We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well Worth THe Trip”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Chuuk
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Truk Blue Lagoon Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Chuuk
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Well Worth THe Trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

My wife and I spent 10 nights at Blue Lagoon Resort, we had mixed thoughts about going to this Resort after reading some of the reviews, but it was the wreck diving which made up our minds to go. We have traveled to many dive resorts for the last 13 years. After arriving at Truk airport and driving on the non existent road (more pot holes than road) we were pleasantly surprised when we drove though the gate into the Resort. Our first impression was the beautifully well kept grounds with lush green lawns and palm trees. We were then greeted by the friendly staff with a cold coconut drink and in no time shown to our room. You can store your valuables in the office a safety deposit box. The Resort may be old but is very clean and comfortable. Fresh towels when the room is cleaned daily, plenty of fresh drinking water, good aircon, lots of hot running water, two double beds and a fridge in a room with plenty of space. The generator power to the Resort is switched over every six hours and cuts out for about 1-2 minutes (don't get caught in the shower as the pumps for the water stops and your in the dark). There is a TV with no antenna but who goes to watch TV when you have a beautiful view out of the window in the day time and you need a good nights sleep after an excellent days diving, but if you are desperate there is a TV in the lounge in the office. Wifi is available in the restaurant and the office lounge but depends on the time of the day and number of users. We found the staff helpful, polite, friendly and honest. The resort has a good clean restaurant with aircon and has a very good selection of food at very reasonable prices. There is a bar outside between the restaurant and the ocean which is open in the evening with a happy hour, this is a perfect place to have a drink or two and watch the sun set over the water before your evening meal. There is a small gift shop next to the office which sells souvenirs, cold beer and cool drinks. 100mts from the dive area there is a shop you can buy the basics. Opposite the dive shop is a small local coffee shop for drinks and food. At the dive shop you can buy Tshirts, hats, shorts and minor dive accessories. Outside there is a shaded area to gear up, your equipment is set up ready for you on the boat each day, there is a good wash down area for your gear after your dives and a lock up dry area. The air fill area is well maintained and kept clean giving you good clean air in the dive tanks. We found the dive boats had plenty of room and shade. The boat driver will help you gear up and will assist you in and out of the boat if needed. The boats are set up with drop lines at 6 and 9 meters and a spare tank for your safety stops. The dive guides are locals and know the wrecks inside and out, they are professional and take into consideration your capabilities and experience on each dive. Our dive guide McKenzie took us on some awesome dives which we enjoyed immensely especially "The San Francisco", "The Nippo" and "The Momokawa". The wrecks in the shallow waters have some beautiful soft coral on them "The Sankisan" is one of the best for this. To enjoy your diving listen to your guide and follow where he leads. We would like to thank the staff at the resort and the dive shop for a great holiday. Special thanks to McKenzie our dive guide.

Room Tip: Take a little US cash with you to use in the local and coffee shop. Get your ESTA (American Visa) on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roger H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    114
    68
    17
    9
See reviews for
25
63
50
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brescia, Lombardia, Italy
Level Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

I spent 10 days as guest of the blue lagoon during my honeymoon. The building is quite old but clean and the staff is really kind. From the wonderful garden you can appreciate special sunset and take a ride on a boat to visit the magic lagoon.
The diving shop is big and the restaurant is excellent!

Room Tip: first floor rooms are recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

This facility is run by divers for divers. Perfect. My bed was clean, my aircon was quiet, the toilet worked. the food was great and i didn't get Deli Belly. And the roof didn't leak. If you are not going to Weno to dive, then don't go to Weno, never mind the quality of the accommodation, its about the diving. If you are going with some one who needs TLC, loose them at the airport in Guam. one of our mob developed a chest complaint. the locals took him off to the hospital quick smart. if i didn't have responsibilities at home in Perth, I'd still be there.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are best as you will be too tired when you get back from diving to climb stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frigate Bay, St. Kitts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

Now, I do not wish to be entirely negative as this resort has some good points, but overall it is not a place I would recommend to my friends.

The "Resort" - the good stuff.
Beautiful grounds in an astounding location, surrounded by palm trees and sitting on the side of Chuuk (Truk) lagoon.
Very friendly and helpful staff, the staff are the best thing in this resort.
2 very small, very pretty beaches.

The "Resort" - the downside.
No sunbeds, no hammocks, nowhere to sit outside in comfort, unless you sit in the bar areas Bars are closed during the day - but plenty of dirty and dusty cheap plastic chairs to sit on.
Everywhere is old and in need of TLC
Nothing to do during at all. Obviously no pool.

The rooms.
Bungalow style, nice balconies, great views.
Dirty floors, dead roaches, mold in bathroom, broken bathroom mirror. The beds are old, the sheets have been laundered but are not really "clean" the bedspreads are horrible nylon, the pillows are a piece of foam that gave up being pillow shaped a long time ago. Think "bates motel" circa 1950 and you will get the idea. Not the sort of floors you would want to walk barefoot on.
Nothing provided in the room apart from a drinking water dispenser in the bathroom.
The sliding doors have insecure locks and there are no safes in the room. The TV (old style tube) is not connected to anything, I can only presume when you rent a DVD you also get a player. Forget plugging your device in, there are no inputs, the TV is so old.

The food.
Excellent food, lots of choice, great service. We had a light breakfast, lunch and dinner for 3 people (No alcohol or sodas) and spent around US$100 so good value for money.
There is a 50% tax on alcohol and sodas so beer is almost $6 a bottle and a soda $4, not the hotels fault, but if you like a few drinks after dinner then your budget is going to be very quickly blown.

Most guests come here to dive, and yes the diving is fantastic, but do not bring a non diver with you, they will go stir crazy, there is nothing to do.
Internet in lounge and restaurant only, the internet is extremely slow (as you would expect in such a remote location) so count on being "disconnected" during your stay and you will not be disappointed. (Note there is no cell phone service on the island, only local sim cards will work).

We had been diving from the "Odyssey" all week which was fantastic, we booked a day room for 3 people and the good thing was that we had the room from 9am in the morning until we checked out at 11pm. For this we were charged US$200. (Day rate of 150 + 50 for the third person)

For divers, I think the outstanding diving would possibly compensate for the poor accommodation, we planned 4 or 5 dives a day on Nitrox and we found the Odyssey actually worked out the same price as the Blue Lagoon when all the costs are added in. The Odyssey is far superior to this dump of a resort.

Room Tip: I doubt there are any "good rooms" in this place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mystkittsdivebuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

Diving around the world means that accommodation can vary immensely, Truk’s Blue Lagoon Resort is not a 5 star resort but the rooms are large and air-conditioned, the water pressure & temperature in the shower can vary, there are no TV channels to watch on the TV in your room, there is no internet in any of the rooms. In the lobby however there is slow internet available, a TV showing American sports and next door is a shop with a huge DVD selection that you can hire to watch movies in your room. There is a reasonably priced restaurant that serves 3 meals a day and we all found them very reasonable for quality. There is a wide selection of food to choose from so that they can cater to most tastes. The staff working there are all friendly and honest. Currency is US cash or credit cards and electrical points are US. No tea & coffee making facility in the rooms but they do provide soap & shampoo etc. They also have a bar for you to have a drink at and watch the sunset and their grounds are well looked after. If you don’t dive I would probably recommend staying home. For diving this is a nice comfortable friendly place to stay bearing in mind that it is a poor country. I will be going back there.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lee747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
107 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Whilst it's true one of the main reasons for visiting Chuuk is the diving at the end of the day you need a nice place to put your head down and the environment at the Blue Lagoon Resort on the exterior suggests it's just the sort of place you want. The grounds are idyllic, palm trees, beautiful views of the lagoon, a lovely little beach and a well located bar for sundowners. The staff are fantastic, friendly, helpful and very polite. The restaurant turns out very good food and I'd recommend any of the fish dishes. However, all that aside the rooms are awful. The carpets are filthy, we had dead roaches on the floor suggesting that a vacuum cleaner had not been in the room for sometime. The shower had mold and an impressive collection of human hair from previous occupants. The remote for the TV was helpfully placed on the TV stand, however there was no TV in the room. Glass panels in the wall without curtains meant the light from an exterior light shown into the room making it hard to sleep and this was accompanied by the sound of wind coming through the balcony doors causing them to rattle and sound like a heard of cows. The balcony each room has is a bonus and they make for a nice place to sit so there's a positive. However all in all the place needs some TLC and if given it, it could be a magic place to stay, as it is I'm off to get some delicing spray and antiseptic to give myself a good clean after my stay there.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Adepto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gibraltar, Europe
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

The blue Lagoon Resort was created by Kimiou Aisek who if my history lesson was accurate, worked on the boats during WW2 ferrying Japanese soldiers and sailors around Truk Lagoon prior to the attacks by Task Force 58 that sent many of the ships to the seabed.
After the war when Jaques Coustau visited Truk, Kimiou used his knowledge of where the ships had been at anchor to help Coustau locate and dive them.
The resort its self was built by Kimiou and his family to harness the growing interest in diving the wrecks of the Japanese fleet in Truk Lagoon.
The resort is by todays standards dated, but that said it is a charming place with mostly wood construction chalets and administration block.
It has a large dining area in the restaurant with massive windows that overlook the grounds and beaches, the food is of a high quality and reasonably priced, there is a significant tax on alcoholic drinks which can push your bar bill up quite a bit if don't keep tabs on it.
The Chalets are a 2 storey assembly, ground and fist floor chalets each have a spacious balcony to sit out on or dry your gear out.
The rooms are spacious and comfortable with a good size bathroom that has a shower plumbed into it.
The air con' works better than some modern hotels we stayed in on the way out to Truk !
The rooms had a refrigerator and a tv, although there was little point in having the tv in our room as it had no aerial and no remote control, no points there I'm afraid.
There is an outside bar that opens in the evenings where you will find flags and t shirts from visitors from around the world.
The grounds are well maintained and there is a lovely beach to enjoy with Kayak's to use if you wish, it is probably what most people's idea of a tropical island would be, palm trees everywhere, but on a down side some of the beach areas had a lot of litter, some of this could have washed up with the tide but a lot was obviously 'resort litter'.
Whilst the grounds are well maintained, just a bit of attention around the waterline to tidy these areas would make all the difference and complete the picture.

The resort has a dive shop where you can hire equipment and buy clothing but from what I saw there is not a great deal on 'new' kit to buy but the staff are friendly and as helpful as they can be given the limited resources in the region.

There is wifi available in the reception lounge but its not on a broadband feed so its painfully slow if there are more than a few people using it at the same time, its ok for trying to message friends and family but don't try up or downloading pictures, it'll take all day.

The resort runs some island trips, we went to see a large Japanese artillery piece in a cave that was used to protect the airstrip, the view down to the airfield is obscured today by tree growth but you can still get a feel for the view that must have been present during the Japanese occupation of the island.

There is a gift shop where you can purchase some souvenirs as well as drinks and sweets but remember you are in a very remote region so you might have to temper your expectations of the place if you are not to be disappointed, that said the place has an old fashioned charm about it that overcomes any shortfalls that it might have, additionally the history of the place makes its story quite absorbing.

The diving at Truk is fantastic but you should be aware that you will be diving almost entirely on the wrecks of transport and support vessels, not fighting ships, although many of these vessels were armed and sport some impressive deck guns. There are some exceptions to that such as the I-169 submarine, lost with all crew after a botched crash dive flooded most of the forward compartment.

Overall the resort is a very pleasant place to stay, and its old fashioned charm is one of its strengths, but you need to be aware that it is VERY hot there, when it rains it does it properly with deluges, an umbrella is essential for the rain as much as the sun.
There is very little to do here other than read, relax on the beach or go diving so this is a place most people come to to dive, non divers will find it challenging to stay occupied.
It is also recommended that visitors don't go off the resort.
When you come out of the airport be sure to check who's taxi or truck you are getting into, Blue Lagoon Resort have a couple of liveried pickup's they use for this.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Truk Blue Lagoon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Truk Blue Lagoon Resort

Property: Truk Blue Lagoon Resort
Address: Weno, Chuuk 96942, Federated States of Micronesia
Region: Federated States of Micronesia > Chuuk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Chuuk
Hotel Class:3 star — Truk Blue Lagoon Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Lagoon Dive Resort has 54 guest rooms and is surrounded by beautifully maintained grounds. Blue Lagoon Dive Shop is located on our grounds and we are a short boat trip to the 40 plus wrecks in the Repair Anchorage, Fourth Fleet Anchorage and the Sixth Fleet Anchorage. Blue Lagoon Dive Resort also can offer you accommodation on Fonomu Island which has the Fourth Fleet Andhorage on its front door step, and is surrounded by a marine sanctuary and coral garden. For the non diver we offer kyaking, walking, snorkelling, land tours, island tours, fishing trips, the Kimiuo Aisek Memorial Musum, cable tv in the Internet lounge, lounge bar/coffee lounge, pool table and more. Contact us via email to find out account our current specials. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Truk Blue Lagoon Hotel Chuuk
Truk Blue Lagoon Chuuk
Truk Blue Lagoon Resort Chuuk, South Pacific

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing