We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, friendly, helpful, and fun - all you need in Kosrae” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kosrae Nautilus Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kosrae Nautilus Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kosrae
Certificate of Excellence
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Clean, friendly, helpful, and fun - all you need in Kosrae”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

I enjoyed my stay here so much that I was tempted to skip the flight out and extend my stay. I now wish I had. Kosrae is a wonderful place but if the hotel weren't good then the whole visit would be shot. Doug & Sally, the proprietors, run this hotel perfectly. I was very happy there.

The rooms are basic but cheerful; they are clean and bug-free. The linens are fresh, not musty, and the pool is neat as a pin (so is your room). There is internet in the room if you want to buy a pre-paid wireless card from FSM Telecom, but free in the lobby. Believe me that in Micronesia, this is a good deal. The rooms have a fridge and a television, and comfortable beds. The restaurant is surprisingly tasty (pizzas there are really good). Doug buys good scuba equipment and keeps it in excellent shape. He's a good divemaster, as is his son, and I felt like I was getting a personal tour of the underwater parts of Kosrae. They also have a couple of cars that they rent out at very reasonable rates so you can tool around the island. The locals do a lot of take-away business with the restaurant and often have breakfast there, too. The innkeepers, though they are originally Australians, are definitely rooted in the Kosrae community. Most of the staff has worked there many years and takes pride in the hotel. It's effectively a family-run place.

Doug has good water filtration in place so you can be assured of safe healthy drinking water and ice from the pitcher in your room fridge (tap water is from the municipality, so I don't recommend it - the CDC says Typhoid is possible here as of this writing). I was not sick while I was here and was much reassured by the good taste of the water and the strict cleanliness standards maintained on the property.

It's not the Ritz, and you shouldn't expect that. Fixtures and pillows are not brand new, but all is in acceptable condition and not needing replacement (and I am particular about this kind of thing). I could see that some fixtures had been recently replaced, presumably as needed, and everything was in good working order. There are chickens on the island so you might want to bring earplugs if you are not an early riser. Also note that there is no alcohol consumption on Sundays for religious reasons, and no scuba diving either, though snorkeling is fine. I enjoyed the peace and quiet.

Really, it's a great place in a subsistence community where everything has to be shipped in. I would stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JenniferSpencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    24
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
35
21
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sunshine Coast
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

The resort is a perfect place to stay on this fabulous island. Doug & Sally are extremely helpful as are all the friendly staff. On our visit Doug & Sally helped to organise snorkelling, visiting the Lelu & Menke Ruins, kayaking through the mangroves, renting a hire car and a visit to the Kosrae Hospital. So many wonderful Kosarean experiences.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gjlpfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonoma, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

The only disappointing aspect of my stay at the Kosrae Nautilus Resort is that it was too short and my colleague and I did not have more time to enjoy the warm, friendly hospitality of our hosts, Doug, Sally, and Cameron, and the delicious food served either indoors or out. As other have mentioned, the location is superb with a blue hole perfect for snorkeling or diving located 30 yards from the lobby. It was the perfect place to rest up from our travels in China. In addition, we had the pleasure of befriending some of the other guests staying and the Nautilus which enriched our experience. We plan to visit Kosrae again, hopefully for a longer stay, and there is no question that we would again choose the Nautilus Resort.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buford, Georgia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

I recently stayed here for two weeks during a business trip. The restaurant was open during hours that were convenient for me to eat before and after work each day. The staff was very friendly and were quick to learn my preferences. The pool was wonderful. The rooms were spacious, clean and comfortable. I had no problem during my stay and really enjoyed my time at the hotel. During our off day, we were able to arrange traditional Kosraen massages with one of the housekeepers. It was wonderful. This is definitely a place that really believes in hospitality and customer service.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaurenKayShaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
384 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

My favorite hotel during my island hopping adventure of Micronesia. The staff is very friendly and nice. The place is very clean and comfortable. It is only 16 rooms but almost seems your by yourself. The location is fabulous. It is right across from the Blue Hole, walking distance to Lelu island and Tofol. The grounds are very well maintained. The restaurant serves some awesome food. I am surprised more people do not visit here. It is a total island get away.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

Kosrae Nautilus Resort is delightful.
It is neat as a pin and very well run by Doug and Sally. The staff are friendly, the food is fabulous, the prices are reasonable and the rooms are clean and very comfortable.
I stayed for 8 wonderful days. Dived most mornings and had afternoons free to eat lunch, wander around, explore and chat to the locals. Doug doubles as dive master and he knows his stuff. Dives are well planned, equipment is good, boats are well laid out and shady, dive groups are small and the other dive staff are on the ball.
You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delaware, Ohio, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

In Nautilus we were surrounded by wonderful people. It was a great time getting to know people there -- everyone who worked there and those that live in the area. Although the other place we stayed at on the island was beautiful, it was more isolated and at Nautilus I felt like I had a better feel of what Kosrae is really like, a more opportunities to have conversations with people who live in Kosrae. We spent a lot of time at the beach across the street, especially during sunrise. The "blue hole" is right across the street, and there is magnificent sea life in it that we were able to see while snorkeling. We also spent a lot of time on the other side of Nautilus where there's a big, thriving garden and a mangrove channel (that we kayaked in! ). The food is really, really good. And so is the coffee. Another great aspect of Nautilus is its location, just down the road from the village of Lelu and not too far from Tofol.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank memmemn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kosrae
0.4 mi away
Pacific Treelodge Resort
2.9 mi away
Kosrae Village Ecolodge & Dive Resort
0.0 mi away
Ulithi Adventure Lodge
Ulithi Adventure Lodge
#1 of 1 in Falalop
5.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kosrae Nautilus Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kosrae Nautilus Resort

Property: Kosrae Nautilus Resort
Address: Kosrae 96944, Federated States of Micronesia
Phone Number:
Region: Federated States of Micronesia > Kosrae
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kosrae
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Kosrae Nautilus Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eighteen air-conditioned guest rooms and a restaurant, plus outside dining by the swimming pool. Full service NAUI dive shop, purpose built dive boats. Island tours arranged. The ideal location for business and pleasure travelers. Free airport transfers, and rental cars arranged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Kosrae Nautilus Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kosrae Nautilus Hotel Kosrae

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing