We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful food and lovely surroundings”
Review of Ginger and Garlic Restaurant - CLOSED

Ginger and Garlic Restaurant
Price range: US$21 - US$28
Cuisines: European, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Timaru's premiere dining destination. With stunning views over Caroline Bay and the Timaru port. Join Ginger and Garlic for the finest example of local produce accompanied by South Canterbury's largest selection of wines, cocktails and liqueurs. Treat yourself, you deserve it.
Reviewed 14 October 2013

The food is delicious, the menu is interesting and it is difficult to choose. Lovely surroundings but rather large on a quiet night.

Thank Kris s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A7079BPjasonc, Owner at Ginger and Garlic Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2016

Thank you for your review, our menu is even better now. I hope you can find your way back to us soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (96)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 71 of 96 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2013

Lovely meal and the service was excellent. One of the best parts was the music provided by a musician playing a grand piano. The tuna, tortellini and caramel wontons were a delight. Well worth the price.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DebTuiT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A7079BPjasonc, Owner at Ginger and Garlic Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2016

Thank you so much, we've had an amazing guitar player for selected nights over the summer too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Very welcoming and friendly. Great service. Food presentation was astounding and a very pleasant surprise. Duck main was succulent and heavenly.

Thank AngeO67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A7079BPjasonc, Owner at Ginger and Garlic Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2016

Thank you, the new duck dish is even better! My favorite.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Only 12people In the restaurant still once order taken no service given had cold undercooked pasta inedible yet no one came to ask how our meals were when waitress came to clear our table had the gall to say that Was the way chef did it!!! Very insulting wasnt going show us the bill just said how do you want to do this? Our answer never again

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Swazi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason C, Manager at Ginger and Garlic Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2013

As we discussed with you on the night; and your husband noted written in the menu. The tortalini is served at 64'C. We did check on all of your tables meals and no comment was made until you came up to the counter at the end. Refusing to pay.
We did not charge you at all for the meal, and did appologise at the time as you did not enjoy it.
I'm very sorry you did not enjoy your meal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Liz
Service was poor, starter was nice, main meals pork and steak cold, desert was best part of dining experience, we were over charged by $100 this is the second time this has happened at this restaurant last time we didn't find out until we checked bill when we got home
Not a dining experience that we will do again untold the my meal was cold they took it alway and reheated parsnips crisp don't like being microwaved

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Liz N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A7079BPjasonc, Owner at Ginger and Garlic Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2016

Hi Liz, we very rarely get complaints, but I'm so sorry that you did not enjoy your visit. Since your night with us, we have updated much of the restaurant and menu.
We still serve all of our food well rested so not steaming hot, but are happy to serve hotter on request.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ginger and Garlic Restaurant also viewed

Timaru, Canterbury Region
 
Timaru, Canterbury Region
Timaru, Canterbury Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing