We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Comfort Hotel Benvenue
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Timaru
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“OK Place”
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Friendly service. Room was OK but was put out the street side of the hotel rather than around the back so a wee bit noisier than normal. Room and facilities were OK and reception very friendly. Not sure if I will return.

Room Tip: Around the back is good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DougieNZ1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    26
    24
    21
    5
See reviews for
13
15
4
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Queensland, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
357 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

This property is located on the main road into Timaru and is close to the city centre and has views to Caroline Bay.We had a spacuious, very comfortable, clean and quiet room at the back of the hotel so we were away from the road traffic, The bed was comfortable, linen fresh and bathroom modern and clean, The receptionist was friendly, efficient and very helpful. Our room had the appearance that it was newly renovated and I believe that renovations had taken place just over 12 months prior to our visit, The gym facility was good. We did not avail ourselves of any meals, preferring to eat out. Ours was a comfortable stay and we would use this property again.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Margaret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmerston North
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

It provided the basic needed for accommodation. The room was a bit dated but Clean nevertheless. Restaurant food was average.

It has a gym facility which looked neat.

The Staff was friendly and helpful. Offered breakfast to be served as needed by customers.

Can claim fly buys which was great.


Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Duffgleamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2013

Had an overnight here and was given a detached cottage behind the main hotel. The cottage was extremely cold and only had electric radiant heaters. Also the decor was about 20 years old. The toilet seat wouldn't stay up on its own. The in-house restaurant food was fairly basic for the price and breakfast was toast with spreads.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Prytax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Timaru hotels

Woking, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

This hotel is poor. We were assured that dinner would be available and there was no need to book. We were told the dining room was open 18:00 - 21:00. We arrived at 19:30 to find the chef had gone home and there was no food.
The room was reasonable, but a lot of traffic noise.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kjd68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

This place was strange. It was a mismash of corridors and rooms. Although the rooms themslves were reasoable the curtains did not exclude the light as they were wafer thin. There was also a window above the door so light came in from the corridor although a curtain was provided.

It had a well stocked gym but unfortunally for some guests their rooms were opposite this on a corridor. These rooms had glass windows down to the floor on the corridor side and you could see into these rooms when curtains were drawn and lights on.

Only good things were the bathrooms and the friendly Indian gentlemen on reception

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Massana, Andorra
Level 6 Contributor
330 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013

Convenient location on the main road but close enough to town. Some of the rooms (but not all) have been done up & are quite pleasant but you need to book one that has been & is away from the road noise which can be bad at night with heavy trucks passing close by. Also has a pleasant bar which is useful.

Room Tip: Bookone of the newly refurbished rooms as far away from the main road as possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Timaru hotels
0.7 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel
Grosvenor Hotel
#5 of 18 in Timaru
254 reviews
1.3 mi away
Aspen on King
Aspen on King
#3 of 18 in Timaru
158 reviews
0.2 mi away
Townhouse Motel
Townhouse Motel
#7 of 18 in Timaru
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Avenue Motor Lodge
Avenue Motor Lodge
#1 of 18 in Timaru
94 reviews
0.4 mi away
Parklands Motor Lodge Timaru
0.0 mi away
Baywatch Motor Lodge
Baywatch Motor Lodge
#13 of 18 in Timaru
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Hotel Benvenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Hotel Benvenue

Property: Comfort Hotel Benvenue
Address: SH 1/16-22 Evans Street, Timaru 7910, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Timaru
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Timaru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Comfort Hotel Benvenue 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Hotel Benvenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Benvenue Hotel Timaru

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing