargain'. Upon arriving and confirming our name and the booking we asked if they issued coupons for Dinner & Breakfast only to be told " That price is only for the room." Having spent decades in the tourism industry as regional tourism director/ Chairman/GM major tourism transport company/member of airport tourism advisory committee etc etc I explained that had any of my staff made such an error I would standby and honour the booking. However the response was an offer of "the best room" for $NZ99 on the third floor but "there are no lifts'. We left and went across the road.
Unfortunately I cannot review the standard of the the lodgings or food.

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank EA1509TC1401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

I dont normally write reviews on places I stay but felt so strongly about the hidiously overpriced and run down room which I was unfortunate to stay in, that I had to log onto this website. I travel around NZ on a frequent basis with business and am lucky to stay in some of the best hotels and motels to be found. This was definetly not one of them!! The room was run down and a flashback to the 70's while the noise from the busy road outside my window made for a virtually sleepless night. I had the misfortune of dining in the hotel which was a dreadful and overpriced experience. I paid way over what I usually pay for a superb motel down the road due to the town being booked out for a netball competition but will make sure to book well in advance next time so as to avoid having to stay in a place like this again. The only positive thing I can say is that the people both on reception and in the restaurant were very pleasant to deal with.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brenda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakley, California
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2012

Greeted by a rather rude counter clerk. Indicative of what was to follow. The building must be walked in to believe. My description is to picture shipping containers stacked/arranged up the slope of a hill. Not old containers, though. Spanking new ones. Not all all shabby, just metallic, austere. Although having several floors, there was no elevator. I hate lugging a roller-equipped piece of luggage up a flight of stairs.

The restaurant was said to good - but was closed on the evening we arrived.

The gym is awesome - but was not appropriate for my one-night stay.

The counter person/manager was different on our departure and was cordial.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Biligaana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
471 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

I had a renovated room which was ok, certainly nothing flash, noise fromthe highway was annoying, but location was ok, would be nice to go for a walk across the road and down to the park. The gym was fabulous, and one of the reasons that i stayed. It is able to be used 24 hrs a day, is huge, has everything u need. Had dinner and breakfast there and both were very good

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danjonelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Timaru hotels
0.7 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel
Grosvenor Hotel
#5 of 18 in Timaru
254 reviews
1.3 mi away
Aspen on King
Aspen on King
#3 of 18 in Timaru
158 reviews
0.2 mi away
Townhouse Motel
Townhouse Motel
#7 of 18 in Timaru
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Avenue Motor Lodge
Avenue Motor Lodge
#1 of 18 in Timaru
95 reviews
0.4 mi away
Parklands Motor Lodge Timaru
0.8 mi away
Bay Viaduct Motor Lodge
Bay Viaduct Motor Lodge
#4 of 18 in Timaru
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Hotel Benvenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Hotel Benvenue

Property: Comfort Hotel Benvenue
Address: SH 1/16-22 Evans Street, Timaru 7910, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Timaru
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Timaru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Comfort Hotel Benvenue 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Hotel Benvenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Benvenue Hotel Timaru

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing