We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rustic Paradise”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Yap
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Village View Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Yap
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Rustic Paradise”
Reviewed 19 February 2014

The Village View is a collection of five duplex cottages on the prettiest, most remote beach on Maap Island in Yap State. The cottages are roomy, rustic and right on the beach. They are not fancy, and don't have TVs or phones, but they have power and good water pressure and A/C, which is all you will need. The cottages have wrap-around porches, for sitting and watching sunsets, and listening to the chickens pick around under the houses. It's an idyllic place, and the owner--Al--could not be more accommodating and warm and friendly. There is a good restaurant right across the street, a small shop with snacks and drinks available, and a dive shop where you can arrange dive or snorkel trips, or even day trips to island villages.
The time I spent here was one of the most wonderful week's of my life!

Room Tip: The cottages are all the same, but the ones closer to the restaurant are a little less quiet. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Quin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    11
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
10
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

The resort is made up of several small bungalows right on a lovely sandy beach. When you walk out the door you can step onto the beach or step onto a small road facing stunning tropical plantings. If you walk a few minutes down the road you will find the village chief working on building a canoe and passing his expertise along to younger Yapese.
We have stayed in many hotels and bed and breakfasts around the world, but nothing like this. You really feel that you are living in a traditional village / tropical paradise / beach bum's dreamscape.
You do not need to be a diver to love being there.
One final note: great water pressure in the shower!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 74Susan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Piqua, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 June 2013

I had a great time here. Most of the hotels on Yap are in the town, Colonia. However Village View is up north in a village...and right on the beach. The bungalows are showing some wear, but clean. No luxury, but you are sitting on the bungalow balcony about 40 feet from the ocean (closer at high tide). There is one resturant and one dive shop in the village. Everyone is friendly and helpful. The owner, Al, arranged a trip to traditional dance show and a sail on on a traditional canoe from the village. The resturant closes around 9pm and there is no internet. So there is nothing going on at night. I give it 5 dots because it was perfect for what I was looking for, ocean views, quite, scuba diving, and friendly, genuine people. I planned to stay at Village View 3 nights and in Colonia 4 night. But after leaving I missed the place, so I went back for my last night on Yap.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidBintang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Bayern, Germany
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

The title says it all. All other hostels and hotels in Yap are not located at a beach - water maybe, but no beach. The bungalows are roomy and 4 people fit in easily. Everything is clean and the cleaning lady is lovely. You also have a fridge to cool breakfast stuff or water and soda.
Talking about food: the restaurant attached to the resort is outstanding. I hardly can remember such good food coming out of such a small and simple kitchen. Just work down the menu, you ll be surprised about the flavors and taste!

The resort is located very remotely on the northeast corner of the island. There is nothing to do except relaxing, diving, swimming and eating. Bring a book and you ll wind down very easily

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Athics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

If you’ve a few days to spend at Yap, this is a very good peaceful place to visit. The beach is one of the only sandy ones and very beautiful. The houses can use some rebuilding, but as you’re always outside, this wasn’t a problem to us. The restaurant is very good (we even had some cooking lessons because we wanted to make the delicious food at home) and they’ve their own travel agency that can arrange diving, snorkeling and nature tours. It’s also very easy to walk to the neighboring villages. There’s an amazing reef in front of the cottages that you can walk to to snorkel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luigi-e-Ralfonzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2012

We spent three days in the Village View Resort on the way from Palau. We are quite well travelled, also to remote and exotic places, but Yap is one of the greatest experiences in our life. Most of this amazing experience is due to the Vilage View Resort and its owner Alex.

As already noted in other reviews, the Village View Resort is located in a remote place, in the very North of the Yap island, and this greatly adds to its unique charm. You are actually in a middle of a Yapese village, you go from your cottage to the restarant and dive shop by village road accompanied by the many friendly village dogs and chicken. At the same time you have all the Western comforts, including air conditioner and hot shower in you cotage which is located right on the beach.

The owner Al, who personally met us in the airport, took us to amazingly interesting land tour to other villages, stone money banks and other beautiful places in Yap. It seems that Al knows everybody on the island so all the doors are opened when you travel together with him. When we expressed interet in tasting the locally made palm wine, he arranged it from one of his relatives. When we asked for fresh fish, he just asked one of our dive masters to go fishing and we had fresly cought jack fish for the dinner! It was amazing service, which you rarelly have even in 5 star hotels!!!

Add to this the unique diving with Mantas, the very authentic and beautiful cultural tour to one of the villages with local girls and boys dancing in the traditional dresses and you have the holidays of your lifetime.

Thank you, Al, we have felt in love with Yap and will keep it in our hearts!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VinetaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2010

Stayed here for 4 nights . its about a 35 minute drive from the airport , the good thing about this location is that its the only resort/ hotel with a beach on the island !! believe it or not ! very peacful ( apart from the occasional building work to one of the bungalows ) beautiful beach , diving and nice friendly restuarant and diving centre staff , the diving centre and restuarant are actually owned by a Japanese owner called Daiskue , the resort is owned by a local guy . The best time for diving or spotting the Mantas is Dec - April , but still great diving outside these months . It really is Robinson crusoe / Mutiny on the bounty territory !! A great place for a solo traveler or a couple , easy to meet people and make friends , diving or relaxing with a drink in the evening . The only minor downside is if you want to snorkel off the resort beach , it isnt so good . But i am actually thinking of going again , possibly in March .

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chudds32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yap hotels
0.0 mi away
Manta Ray Bay Resort
Manta Ray Bay Resort
#1 of 5 in Colonia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
0.0 mi away
Yap Pacific Dive Resort
Yap Pacific Dive Resort
#5 of 5 in Colonia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ulithi Adventure Lodge
Ulithi Adventure Lodge
#1 of 1 in Falalop
5.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village View Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village View Resort

Property: Village View Resort
Address: P.O. Box 1386, Yap 96943-1386, Federated States of Micronesia
Region: Federated States of Micronesia > Yap
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Yap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing