We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Truk Blue Lagoon Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Chuuk
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Truk Blue Lagoon Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Chuuk
Salem, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
190 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

I loved staying at the Blue Lagoon.
The food was suprisingly good.. I would however avoid the deserts, they were sub par. The service was wonderful, we were always met with a smile at the front desk, the bar, and the dinning room..
The rooms were cold and did not have any moldy smell, which was a nice surprise.
Each room I saw had two beds, a mini fridge, a large bathroom (WITH HOT WATER), and a bathtub. There were no bugs in my room, and while the bed was not comfortable the cleanliness was enough to comfort me to sleep each night.
While there was no gym or fitness facility there was plenty of room on the grounds to run/walk or keep active.
The internet did not reach the rooms, nor was it consistent, but that did provide a certain level of anticipation and excitement for when it was functional. There was no TV in the room but this hotel has the best sunset view in the pacific and rather cheap drinks, so who needs to watch the month old news from San Francisco anyways?

Overall this hotel was far better than I anticipated for Chuuk. It was quiet, the food was good, it was clean, and the staff was friendly. It far exceeded my expectations.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    109
    67
    17
    9
See reviews for
24
62
49
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guam, Mariana Islands
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

The Truk Blue Lagoon Resort is the place to stay if you are visiting Chuuk. They have the most beautiful grounds and location of all the hotels in Chuuk. The rooms are comfortable and clean. Air conditioning works great and they have their own power which means that they are not affected by the island wide power outages. They have a very good restaurant with reasonably priced food. You ought to try the "Island Bounty" for a taste of some of the local foods. Very friendly staff will make sure that your stay is wonderful!

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor seem to be a bit larger only because they have a higher ceiling. Currently...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Blygoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013 via mobile

The rooms are clean if a little worn. There was hot water (not that you really needed it in the heat). The air conditioning worked a treat. The beds are comfortable. The food was decent (try the blackened sashimi its good) which was unexpected given some of the reviews i had read. The service was friendly. The diving amazing. It's a very special place. Don't be put off by any of the negatives in other reviews at worst they are little niggles that will pale into absolute insignificance during your stay. The sites are easy to get to from the resort. Dive masters are great.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Malandava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paradise Point, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

What an amazing experience! I would go back and do it all over again in a heart beat! Your drive to Blue Lagoon Resort is an experience in itself...pot holed roads and absolute poverty. It makes you appreciate where you come from! Blue Lagoon Resort is their, ' Versace'. It is the only place to stay. It is comfortable and air-conditioned. The grounds are maintained beautifully.The staff are friendly and accommodating. There is no pool, but there is a huge ocean to dip in just metres from your room. I found the food fine and if you desire, you can request a BBQ and that is delicious.

We had a 50th Birthday Party when we were there and just beyond the Dive Shop is a store that sells a veriety of things including Birthday cakes. Decorated beautifully and absolutly delicious chocolate cake! Cost was $12 plus tax. It was large enough to feed 10 people.

Wifi is available but very slow.

Room Tip: Higer floors are better because you don't hear people walking around above you. We were in 201 w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicki L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manhattan Beach, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2013

The Blue Lagoon has a nice location and pleasant grounds. The reason to be here is to dive - none other. The rooms are basic and only functionally maintained. The carpets, bedding, pillows and towels are old and in poor condition. The bathroom is sufficient, but hot water is unreliable. Be sure to ask to see multiple rooms. Some are in better condition than others, and stay upstairs. It's safer - and the high ceilings make the rooms seem larger. The food is basic with a menu that is too large and ambitous. They did not have fresh vegetables or salad during our stay. It's not their fault, as it's all tied to the timing of shipments to Weno. Nevertheless, the food gets tiring. On the plus side, the staff is always pleasant and responsive. We particulalry liked the restaurant crew. WiFi is available in the lobby and restaurant, but is slow (but sufficient for it's purpose). The dive shop and operation is good. They have multiple small boats, so there is not risk of diving in a huge crowd. In fact, it was just the two of us and our dive guide, Sesto, the entire time. Boats trips are short and there is safe equipment storage at the shop. Of course, the diving is amazing, so it's well worth the trip. From what we saw, the live aboards are much more expensive, very crowded and move less than advertised. While the Blue Lagoon is no Four Seasons, it is a serviceable option for Chuuk. Some minor investment in new bedding, pillows and towels would go a long way to making BLR a decent stop.

Room Tip: Stay upstairs. Corner rooms have more light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauterbur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dapto
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2013

Having read numerous reviews before leaving,then arriving at Blue Lagoon Resort,I found many negative reviews somewhat confusing.The point of going to Truk is to dive.Not diving ,can't go to a nice tropical location and do nothing but read,eat and relax,then stay at home.First the resort,the grounds are clean,trimmed and during the day when everyone is diving, quiet and relaxed.The staff very friendly,not because they are looking for tips,they just are.The rooms are more than spacious enough,with every thing you need.the A/C great.The bathrooms were clean and large enough for anyone and as good and better than I've had in other as isolated dive locations.Much bigger than you will find on those expensive,stagnant liveaboards that rarely moved out of sight of the resort.They don't have hot water but you won't need it.The beds were comfortable,sleep came easy after two decompression dives each day and a great feed at the restaurant in the evening.This is a great location to do nothing or dive flat out everyday your there.The location is third world.We chose not to leave the resort, we had no need to.We ,a group of ten technically trained divers completed two dives per day on air and nitrox.Plenty of twinsets,210 bar fills,though I advise to take your own sling kit for your stage .The dive shop was clean organised ,the skippers and guides punctual and very informative.The two boats we had were reliable and more than sufficient for the task.
The restaurant food was fine,desserts a treat,nobody in our group complained or became ill.The staff quickly remembered our names and were fun and friendly.
The diving,well the reason you're probably reading this is that you have already heard about it and you're planning to visit.Nothing you read,see,or hear will prepare you for what you'll see.Amazing.I suggest some technical training before leaving to go,dive twins,complete staged decompression to get the most value,then stay with the guide once you're in.Don't forget your camera.Dives range from 15 metres to 60+metres visibility was generally 15 metres to 30 metres depending on the site.
An extremely pleasant trip,well worth the effort it takes to get there.I for one have no problems with any part of the resort,dive shop,restaurant or diving.If you're a 4 star only person try diving Florida,Cayman,The Red Sea, wherever, but you will never see anything like these wrecks,in warm water,with this accessibility.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013 via mobile

I was the tour leader for a dive group from Sydney and we spent 10 days there. Accommodation was basic but clean. We all had twin shares and they made the rooms daily. Food wasn't too bad, but the menu doesn't change and starts to get old if you're there for 10 days. Also they regularly ran out of certain items. No potatoes one day, no fish on another day and no ice cream the next. This is because everything is imported so it is common to run out of supplies. Service is exceptional though and the staff will get to know you by name after the first day. And if you make a special request, you might be able to get them to make lobsters for you for dinner for around USD$20.

There's free wifi in the main lobby and dining hall, but it is slow and usually doesn't work during meal times when everybody tries to connect into the network.

Diving is amazing and it pays to do your research on the wrecks so that you can tell the dive guide where you want to go and what you like to see. Our dive guide was Nick and boat driver was Gladwin and they were a winning combination! It amazing a me how they are able to navigate the boat directly on top of the wreck without any visible moorings.

Also on your last day, the dive guide and boat driver will throw either a BBQ lunch or dinner. We bought a case of the local favorite beer, red horse, and had a huge party night! Amazing trip!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank edwinkwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chuuk
0.0 mi away
Ulithi Adventure Lodge
Ulithi Adventure Lodge
#1 of 1 in Falalop
5.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Truk Blue Lagoon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Truk Blue Lagoon Resort

Property: Truk Blue Lagoon Resort
Address: Weno, Chuuk 96942, Federated States of Micronesia
Region: Federated States of Micronesia > Chuuk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Chuuk
Hotel Class:3 star — Truk Blue Lagoon Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Lagoon Dive Resort has 54 guest rooms and is surrounded by beautifully maintained grounds. Blue Lagoon Dive Shop is located on our grounds and we are a short boat trip to the 40 plus wrecks in the Repair Anchorage, Fourth Fleet Anchorage and the Sixth Fleet Anchorage. Blue Lagoon Dive Resort also can offer you accommodation on Fonomu Island which has the Fourth Fleet Andhorage on its front door step, and is surrounded by a marine sanctuary and coral garden. For the non diver we offer kyaking, walking, snorkelling, land tours, island tours, fishing trips, the Kimiuo Aisek Memorial Musum, cable tv in the Internet lounge, lounge bar/coffee lounge, pool table and more. Contact us via email to find out account our current specials. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Truk Blue Lagoon Hotel Chuuk
Truk Blue Lagoon Chuuk
Truk Blue Lagoon Resort Chuuk, South Pacific

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing