We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (55)
Filter reviews
55 results
Traveller rating
45
9
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
45
9
1
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 55 reviews
Reviewed 24 March 2011

Fantastic place to stay, goregeous house, gracious hosts who obviously enjoy attending to little details that make you smile.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank numbat42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2011

My wife and I stayed at Sefton Homestay for 1 night on 17 January 2011. It is a lovely old home close to the centre of Timaru. We stayed in " The Tartan Suite " - with a king sized bed and small bay area ( ideal for using my laptop ) . The private bathroom with separate shower was just across the hall. We would have preferred our own en-suite but the Blue Room had been pre-booked. We relied on the excellent reviews on tripadvisor at the time of making the booking on 4 December 2010 and we were pleased that we chose to stay at the Sefton Homestay despite the lack of en-suite facilities. Trish is a very good hostess - we did not meet John who was at work in Timaru during our stay. Our continental style breakfast was very good. Sefton Homestay is also great value.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rogerandjosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2010

Lovely home and gardens and charming and friendly hosts. Close to town for dining. We chose to stay in the king sized bedroom with a private bath which is across the hall. The room was very pleasant and clean. Breakfast was tasty with good conversation. Sefton Homestay is a great value and a very pleasant place to stay. The location is good, only a couple of hours from Mount Cook and a couple of hours from Christchurch where our flight departed the next day.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moreandmore2see
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2010

Sefton Homestay is meticulously clean and welcoming. It's central location makes, town restuarants, the art gallery and beach all with in walking distance.

John and Trish are a warm interesting couple, who ensure your stay is relaxed and easy. Breakfast is wonderful - with home made mueseli coffee and good conversation

A great NZ homestay

Dr Diana North

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DianaNorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2010

My husband and I were on our honeymoon visiting New Zealand. Spending 2 1/2 months in this beautiful country allowed us time to both stay with friends and have time on our own. Our stay at Sefton Homestay was one of the hightlights of our trip. Trish and John were so welcoming and nothing was too much trouble for them. Their home is just beautiful, the wood panelling, the decore, and such attention to detail. There were beautiful flowers in our room which was so tastefully decorated and gave us a feeling of being totally pampered.
Trish prepared us an amazing breakfast so beautifully presented, even to a fresh flower on each linen napkin. It really made us feel so special. Both Trish and John were so helpful with telling us about the area, where to go etc. The house is located in a perfect spot, within walking distance to the promenade and beach. We would stay again in a heartbeat and will definitely return when we visit next time. Thanks Trish,John and Ollie.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank canadiankiwi5560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews