We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding! Way better than expected!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Chuuk
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Truk Blue Lagoon Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Chuuk
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Basic, but just as expected! Great food, lovely surroundings. There is nothing else to do but having a very relaxing vacation with diving. The best diving in the world!! Went on a round trip on the island on a rented moped, but the resort is the place to be for relaxation. Doesn't matter if you have company or not, you will make friends here for life. Many other divers are also comming here alone. All with the same purpose.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ANDvEntuReS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (326)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

228 - 234 of 326 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2012

After reading some of the horror reviews on the Blue Lagoon resort I arrived with some trepidation. I was pleasantly surprised. The rooms were clean, bedding was good, nobody in our group was sick from the food in the restaurant or complained about the quality or service.
There were some problems. The toilet in my room on 2 occasions wouldn't flush and the aircon stopped working. The maintenance staff were quick to put right. The shower water pressure was poor and the washbasin water smelled like swamp water. This smell was unique to my room as nobody else in our group noticed it. It wasn't really a problem as a large container of clean potable water is supplied in the bathroom. Most people who come here are divers and if they have travelled to the best dive sites in the world they would be used to roughing it a little. The wreck diving is second to none.
The view from my second floor room was spectacular, palm trees, sand, water and a magnificent sunset. Take some insect repellent as the sand flies are ferocious.
We were told not to venture into the town at night and wouldn't have wanted to, the road is dreadful, it took 20 minutes to travel the 3km from the airport. There is a well stocked store next to the dive shop for drinks snacks toiletries etc although they didn't have any insect repellent. The rooms are a little tired and run down and so the nightly rate is expensive ($140 single occupancy) but I wouldn't hesitate to return because I went for the diving not the comfort of a 5 star resort. This place appears to be the best place to stay in Truk.

Room Tip: Ask for second floor facing the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jacko31752
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012 via mobile

This is a great place to meet like minded people (scuba divers). The resort is unpretentious but adequate in all respects. Lots of fun to be had around the pool table in the evening. Location is stunning and the diving fantastic. Nothing to winge about. I'm going back

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wazza5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

We stayed here for 2 days before and after our dive trip. The rooms are basic and hot water can be limited. The food is very good and the people are very nice. The location however is stunning, truly stunning. Would recommend a swim in the lagoon in the rain, very sureal. The one thing to careful of is the cats!! They are everywhere and the kittens do try and sneak in under your bed!

Room Tip: Get on the the ground floor over to the right of the hotel. as you face it. This is the nicest place...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fuchsia01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

This resort is definitely not a 5-star accommodation, and expectations should not be set too high, it's by no means luxurious, the rooms and furniture are old, the towels are worn, there is no TV in the room, no internet in the rooms and a crappy connection near the lobby, no pool, and the tap water is not safe to drink.

There are regular power outages, and consider yourself lucky if you have hot water in the room (if you have water, that is... as the maintenance cuts the water from time to time).

That being said..... it's a -fantastic- place to stay, and the 10 days of my stay there were extremely enjoyable. The location is truly stunning, with views on the lagoon that would be worth triple the price in other countries, the staff is nice and caring, and although the place is starting to show its age the maintenance is adequate.

The restaurant has a very wide choice of food, some of the dishes are truly excellent. The food is cooked for each order, and if the restaurant has more than a dozen or so customers, service might take some time. The bar with its many signatures from divers from all over the world is one place not to miss, and a cold beer after your last dive of the day (which, as any other dives in Chuuk, will be fantastic) while watching the sun go down will rejoice any diver.

The dive shop and its crew are remarkable. Their knowledge of the wrecks is astounding, they have a very decent equipment, given the remoteness of the location.

I have read some reviews disappointed by the Blue Lagoon. I would recommend to do a land tour, either on Weno or better on the other islands, to get a glimpse of the standard of living of Chuukeses. The "road" from the airport with its gigantic potholes (as of 2012, but things have been like that for a few years) gives a first hint that Chuuk is indeed a very poor area, and the Blue Lagoon is probably one of theillnono のf most exclusive places anywhere in the state. If you want to get on a luxury trip while on Chuuk, shell out twice the price, go to any of the two liveaboards and cut yourself from the problem of being on land. If you are fine with a no frills accommodation, run by a nice staff, with superb settings and great food... BLR is for you !

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tensaibuta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

We just sent a crew of 18 divers there for a dive club trip. Sanitary conditions... (What sanitary conditions), Food was disgusting with half of our crew coming down with food poisoning (this also happend to a crew from WA), extra charges for diving out of left field, cross flow of sewerage through the plumbing. Our complaints have and are being swept under the carpet.Blue Lagoon Resort, dont hold your breath for our repeat business and dont expect a single referral unless you are prepared to do something about raising the standard dramatically. This is an insult, selling brass for the price of gold.

Room Tip: Just avoid the place altogether
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bubbleboy49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

After 7 visits to Chuuk, I have now stayed at nearly all accommodation options. Blue Lagoon is the one I look forward to most. The rooms are nice, and although getting old, still well maintained. The restaurant is good...in fact the service keeps getting better - ten years ago it was terrible, now it great. I've given up the liveaboards because the dive shop here is so good, can't wait for my next trip!

Room Tip: Standard rooms are closer to the dive shop if you need to carry gear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shipwreck_pirate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Truk Blue Lagoon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Truk Blue Lagoon Resort

Address: Weno, Chuuk 96942, Federated States of Micronesia
Region: Federated States of Micronesia > Chuuk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Chuuk
Hotel Class:3 star — Truk Blue Lagoon Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Lagoon Dive Resort has 54 guest rooms and is surrounded by beautifully maintained grounds. Blue Lagoon Dive Shop is located on our grounds and we are a short boat trip to the 40 plus wrecks in the Repair Anchorage, Fourth Fleet Anchorage and the Sixth Fleet Anchorage. Blue Lagoon Dive Resort also can offer you accommodation on Fonomu Island which has the Fourth Fleet Andhorage on its front door step, and is surrounded by a marine sanctuary and coral garden. For the non diver we offer kyaking, walking, snorkelling, land tours, island tours, fishing trips, the Kimiuo Aisek Memorial Musum, cable tv in the Internet lounge, lounge bar/coffee lounge, pool table and more. Contact us via email to find out account our current specials. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Truk Blue Lagoon Hotel Chuuk
Truk Blue Lagoon Chuuk
Truk Blue Lagoon Resort Chuuk, South Pacific

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing