We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!”
Review of Grosvenor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grosvenor Hotel
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Timaru
Reviewed 5 April 2014

I was very happy with my stay at the Grosvenor hotel. The room was nice with great big and comfortable bed. The staff is very friendly and helpful and the food at the restaurant was excellent. The location is also very convenient. Overall, a great place to stay at and I would strongly recommend it!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valeria070714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wiredfrog, Owner at Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Greetings Madam

We thank you wholeheartedly for your kind words. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to serve you again in the future. Meanwhile, have a nice day. Faithfully, Ping LIM (The Proprietor)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (256)
There are newer reviews for Grosvenor Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

168 - 174 of 256 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2014

Stayed 2 nights. Room, although minimistic (plastic chair, no table or fridge), was clean and bed was comfortable. However, for price paid, excellent. Staff friendly. Had dinner there one night, excellent pan-fried blue cod - 2 large pieces perfectly cooked accompanied by (slightly over cooked) vegetables. Small, but interesting wine list. Cooked breakfast very good and plentifull, loved the bacon. When coming back to Timaru will defrinitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wiredfrog, Owner at Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Greetings Rob, thank you for your review. South Canterbury happened to be the food basket of New Zealand. And so, it's not hard for our chefs to come up with delicious food because the ingredients are fresh:) We do offer fridges for rooms but we have noted over the years that only a handful of people need fridges to store milk and perishable produce. If this were to be a motel, fridges would be absolutely critical but afterall, we are a hotel and so, our patrons get to have their meals served at the restaurant below, known as TGB locally. Fridges are available on request to conform with our promise to be environmentally friendly in consuming less power. Because The Grosvenor is more of a boutique hotel, all rooms have their own personalities and so, as long as you let us know regarding your personal request such as study table and so forth, our accommodation manager would then align the best rooms for your needs accordingly. We look forward to serve you again in the future. Best regards, Ping LIM (Proprietor)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

A town passed it's glory days. The Speights ale house is the main attraction. There is a very good restaurant called Zest in a former chapel. When we checked in we were given a room with frosted windows that opened on to a smoking balcony. Reception happy to move to a lovely 2nd floor room with coastal views.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wiredfrog, Owner at Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

Greetings Ian

Thank you for visiting the sleepy town of Timaru. It's a quaint village by international standard. We duly hope that you managed to get some rest and recreation at The Grosvenor. We are thankful that you are satisfied with our offering and we wish you safe travels. Sincerely, Ping LIM(The Proprietor)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

close to city and intercity bus to other destinations. shopping and cafes nearby, clean and ccomfortable rooms. fox channels in the rooms good reception. nice meals in hotel. close to the beach with nice walks.

Room Tip: comfortable price good
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glenn h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wiredfrog, Owner at Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Greetings Glenn

Thank you wholeheartedly for your kind words. We appreciate that you focus on the positive things that we have done well. We wish you a pleasant journey. We duly look forward to serve you again in the near future. Faithfully, Ping LIM (The Proprietor)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Just spent 2 nights here and found my single room very clean. A lovely comfy bed and plenty of instant hot water. Very central and handy to shops etc. The staff were friendly and helpful and I would be happy to stay here again next time.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wiredfrog, Owner at Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Greetings Sir

It has been a tremendous pleasure for us to attend to your needs. On behalf of all of us here at The Grosvenor, we thank you wholeheartedly. We pledge to continue upholding our high standard and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Sincerely, Ping LIM (Proprietor)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

I am a regular being in Timaru three times a year for work. The staff is friendly and accomodating. The rooms are functional and tidy. The hotel is located on a quiet area as it is away from the main road. The town center, beach, parc, cinema and restaurants are within 5 minutes walk. All that for a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HelenedeBatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wiredfrog, Owner at Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2014

Greetings Helene

Mel, our Front Office Lady or shall-I-say, our Director of First Impression remembers you. She's very excited upon getting your nice review:) Thank you for sharing with the world of what we are good at, value-for-money and its prime location. Yes, our staff is great too! We look forward to be of service to you again in the near future. Faithfully, Ping LIM (The Proprietor)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Stayed here for one night (New Years Eve). Clean room (bit dated), with a fridge and ensuite. Coffee making facilities. Flat screen TV. Close to main street (other end of side street) and about 10 minute walk to Caroline Bay boardwalk. Didn't try the restaurant so can't comment. Being NYE it was noisy until midnight and then all was quiet. Good value for money.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chez-from-Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wiredfrog, Owner at Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Greetings Chez

Happy New Year to you.
We hope you had a wonderful time in Timaru.
Thank you for your objective review.
We appreciate it.
Being a senior reviewer myself, I wish you further Happy Travels!
Yours faithfully, Ping LIM (The Proprietor)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Timaru hotels
0.8 mi away
Aspen on King
Aspen on King
#3 of 18 in Timaru
165 reviews
0.7 mi away
Comfort Hotel Benvenue
Comfort Hotel Benvenue
#9 of 18 in Timaru
87 reviews
0.8 mi away
Avenue Motor Lodge
Avenue Motor Lodge
#2 of 18 in Timaru
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Townhouse Motel
Townhouse Motel
#8 of 18 in Timaru
54 reviews
1.4 mi away
Bay Viaduct Motor Lodge
Bay Viaduct Motor Lodge
#5 of 18 in Timaru
65 reviews
1.2 mi away
ASURE Ashley Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grosvenor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grosvenor Hotel

Address: 26 Cains Terrace, Timaru, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Timaru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Timaru
Price Range: £49 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grosvenor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grosvenor has a penchant for authentic and unique design. Although we have been called a boutique hotel and a hip hotel, we're not sure what that really means. We're a little modern, and a little bohemian. Featuring an on-site restaurant and bar, The Grosvenor Hotel Timaru offers boutique & funky accommodation. Our accommodation offers feature art by local and international artists, throughout the hotel. You might stay that The Grosvenor is Timaru's Home of Modern Art (HoMA). With 44 rooms which are eco-friendly, sustainable and have green elements, like vintage furniture, low-VOC paints and recycled materials throughout. All accommodation has an ensuite with hairdryer, ironing board & iron, tea & coffee making facilities, complimentary unlimited Wi-Fi and TV. Fridges are available on request. Guests can enjoy dining in our fantastic restaurant which is now a Timaru institution, TGB (The Grosvenor Bar) is located in a one of a kind historical building with dramatic high ceilings, nostalgic exposed brick and modern touches. Whet your appetite with local, regional and international beers and cider. Then enjoy innovative tavern fare including traditional roasts, urban burgers, fresh salads, wrap, artisanal sandwiches and many other Kiwi favorites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grosvenor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing