We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ocean View Plaza Hotel
Reviews (37)
Filter reviews
37 results
Traveller rating
4
12
12
5
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
4
12
12
5
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrented a carocean sidewest wingrooms are cleanlarge roomthe main attractioncarsapartmentinternetrockkitchenfridgeworldbay
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 37 reviews
Reviewed 9 February 2012

On arrival in mid afternoon, there was no water. Staff shrugged their shoulders and basically said not our fault, it is the utility company. The water came back about 9pm. Morning: plenty of water but no electricity so a shower and shave in the dark. Staff shrugged their shoulders, not our problem. This sequence of events occurred on all three days of my visit. Now it is not all that unusual in small islands to have these kinds of problems, but every place else I have stayed where this happens (and in Manila it used to be a frequent problem) the staff provided a bucket or other container so water could be stored for flushing toilets and basic hand washing while the piped water is off. At each night stand there would be an electric lantern or candles and matches. Not at Ocean View. I won't say the staff was surly, actually most were pleasant and friendly but they were clearly demoralized and unresponsive to basic guest needs for light and water. To add insult to injury, the lovely large kitchenette/living room with its full sized refrigerator and large electric stove had zero utensils, dishes or cooking gear in the room. Many cabinets, but all empty. Not even a glass for drinking, I had to "borrow" one from the restaurant. It is a real shame that the management is so poor as the facility is lovely, the rooms are great and the location really nice. If someone who is a competent hotel manager took it over, it should be a great place. The one good thing: a reasonable price especially for the large room (really a suite) and great view from the restaurant and ocean side rooms. But bring your own bath water and portable light. One really good point though, they use split type air conditioners that are very quiet and as there is little external noise (at least on the side away from the bar), sleeping was very good.

Room Tip: While the ocean side view is really nice, it is also the side with the restaurant and bar and it can stay noisy until quite late. The "mountain" (really jungle) view side is very quiet at night and cheaper too. Enjoy the view from the restaurant, sleep in the mountain view room.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunnyguy61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2010

The employees are really nice and the food is good and reasonably priced. Having said that, I am debating whether or not to stay there when I go back. I got room # 7 and I will NEVER stay in it again. It probably used to be a gift shop or something and is BEYOND noisy. At night the phone rings and rings at the check-in desk and you can hear people checking in like they're in your room with you. As far as the view from my room went, one side looked into the lobby, the other a dingy little hallway with some washers and dryers in it, and the front view was of the fabulous parking lot. It could have been cleaner and the furniture definately needs updating.

They also rent cars. If you rent a car they will give you a discount on your room.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MightyMe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2009

I stayed at the Cliff Rainbow for the first 3 nights but decided to change hotels because the Ocean View is just that, wonderful views. I had the stuffed tuna with crab and it was great. Tried the sakau which is the local liquor but did not care for it so much, it tasted like dirty starch!

I stayed in the east wing, but next time I would stay in the west wing because of the restaurant staff. Also, I had to remind the people at the front desk on the east side to clean my room, after two days, they finally did. Also if you are traveling for business to Pohnpei bring a travel clock, neither the Cliff or Ocean had clocks in the rooms and the automatic wake-up calls sometimes did not work or staff forgots about putting it in the system.

I enjoyed this hotel and staff. You need to not worry about the lizards, bugs and cob webs in the room; this is life on the island. The minimum wage starts I think at $1.35 or $1.5 per hour. You may want to bring an umbrella since this is one of the wettest place on the planet, I just danced in the rain.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sierrared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2009

Before travelling to Pohnpei I attempted to review the hotel choices online, with little success. I decided on the Ocean View Plaza Hotel based on their website, location, and proximity to downtown.
The hotel is divided into East and West Wings, owned by the same family but managed by different members. I stayed in the West Wing, so this review is just for that wing. The hotels in Pohnpei are all 30 to 40 years old, but this one has been remodeled in the last 5 years or so.
The hotel is clean and well-kept, if a trifle "lived in", and the staff is very friendly and eager to help. Rooms are available on the mountain side and the sea side, but there isn't really any mountain view, just a busy highway. The ocean view side has a terrific view of the harbor from several hundred feet up the mountain, with your own private balcony to enjoy it from.
After spending one night on the mountain side we moved to the ocean side, from a double (2 bedrooms and living room/kitchen) to a single (living room/bedroom/kitchen). Both had full size refrigerator, electric range, and sink. Standard ~25" color TV with 25 or so cable channels, tile floors, high slanted ceilling, and large sliding glass doors to the balcony. The baths were large with new sinks and toilets, and large (3'x5') tiled shower. While the water pressure was not great, it proved adequate. Each room has it's own water heater which was good for almost two average showers. Don't dally about if you're 2nd in line.
The queen size beds are the only disappointing part, being a few years past their prime. If you're a finicky sleeper you may have trouble here, but I'm not sure you'd fare any better at the other hotels. Be sure to ask before making reservations!
The hotel has a small bar and an excellent restaurant in the lobby, with a large veranda overlooking the harbor that makes for a wonderful dining experience. The menu is varied, and I never had a bad meal there (more than I can say for the much more expensive Village). The fish spring rolls are a delight! The service is good, although the food can be a trifle slow arriving. This IS the islands, after all.
The hotel is an easy walk from downtown Kolonia, with gift shops and such all along the way. Cars can be rented at the hotel for $45 to $75 a day (econobox to SUV), but taxi's are just $1 a head to anywhere in the city or $2 each to outlying areas. The taxi drivers will also give you day-long island tours for $60 to $80.
There are bars and entertainment nearby, but the hotel-owned nightclub, Rumors, has closed again.
All in all, I had a good time at this hotel and would gladly stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank thebeeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2008

Beware!!!!!!!!!!!
7 hours after checking into the East wing of the hotel I was robbed. Yes, someone broke into my room with me in it.
After talking to the police this is not an unusual occurance and the hotel personel never warned me about making sure all the windows and doors were secure. The door locks do not work.
Even though the hotel management is aware of this they have failed to hire a security night watchman.
My advise is to stay away!!!!!!!!!

Stayed: December 2008, travelled on business
8  Thank mrelec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews