We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good tasting food”

Old Bank Cafe & Bar
Ranked #10 of 70 Restaurants in Timaru
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$21
Cuisines: New Zealand, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
312 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“good tasting food”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

lunch bar meals are filling and value for money and would eat here again, good service friendly staff.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank PatMacnz64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    29
    8
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Hebrew first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
106 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Very nice - lots of old people, and lots of good food.”
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We went with a group of older poeple. They wanted pensioners roast so we ordered an ordinary roast. Then we saw the size of the pensioners one and we knew we were in trouble. The food was lovely, and very reasonable. Honestly get the pensioner size because he is a big eater and really struggled. I couldn't finish my meal it was so big. Service was excellent. Centrally located in the main street.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Styly_Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
88 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good Food - Good prices”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Had a very enjoyable dinner here. Good value for money. Service was good. Didn't leave feeling hungry!! :-)

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lengra46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waimate, New Zealand
Level Contributor
76 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best pub meal around!”
Reviewed 23 July 2013

When we need a meal that is good value and fast, as well as tasty, the Old Bank is for us! We have been a few times and every time no matter how busy they are the service is courteous and fast. The food is real comfort food and tasty. The price is reasonable. We will be back!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CanNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timaru, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Value”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Quick friendly service and a great meal. Bar facility and TAB available. Clean and warm environment.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hardon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Old Bank Cafe & Bar also viewed

Timaru, Canterbury Region
 
Timaru, Canterbury Region
Timaru, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Old Bank Cafe & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing