We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grosvenor Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
Reviews (289)
Filter reviews
289 results
Traveller rating
72
119
61
29
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
72
119
61
29
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshistoric hotelsingle roomfirst floorfree wifibed was comfortablemiddle of townreception arearoom was largea great stayold schoolthe main streetcouple of nightscentral locationbit datedcaroline bayexcellent locationstayed one night
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
229 - 234 of 289 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2013

This old building has been refurbished, but in modern style which was somewhat unsympathetic to the history of the building - a picture of Winston Churchill with a green Mohican hairstyle for example.
The room was only okay and was smaller than I would have expected for a superior room, but the refurbishment hadn't extended to the bathroom which appeared to be 1970s - the lino flooring wasn't even nearly cut accurately. And the windows were really filthy on the outside, can't imagine when they were last cleaned.
For dinner, the staff were scurrying round at top speed but they weren't paying much attention to us, so we had to wait some time to eat. The food was very good though, large portions of fish nicely cooked. For breakfast we had to order what we wanted the night before which was a strange way of doing things.
I'm sorry to say that we won't be returning.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trevorswaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wiredfrog, Owner at Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2013

Greetings Sir & Madam

We are sorry for not meeting your expectations.
TGB, our restaurant is known for its food & as you said, our staff were off their feet trying to attend to everybody's needs. Our restaurant comprises of a bar attendant and a waitress and we do the best we can. Sometimes, should you sit at a hidden corner, there's a possibility that the waitress may not have seen you.
Yes, outside windows are dirty now. We have booked for window cleaner with harness to come and tidying up the place. Once upon a time, our housekeeping team would climb out and wiped the windows but with Occupational Safety & Health Regulation these days, we are restricted by how frequently we can clean up the exterior building especially on the third floor.
The Grosvenor has 49 rooms and this is our sixth year of refurbishing the place. Many of the bathrooms have been updated but we still have a way to go yet. That being said, the bathrooms are clean and the hot water pressure is good. Previous reviews would vouch for that. Furthermore, we are to improve our facilities shortly with addition of a disabled bathroom facility (due to request from our regular guest).
The breakfast request the night before is a standard protocol for overseas hotel. In order to keep the hotel rate affordable, The Grosvenor won't be able to have waiting staff available at all times to attend to your immediate needs.
Lastly, the Grosvenor is a 3.5 stars hotel and we price ourselves accordingly to suit the market. We are not the Grosvenor in London and never will be. If there is a market for a grand hotel, then, we would refurbish the hotel accordingly and price it accordingly. Being in Timaru, majority of our guests simply want a comfortable stay at an affordable price. The Grosvenor has been running since 1875 and we are proud to say that we provide livelihood for twenty five families in this region.
We wish you all the best for the future.
Ping LIM (The Proprietor)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

Upon check in and heading up to my room, I was a bit concerned. I felt the room was very noisy, and that the bathroom was terrible. As I was travelling with my boss, I felt a bit stressed!

In actual fact, the room was really comfortable, the right temperature, and I didn't hear much overnight at all. Although the bathroom needs refurbishment, and the shower head is a bit low (a very regular problem for me!), it was clean, and there was lots of hot water. My boss was quite happy with his stay too (phew!!).

Fantastic buffet breakfast the next morning, and the staff were very welcoming and couldn't do enough to help.

Function rooms are a good size, and well appointed (the best on the tour so far). My only criticism was that the air con was slightly over zealous and I couldn't figure out how to fix it.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ge0rge0fthejungle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wiredfrog, Owner at Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2013

Greetings Sir

On behalf of our team at the Grosvenor, we would like to express our heart-felt thanks and gratitude for acknowledging the things that we have done well. Our business model revolves around our guests. Your utmost convenience and peace of mind are our top priorities. Only through positive feedback that we can entice more guests to come and enabling us to continue on with investment to do further refurbishment to enhance our facilities further. Our team understood that Rome isn't built in one day and metaphorically, we are building the wall one brick at a time and through your help, we will finally get to our finishing line. As for the heat pump that you mentioned, whenever you are in need of an assistance, dial "0" or find our friendly staff and we shall attend to your needs. It is our obligation to do the "sweating" for you. We look forward to welcoming you and your boss to our establishment again in the future. Have a pleasant day. Faithfully, Ping LIM (The Proprietor)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We really enjoyed our stay in The Grosvenor. It's an old pub that has been re-vamped quite tastefully. The bed was king sized and the pillows were lovely and soft. The staff were lovely. Value for money for sure. Highly recommend this.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Lindaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wiredfrog, Owner at Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2013

Greetings.

On behalf of our team at the Grosvenor, we thank you wholeheartedly for your generous words. We won't undermine your goodwill and we shall continuously strive for perfection, to be the best that we can be to provide the most exceptional customer service to every and each one of you. Without our guests, we won't be here today. Once again, thank you and we look forward to serve you again in the near future. Sincerely, Ping LIM (the proprietor)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2013 via mobile

Really good location only 3 minutes walk to the centre. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We stayed in a standard double which was very spacious and clean. I am currently travelling around New Zealand with my fiancée and we both had the best nights sleep in this hotel.

We used the laundry facilities on the 1st floor which has a bizarre theme with a big picture of Winston Churchill with a green Mohican. Was quite strange but certainly added character to the hotel.

All in all a more than satisfactory stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Oxchops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wiredfrog, Owner at Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2013

Greetings Sir & Madam

On behalf of our whole team at the Grosvenor, we thank you wholeheartedly for your kind words. We understood the significance of having a good night sleep after long travel and we are glad that we were able to look after you during your brief stay at the Grosvenor. Sshhhhh.......the mural is meant to be an element of surprise for our guests:) Anyhow, we are glad if it managed to put a smile on your face. We wish you a pleasant day. Do come back and visit us soon. Sincerely, Ping LIM (proprietor)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Holiday with Mum. Arrived to see the historic majesty of the building. A great site to behold! Check in staff were very friendly and explained everything we needed to know like how to find our room and where things were. Free Wi-Fi which is a big plus now-a-days. The meals in the in-house restaurant were to die for. Had the pork belly, medium rib-eye steak for main.. And chocolate fudge cake w/ice-cream & also a rhubard custard tart w/ice-cream. Absolutely divine. After having that we rolled upstairs into our nice kept & cosy, reasonably priced room for the night. Would definitely stay here again without even thinking! :). Well done Grosvenor Staff!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GarethN20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wiredfrog, Owner at Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2013

Hi Gareth

Your kind words are truly a music to our ears. What a way to start our 2013! On behalf of the team at the Grosvenor, we thank you wholeheartedly. We are glad that you love our food as much as we do. Since my day joining the Grosvenor team, all of us have put on weight! We would like to take this opportunity to invite prospective customers to experience the amazing food here, that are prepared by our chefs originated from hotels such as Hilton, Sheraton, Crowne Plaza. We are happy that we are able to meet your expectation and we vow to get better this year and beyond! All the best, from the Grosvenor team. Ping (proprietor)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews