We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge unit with little price!”
Review of Avenue Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Avenue Motor Lodge
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Timaru
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Huge unit with little price!”
Reviewed 6 August 2011

Avenue Lodge Timaru
This lodge located about 2 minutes drive from downtown and it is very close to the big supermarket - New World.
This self contained unit is very modern and we really love the fact they have the one faucet sink. 
The unit is huge with a set of dining table and chairs, flat screen TV, one king size bed and one single bed. The beds were clean and comfortable.
The clean bathroom consist of a spa bath and a walk in shower with enough amenities . We love the heater and the heated tower rack that made it easier for us in this winter month. 
Customer service for this property is ok, you know, hi at check in and bye at check out.
One negative point though - Internet service is not free. Although they equipped wifi services but it was not free for the guests. 

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VanessaMunYee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    31
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
40
6
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

I stayed here for 5 nights on a business trip. The rooms are spacious and beautifully appointed. The spa bath is a bit of luxury at the end of a long day. I would recommend this motel to couples on a weekend away or business travellers. It is very close to the town centre (approx 4 minutes drive) and away from the train tracks.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 2 March 2011

Intially it was planned to stay only 1 night at the Avenue Motor Lodge as most of our time would be spent in Christchurch. However due to the earthquake we couldnt do this and the staff at the Avenue Motor Lodge were happy to accomodate us for 5 nights at the very last minute.
It was quite modern with a spa, balcony and plasma tv. The room was clean, spacious and the bed was comfortable.
As for the staff they were very friendly and always wiling to help. I couldnt speak any higher of them.
Location was great as well. Not even a 5 minute drive from the main shops etc.
If you are considering staying in Timaru, I highly recommend this place! I would stay here again if I was to travel back to Timaru.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sydney_Chick_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SUNSHINE COAST AUSTRALIA
Level 6 Contributor
242 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2011

We just picked this motel driving by - and hoped for a good nights sleep !
Very clean comfortable spa room, with a kitchenette. Even though it is on the highway, we didnt hear any trafic noise and got a really good sleep. Had dinner at the Sukothai restaurant in town and that was a good meal. So a very good overnight stay in Timaru.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rojaan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Kirby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2010

About half way between Christchurch and south/\west tourist areas. We had a 2 bedroom suite which had huge living/dining area, 2 good bedrooms and very well equipped kitchen area. Had 2 comfortable nights and nice welcome from host. Well recommended.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrData70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newmarket, England
1 review
Reviewed 7 July 2010

I really can't fault the motel. The level of cleanliness, room size and modern fixtures & fittings were second to none - and this was not matched by any other motels during my trip around the South Island. The staff were really friendly and helpful - a typical NZ trait ! It offered good value for money, would recommend it to anyone, and would certainly stay again if I returned to NZ.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tommy_Smith_fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2010

We found this a well presented and clean motel with good service. However we thought the room slightly dark and we did notice noise from am adjacent room and from the nearby main road. All in all it was fine and offered good value for a one or two night stay.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheshirekatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Timaru hotels
0.8 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel
Grosvenor Hotel
#5 of 18 in Timaru
254 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aspen on King
Aspen on King
#3 of 18 in Timaru
158 reviews
0.4 mi away
ASURE Ashley Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Bay Viaduct Motor Lodge
Bay Viaduct Motor Lodge
#4 of 18 in Timaru
64 reviews
1.3 mi away
Townhouse Motel
Townhouse Motel
#7 of 18 in Timaru
52 reviews
1.5 mi away
Parklands Motor Lodge Timaru
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avenue Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenue Motor Lodge

Property: Avenue Motor Lodge
Address: 31 Craigie Avenue, Timaru 7910, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Timaru
Amenities:
Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Timaru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Avenue Motor Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Avenue Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenue Hotel Timaru

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing