We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing, remote, very peaceful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kosrae Village Ecolodge & Dive Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kosrae
Reviewed 9 August 2010

We visited Kosrae as a family of 4 with 2 young children as part of an island hopper experience to Micronesia. Kosrae was our first stop. I was initially taken aback by how undeveloped and run down it was, but not the kind of poverty you experience in some asian and indian areas. It is almost as though the weather has just taken over, the humidity, if you are not used to it is intense, but we come from a hot country so it didn't prevent us from doing anything. Our stay at Kosrae Village Resort (KVR) was an adventure. Our kids loved it, it really was like staying on our own tropical island. Sure it looks pretty basic but all the modern amenities are there. The open shower with crabs clacking around below you when you have a shower was a highlight. The walk to the restaurant after dark was a daring dash (for our 5 year old!), with huge crabs attempting to waylay us on the path. The restaurant staffed by locals was a great place to finish each day. The staff were very chatty and the food was great. We also ate at the Nautilus for dinner and once for lunch and that was also very good. We arranged a jungle tour with a contact of Katrina's called Salek, who took us to the Menke ruins situated on land belonging to his family. That was one of our highlights of Kosrae and our entire trip to Micronesia. The hike took 5 hours, not that we noticed, we stopped at each river crossing for a swim, we ate every piece of fruit and nut we came across. Salek was a magnificent guide.

As a non scuba diving family we relied on finding snorkel sites from the shore line. This was probably not the best way to go and in hind site if Kosrae had been our last island to visit we would have had enough courage to go out in the dive boat to the open ocean to snorkel, which we ended up doing in Palau and Pohnpei, but at that early stage we just weren't that confident with ourselves or with the ability of our two children. So the snorkel experience wasn't great, we did view the big blue hole out the front of the Nautilus, it was ok but quite murky.

I would like to have been able to visit the other side of the island which at present is only accessible via boat for tourists and it's very expensive. We did try and negotiate with a local to take us over in a 4WD but on the day we were meant to go the vehicle had a flat tire. Perhaps if something like that can be arranged as a regular trip by KVR it would be great for non-divers or for those wanting to see more of the island.

The resort was an adventure, if you are after luxury it's not your thing, but as an eco resort it is truly wonderful. We also ended up hiring a car for 4 days which was fairly costly as there really isn't any other way to get around other than with taxis. At the time we stayed Katrina was on her own, I'm not sure if guests may get a bit more assistance getting to and from places when both owners are there, we did feel a little neglected and it would have been nice to have been taken to a good snorkelling spot with a local guide so that we could have felt a bit more comfortable swimming in a new environment. As far as we could see no locals swam, we did ask where kids went swimming and were met with puzzled expressions.

On the whole it's a fairly neglected part of the world but beautiful, and the fact that there are no snakes or leeches is a major high light for those who like hiking.

Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
2  Thank spiritlevel_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (50)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 50 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2010

Kosrae has one of the best reefs that I have seen in my 42 years of diving . It`s not damege my fun off farms or industrial waste . You will enjoy the diving and the layed back life sital

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carAnaheimCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2010

Lovely place to stay and run by very nice friendly couple. Went on a couple of trips organised by the hotel and they were very good too. Was especially pleased to find a history of Kosrae in my cottage and the fridge stocked with fresh fruit. What a nice surprise!

Stayed: January 2010
2  Thank Joanna_from_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2010

As sson as we arrrived the service was great, everyone was helpful and they wouldn't let me pack my own gear. This place is amazing, and you can hear the surf from anywhere in the resort. The rooms/cabins are of the same designe the natives used to live in, and are situated to catch the breeze from the ocean, which is just in front of the cabins. The food is top notch, and when we were lucky enough to bring in 2 yellow fin tuna. the chef cooked them up for us that night! the dive equipment and operators did a wounderful job on the 4 dives i was able to take, and when i had an insperation to rent a car in the middle of the dive trip Katrina was able to make a call and have a car ready for me before we were back to the resort. This is THE way to visit Kosrae!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KwajDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2009

Micronesia wasn't even on our short list of places to visit, but there was a 5-night stay at Kosrae Village that was offered on a local PBS station's travel auction -- and I bid and won, so off we went!

Even before we got to there, interaction with Katrina via email was great: she was always very prompt to respond, really sweet and courteous. She was very accommodating in switching our dates around and answering the myriad questions I had about the food, the weather, etc.

We chose to stay in the "VIP suite" since my husband is particularly sensitive to heat. However, all that makes this "VIP" is that there is an air conditioned room in the back where the bed is -- otherwise, this hut is virtually the same (maybe a bit bigger) than the others that are at this eco-resort.

The place is pretty rustic (hence the "eco-lodge" moniker), but that's why we loved it: a hut on an island out in the middle of the pacific ocean should be exactly what Bruce and Katrina have created!

The bed was comfortable. The water pressure was adequate. There were tons and tons of hermit crabs which provided hours of entertainment for us. We were literally steps from the ocean (especially at high tide). The restaurant was very good, providing a varied menu that kept us from getting bored (or seeking sustenance elsewhere), and considering the location and what it takes to get anything out there, all food and drink was really reasonably priced.

People should NOT come here expecting a plush experience with 600 thread count sheets, high speed internet access and icebox air conditioning, hot water on a dime and a bug-free existence. People SHOULD come here and expect to be treated like family, warmly welcomed, checked up on throughout your stay, and find it a place to relax and watch the tide go in and out.

Snorkeling was fantastic, and my husband enjoyed diving. The water is very clear and warm.

When we left, we exchanging hugs with Katrina and Bruce. We travel over 100,000+ air miles a year, staying about 3 months in hotels each year. I can say with certainty that there has never been another "hotel" where we've exchanged hugs with the proprietors!

We want to go back and explore more of Micronesia. We'll be sure to stay at Kosrae Village while on Kosrae!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank thebeerhunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2009

If you like scuba diving, swimming, etc., and eco-friendly - this is the place
Katrina and Bruce (owners) are so warm, friendly and charming and very accommodating - the diving is terrific and at the end of the dive day, they clean and store your gear for the next day - What a gem - I look forward to going back when time permits

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank queennyac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2009

It ain't the Plaza, but that's the point. You're out in nature, and it's wonderful. Katrina and Bruce make you feel like you are true house guests (but there is a bill, which by my estimation was good value for the buck) and they are there to enjoy your company as much as make sure you enjoy yourself.

Yes, it's rustic. No, there's no A/C. Don't go to the restaurant if you're in a hurry (but here, they always wait for you, so who's in a hurry anyway...) But that's all the reasons we came to Kosrae!

Food was good, and we were taken care of so well, that we ate all of our meals happily there too.

Overall, it was the service level that made this place far more than was expected. Great service, slow pace, middle of the jungle: you just have to relax.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ScubaScottNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Kosrae Village Ecolodge & Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kosrae Village Ecolodge & Dive Resort

Address: Teya, Kosrae 96944, Federated States of Micronesia
Region: Federated States of Micronesia > Kosrae
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kosrae
Price Range: £67 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kosrae Village Ecolodge & Dive Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Private thatched cottages on the ocean, a world class restaurant, our on-site PADI 5-star dive center and amazing service make an unbeatable combination for a rejuvenating and invigorating holiday. Add a wildly beautiful, remote, mountainous tropical island and you have the holiday of your dreams. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Kosrae Village Ecolodge & Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kosrae Village Ecolodge Dive Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing