We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, very simple accomodations”
Review of Grosvenor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grosvenor Hotel
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Timaru
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We stayed for one night. The staff were great, but it is not a 4 star property. It is a very clean and simple 2 star property on the verge of some great looking renovations. Rooms were spacious and simple.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RosieCD2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wiredfrog, Owner at Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Greetings Rosie

You are absolutely right. We are not a four stars property but only a three stars. Our goal is to ensure that we have the basics right and providing our guests with a home-away-from-home feeling through excellent customer service. Being in Timaru, we are limited in resources to bring The Grosvenor to the next level but one shall never abandon its dream, right? We wish you well and all the best. Sincerely, Ping LIM (The Proprietor)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (275)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

176 - 182 of 275 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2014

Came down from Auckland and stayed for 5 nights on family business. Better value for money than the local motels and even than the Timaru camping ground cabins which is why I decided to stay there. The hotel's location is central and convenient as near the town's central business district and shopping centre as well as within walking distance of Caroline Bay and the harbour. Even though the hotel is near the centre of town, it's not noisy. The single room was comfortable with an excellent high pressure, hot shower and excellent parking facilities. It was helpful to have the free wifi service and tea and coffee facilities. My only concern was that when the room was cold, the heating didn't really work properly; a bedside lamp was needed and also a small table to use for my computer as there was only a chair in the room as well as the bed. Overall, though, the room was comfortable, in a good location, value for money and the staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank giniaw14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wiredfrog, Owner at Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Greetings Sir/Madam

Thank you for bringing to our attention things that we need to rectify. We appreciate the time you spent in writing the review and it meant the world to us. We give you an undertaking that we will strive to be better. Do come again:) Faithfully, Ping LIM (The Proprietor)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night in a standard double room. A nice, modern hotel with great staff. Our room was large, very clean and the bed was comfy. We ordered room service which was fast and was really good. The wifi is free but we had a poor signal in our room. Excellent location; in the town centre and 5 min walk from the Intercity bus stop.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank katie-a-r-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wiredfrog, Owner at Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Greetings Katie

Thank you for bringing to our attention the weak WiFi signal in the room that you have stayed. We have recently just upgraded our WiFi facility. We shall endeavour to have it rectified without further ado to enable future guests to enjoy the same privileges as you did. Do come again. Thank you for your kind words and we strive to be better. Cheerio, Ping LIM (The Proprietor)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Arlo the shih tsu and I stayed here in January on a road trip. Very comfortable,clean single room for a miniscule price. I couldn't believe they let me book in with my dog-checked again when I arrived-and he loved the hotel too.
Excellent shower, good supply of tea/hot chocolate sachets and even a couple of biscuits. Wifi was excellent -10 hours free.
This hotel was the best value and location of all my accommodation choices on a roadtrip from Auckland to Dunedin and back.

Room Tip: My single room had no view, but was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JJandArlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wiredfrog, Owner at Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Greetings JJ & Arlo

Arlo is SOOO adorable! Almost all of our staff have pets and we understand that pets are very much members of our family. Therefore, it has always been The Grosvenor's policy to enable the owners to have their pets accompanying their masters. That being said, that's dependent upon the animals being well-trained and that they are not going to be a nuisance to other guests. In general, New Zealander pet owners are courteous people and our experience informed us that if they think their pets are going to be intimidating to other guests, they wouldn't check into The Grosvenor. To date, none of our guests have disappointed just yet. I, for one believe that as long as we are respectful to people, they will be respectful back. Do come again! And thank you wholeheartedly. Sincerely, Ping LIM (The Proprietor)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Closest Hotel to the CBD, no noise like you get from the motels on the main stretch coming into town. Stayed in Room 216 on Sunday 18th May, have stayed half a dozen times and the staff are all lovely friendly people. I work night shifts so the staff have been awesome having a room for me at 11am, and provided the odd late checkout free of charge. All rooms have flatscreen TV and shower / toilet. I've found only some have bathtubs/fridges, but if requested i'm sure they'd sort a room with them for you. Tea/Coffee/UHT Milk, and bathroom amenities provided. Always had clean towels and linen, comfy king-zip beds and spacious rooms. Room service food from the bar too has always rocked, and i've tended to find Grosvenor reasonable rates wise compared to motels in Timaru. I stay at least once a month if not fortnightly of late, and most rooms get a reasonable view over the port or city. A short walk to stafford street for shopping / bars too. 5 out of 5.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mpayne84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wiredfrog, Owner at Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Greetings Sir

We thank you wholeheartedly for your nice review. Our staff at the Front Office and Pub/Restaurant are touched and they would like to thank you in person next time when you are in Timaru again. Yes, when you ask for things, we will only be too pleased to make them possible for you. Kindly, Ping LIM (The Proprietor)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here one night on short notice. Reception staff very helpful & accommodating.
Hotel looks freshly renovated & rooms very tidy. Even carpet like wall coverings in the room, colour scheme a little odd though.
Great shower pressure.
Parking in lot directly across the road.

Stayed: March 2014
2  Thank Tacticalmunitions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wiredfrog, Owner at Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

Greetings Sir/Madam

Thank you for your raising all the good points about The Grosvenor. The odd colour on the wall especially for the first floor lobby is actually based on artwork created by Piet Mondrian. The "carpet"-like wall can be felt especially during winter months where it's providing the feeling of cosiness to our guests and that it cut down on the echo in public area. Safe travels and all the best from Ping LIM (The Proprietor)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

When we presented to book in we were advised our booking from our overseas travel agent had been notified to the hotel as cancelled - however the staff accommodated us with a room which they said was an upgrade from the original. Yes, it's basic (no fridge) but they were generous with supply of tea, coffee and sugar sachets daily and increased our milk 'ration' when they perceived our usage after two days. Noted all rooms were kept exceptionally clean and made up daily with all bathroom supplies and clean towels also provided daily (did this business act on that earlier review?). Heating was excellent and controlled within the room. Literally in the middle of 'town' - one minute walk to the main street and 10 mins to Caroline Bay. Didn't get a chance to try the restaurant (due to heavy rain it was flooded and closed on the evening we'd planned to review it) but it was highly recommended by locals, the Sunday lunch apparently very popular.
This is a business that understands that staff friendliness and 'the little things' in service quality can compensate for less in the way of 'structural' amenities. We'll definitely use The Grosvenor again should we be in the area.

Room Tip: One side faces east over a car park, other side north facing office buildings. Probably need to be o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GXDL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wiredfrog, Owner at Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Greetings Sir/Madam

Thank you for taking your time to write a very concise and objective review about The Grosvenor. You have captured the essence of what The Grosvenor is all about. To sum it up, The Grosvenor is a large quaint hotel - an oxymoron but it's all so true. Everyone's need is different and our staff endeavours to cater to individual needs of our guests. You won't get any accommodation that's situated within the City Centre and yet, it is AWAY from the traffic noise that some motels encounter along the main highway. Our fridges and writing tables are available on request because we practice what we preach regarding sustainability (using less power) and that, we would like to free up more space in hotel rooms for guests who have no needs for tables at the first place. Should you are in our 'hood again, please do come again. We look forward to host you once more and more to come. Faithfully, Ping LIM (The Proprietor)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Timaru hotels
0.8 mi away
Aspen on King
Aspen on King
#2 of 18 in Timaru
180 reviews
0.7 mi away
Comfort Hotel Benvenue
Comfort Hotel Benvenue
#9 of 18 in Timaru
97 reviews
0.8 mi away
Avenue Motor Lodge
Avenue Motor Lodge
#3 of 18 in Timaru
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Townhouse Motel
Townhouse Motel
#8 of 18 in Timaru
57 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bay Viaduct Motor Lodge
Bay Viaduct Motor Lodge
#4 of 18 in Timaru
78 reviews
1.2 mi away
ASURE Ashley Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grosvenor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grosvenor Hotel

Address: 26 Cains Terrace, Timaru 7910, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Timaru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Timaru
Price Range: £49 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grosvenor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grosvenor has a penchant for authentic and unique design. Although we have been called a boutique hotel and a hip hotel, we're not sure what that really means. We're a little modern, and a little bohemian. Featuring an on-site restaurant and bar, The Grosvenor Hotel Timaru offers boutique & funky accommodation. Our accommodation offers feature art by local and international artists, throughout the hotel. You might stay that The Grosvenor is Timaru's Home of Modern Art (HoMA). With 44 rooms which are eco-friendly, sustainable and have green elements, like vintage furniture, low-VOC paints and recycled materials throughout. All accommodation has an ensuite with hairdryer, ironing board & iron, tea & coffee making facilities, complimentary unlimited Wi-Fi and TV. Fridges are available on request. Guests can enjoy dining in our fantastic restaurant which is now a Timaru institution, TGB (The Grosvenor Bar) is located in a one of a kind historical building with dramatic high ceilings, nostalgic exposed brick and modern touches. Whet your appetite with local, regional and international beers and cider. Then enjoy innovative tavern fare including traditional roasts, urban burgers, fresh salads, wrap, artisanal sandwiches and many other Kiwi favorites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grosvenor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing