We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect relaxation and cultural experience in beautiful Yap”
Review of Village View Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Yap
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Village View Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Yap
Reviewed 14 January 2012

We spent three days in the Village View Resort on the way from Palau. We are quite well travelled, also to remote and exotic places, but Yap is one of the greatest experiences in our life. Most of this amazing experience is due to the Vilage View Resort and its owner Alex.

As already noted in other reviews, the Village View Resort is located in a remote place, in the very North of the Yap island, and this greatly adds to its unique charm. You are actually in a middle of a Yapese village, you go from your cottage to the restarant and dive shop by village road accompanied by the many friendly village dogs and chicken. At the same time you have all the Western comforts, including air conditioner and hot shower in you cotage which is located right on the beach.

The owner Al, who personally met us in the airport, took us to amazingly interesting land tour to other villages, stone money banks and other beautiful places in Yap. It seems that Al knows everybody on the island so all the doors are opened when you travel together with him. When we expressed interet in tasting the locally made palm wine, he arranged it from one of his relatives. When we asked for fresh fish, he just asked one of our dive masters to go fishing and we had fresly cought jack fish for the dinner! It was amazing service, which you rarelly have even in 5 star hotels!!!

Add to this the unique diving with Mantas, the very authentic and beautiful cultural tour to one of the villages with local girls and boys dancing in the traditional dresses and you have the holidays of your lifetime.

Thank you, Al, we have felt in love with Yap and will keep it in our hearts!!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VinetaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (24)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 24 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2010

Stayed here for 4 nights . its about a 35 minute drive from the airport , the good thing about this location is that its the only resort/ hotel with a beach on the island !! believe it or not ! very peacful ( apart from the occasional building work to one of the bungalows ) beautiful beach , diving and nice friendly restuarant and diving centre staff , the diving centre and restuarant are actually owned by a Japanese owner called Daiskue , the resort is owned by a local guy . The best time for diving or spotting the Mantas is Dec - April , but still great diving outside these months . It really is Robinson crusoe / Mutiny on the bounty territory !! A great place for a solo traveler or a couple , easy to meet people and make friends , diving or relaxing with a drink in the evening . The only minor downside is if you want to snorkel off the resort beach , it isnt so good . But i am actually thinking of going again , possibly in March .

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chudds32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2010

it is one of the best experince in my life. the place is very far from the Colonia ( 30 min by car) and is on a great sandy beach.And that's all.This is the reason to go there. relax and nature. The resort is iINSIDE a typical Yapese village. there is a good diving center (Say hallo to Mike if you go there). The restaurant is perfect ( say hallo to Alex, the goog chef, and his wife if you go there). and The owner is very kind.( Say hallo to Al). The experience was really good. Stay no more than 3 -4 days, because after could be a little boring...I think is one of the place of the world that is quite intact.
The rooms are very clean with a/c A negative note: the water is too shallow and with some green algs....but this is the price of the pristine nature!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sicisub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2010

A friend and visited Yap recently, spending three nights at Traders' Ridge in the downtown area of Colonia. But I found Village View online and thought it would be an interesting experience for our final night/day in Yap.

The important thing about Village View is understanding what it is and isn't. It is a set of five beachfront duplex bungalows in a remote village about 30 minutes from Colonia. There is a dive shop here, with a restaurant that is open all day. That is it -- if you're looking for tourist sites, shopping, luxury, etc., stay in Colonia. But if you want to scuba dive and/or relax on a beachfront while doing absolutely nothing (and loving every minute of it), this is the place for you.

Village View is located in a village called Wacholab, which we learned consists of the owner's extended family. The owner, Al, who is very friendly and accommodating, picked us up at Traders' Ridge the evening we checked out (and he will pick up guests from the airport, as well). We drove through rural roads, first paved then unpaved, to the village. Al offered to stop at one of the roadside stores along the way, but we had already picked up some bottled water and snacks for the stay. We arrived at the bungalow and settled in for the night. The bungalow reminded me of a campground cabin -- it appears very worn, yet it is clean, has a private bathroom and air conditioning, and a veranda that wraps around it. Other than a bar of soap, bathroom tissue and some towels, no other toiletries are provided, so be sure to bring your own.

We were only staying one night and all of the following day, before catching a flight to Palau. We spent the day reading on our veranda, walking and lounging on the beach, and exploring some of the village. It was a perfect way to relax on the trip. The dive shop's restaurant (Moon Rize) had quite an extensive menu for the limited number of people it serves, and the food was good. We met several other guests -- all were from Canada or Australia, and were scuba divers. They were enjoying their stays as well.

The cost was very affordable: I believe it was $85 for the night, plus $25 for the late check-out (for us, 8 p.m.). (Cash or traveler's check only.) At the end of the day, Al drove us to the airport for our next flight. Village View could certainly use a few cosmetic touch-ups, but it was a neat experience within an incredible tropical setting.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pennmike1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2009

Our visit to Village View was very relaxing. It is remote. The drive from the airport took a while, but Al opened the moonroof and we have never seen so many stars! Also stopping by a local store for provisions (wine, water, fruit) on the way to the hotel was a good call. The units are well constructed, and relaxing on the deck just feet from the beach and waterfront was great. The beach is narrow, but the snorkeling offshore is amazing (still far enough from shore that it is best to get there by boat, perhaps on the way back from Miil Channel where the mantas visit, as we did). Sunrise Cafe was very enjoyable! The gingan juice was wonderful! Also take enough cash/travelers checks - Village View did not accept credit cards when we were there.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pactrip09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2009

We chose Village View Resort, in the village of Wacholab, as an escape even from the few tourists that visit this tiny island. Though not fancy, Village View offers a truly unique Yapese experience. It's set in the middle of a village along one of the only beaches in the State. High tide doesn't leave much beach for laying on, though in the evenings the water recedes quite a bit, leaving plenty of beach to explore (with a lot of sea grass just off shore!). The bungalows are duplex- style with a large porch wrapping all the way around. The accommodations aren't fancy, but are sufficient. A typhoon 10 years ago nearly wiped the resort out and they are still recovering. They have a great little restaurant and dive shop down the road. The staff is very friendly and willing to help make your stay more enjoyable. Dollar for dollar, this place is almost 75% less than Trader's Ridge. If you like being immersed in the culture and don't need a pool or fancy ammenities, you'd like this place.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ljengen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kuli4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Village View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village View Hotel

Address: Yap 96943, Federated States of Micronesia
Region: Federated States of Micronesia > Yap
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Yap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing