We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place to relax on Yap”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Manta Ray Bay Resort
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Colonia
Certificate of Excellence
Naples, Italy
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice place to relax on Yap”
Reviewed 30 June 2013

This was my second time on Yap. Unfortunately, the weather kept the mantas away, but we still had a pleasant trip. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful, helped us to arrange a land tour. The dive shop was tidy and had good places to hang all gear, and the dive staff were fantastic. Very accomodating with specific requests and did their best to deliver the diving we hoped for. The breakfast was tasty and we ate virtually all our meals (and plenty beverages) on the Balinese-ship-turned-restaurant out front.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drdiver79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    204
    75
    10
    8
    2
See reviews for
33
91
51
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sagamihara, Japan
Level Contributor
154 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

My only complaint is that I can't be there more often. GREAT service, GREAT guides, GREAT diving. There is no request that is too much for the staff to handle. I've been there twice and can't wait to go again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto Alegre, RS, Brazil
Level Contributor
112 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

I should perhaps begin by saying I and my family are strongly biased towards this hotel - having been there three times already and, thanks to the kindness of the owners, having decided to get married in Yap, which we did in May 31st. But what I must say to fellow travellers here is that over the years the quality of the hotel and its services have only improved. Staying at Manta Ray Bay, diving with the resident manta rays (and sharks, and nudibranchs, and corals, and sharks, etc. etc.), and getting to know the kindness of the Yapese people in the streets is worth the trip from anywhere in the world. I highly recommend it for anyone who loves nature, culture and great accommodation on an island. free of western society´s worries, and I and my Family look forwrad to get back there as soon as feasible!

Room Tip: We loved staying in the ground floor rooms with the private plunge pool facing the bay and the small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JTPalazzoJr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013

Stayed here while passing through, and a really nice hotel. Staff are really friendly and will help you with anything you need doing. Had a lovely view from hotel room. My room had a manta ray theme, maybe the other did too. Large comfortable bed. Food was served on a boat tied up to the hotel, and the service was excellent. Hotel also has an outdoor pool and there and plenty of spa treatments to choose from. If you are into diving then this place I'd highly recommended as they have the own diving centre.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stuartbowman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013 via mobile

We spent a week at MRBR, with 5 days of diving. There is almost nothing that could have been any better! The staff is the most genuinely friendly we've ever encountered; their default answer to any question is "yes" or "however you want"; frequently checking to make sure everything was just the way we wanted.

Rooms are spacious and airy, all amenities well thought out (there is even a drain hole in the shower soap dish so your soap doesn't get soggy!). We had a water-view room & I'd recommend that -- lovely to watch sunset from our balcony.

The only minor negative to be aware of is that Internet is expensive, slow/intermittent, and available only in the lobby.

The restaurant has a limited selection (understandable when food has to be shipped in from far away) but everything we tried was good. Breakfast buffet has a wide selection including house-made pastries, eggs made-to-order and pancakes. Special requests were cheerfully accommodated if the item was available. The open-air bar is a great place to visit with other guests.

The dive operation -- wow. First the shop: we each had our own cubby where the crew stowed our rinsed gear each day; we were responsible only for our wetsuits. Camera folks: you will have your own personal workspace complete with multiple charging receptacles, magnifying glass, chamois cloth, & pressure air nozzle for drying, plus lockable storage underneath.

Boats are designed for only a few divers; our max was seven, usually less. Longest ride to a site was about 30 min; most were much shorter. Fresh banana bread for surface intervals! Dive guides are local, expert, and happily tailor trips to divers' interests. I won't go into dive details since you can read them in the web, other than to say all superlatives are true.

Very few places make our "must-return" list; this is one of them!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adair N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountain View, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013

This was the best trip of my life and I will be coming back. Select one of the room on the first floor 101 or 102 which have private cabana.

The diving is wonderful. The dive boat will take you anytime you want to go. Even if there is just one person that want to go.

The dive spots are just on the other side of the German Channel, which is fun ride thru the mangrove and the occasional pieces of stone money .

Room Tip: select any room in the original building - but they were all beautiful. There are two rooms on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jbackel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuuk, Greenland
Level Contributor
108 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013

Best place in Colonia, stayed on Yap for a month. And had a blast at Manta Ray, the staff is really service minded, they remember your name always takes the time to talk to you and help out with any problem their might be.
Attached to the resort they have a spa, diveshop, restaurant and a bar. The restaurant and bar is on a old boat they anchored in the bay infront of the hotel. Great place to meet other divers or yatch people, get a beer and talk to other divers. Have a certain drink everyday at reduced cost, and happy hour from 4 to 6.
Great place, i loved it!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DigerTheTiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Manta Ray Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manta Ray Bay Resort

Property: Manta Ray Bay Resort
Address: P.O. Box MR | Fsm, Colonia, Yap 96943-0850, Federated States of Micronesia
Region: Federated States of Micronesia > Yap > Colonia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Colonia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Manta Ray Bay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Manta Ray Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manta Ray Bay Colonia
Manta Ray Bay Resort Yap/Colonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing