We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great dive resort.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Manta Ray Bay Resort
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Colonia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 April 2014

The resort is lovely. It is beautifully decorated and comfortable. People are very helpful and friendly. I had a wonderful few days of diving and enjoyed just hanging around relaxing. It was so nice to just have time to dive and enjoy the amazing animals and plants in the sea. The manta rays are the star attraction and they do not disappoint. I had the cuttlefish room and since I love cuttlefish it was a nice surprise to see all the decor in cuttlefish motif. I imagine the other rooms are similarly decorated with other sea creatures. My room had a balcony with a lovely view where I could watch the gorgeous sunset. It was also nice to just relax around the pool. The house made micro brew beer is excellent. Nice job!

Room Tip: I liked my cuttlefish room. Didn't see any others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mauimermaid14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (333)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

175 - 181 of 333 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2014

I stayed at Manta Ray back in 1999 and had a great time. The owners really put a lot of money and care into the creation of this renovated hotel...wow. We had a great time with all the staff throughout. Missed the owners as they were in Brazil but not to worry as staff was really cool. I stayed in 306 which was an end unit suite...very nice and the rock shower was the bomb. Yap was one of four stop overs and a good 4 day trip. The best diving outside of Mantas is a 30 min boat trip to the end of the island but worth it as the hard corals are fantastic. These were my favorite dives but we did the shark and manta deal as well. Had a great time chewing beetle nuts, drinking Tuba, and visiting folks in the village. We brought a bunch of games, coloring books, and blinky light deals with us and handed them out to kids are various homes in the surrounding village...this is something I would suggest to everyone as it was a great way to meet the locals.

O'Keefs bar has changed a lot but still right across the street and good for a beer. You can also eat some really good Chinese across the street as well. Yes, it was a bit warm inside the ship restaurant at the hotel but we simply took our food outside and it was great. Food is pretty basic on Yap as it is really remote but all was good and no problems. Yes, the internet is slow but that goes with any of the FSM islands...no worries just chew a nut and relax. Past that, I would recommend this place and once again, the staff really made us feel welcome and we have a lot of memories thanks to them.

Again, great hotel

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are good but I always go for a suite and balcony if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelerOrangeCounty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

My wife and I have seen YAP Divers and the Manta Ray Resort at the dive shows for many years. So we took a group of 8 others on a sight, unseen trip there after a week in Palau. Though the menu is limited, there are a few other small restaurants nearby. I wish I was still the. Get room 300!!! Just don't run for the phone while in the mid-room shower. Do the following:

Drink a beer with Bill the owner at happy hour and talk with Ian in the dive shop. They cannot do enough for you.
Take Stella and Richard's 4 hour island tour. Wonderful experience. They are wonderful people that are very proud of their country.
Dive with Gordon and William. (And I'm sure all the others are great) Though it's not a fancy boat, it's not just about the diving. These men were great above and below.
Eat at least one of each of the items on the menu. Texas style burgers are the best in the Pacific.
Sit in the pool and do nothing. Ring the bell!
Learn the staff's names as they will know yours very quickly.
Get a massage with Ian and enjoy the spa. Nicest of any dive resort in the world.
Leave a nice gratuity as these people deserve it.

There were a few service mix ups when ordering but we were a large group. The air conditioning in the breakfast area could be better. The Internet is slow, but TOO bad, you are in the middle of nowhere and shouldn't need it. We need to go back for longer visit.

Room Tip: Get ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dhinman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

In late Jan/early February 2014, we spent seven nights at the MRBR and dove with Yap Divers. The hotel was great, and staff fantastic. We were upgraded to bay view rooms - I’d definitely recommend a room with a balcony. The dive operation was efficient and well organized. We unfortunately had a bit of bad weather so that limited dive site locations on a few of the days, but we were able to see the mantas, and dive Vertigo and Yap Caverns, two great dive sites. Also enjoyed the half-day kayak tour. The Mnuw staff were always welcoming and made us feel right at home. As we were celebrating birthdays, the staff arranged a special dinner– it was great. Yap was as expected – relaxing and friendly. I’d highly recommend Yap as a dive destination, and MRBR.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelermarin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We visited the Manta Ray Bay Resort with a group of four diver (under water photographer and viodeographer) in Febaury 2014.
Great resort, with spacious rooms, very clean and very, very friendly staff - all over good service. As we visited in low season we had a good variety of a la carte breakfast menue, lunch & dinner choice limited, no veggie options.
Superb spa with great massage therapist IAN.
In house dive centre "Yap Divers" very well organised and safe, full costumer satisfaction guarantee. Great boat and dive crew with NICO and TONY, they did everything to make our dives even more enjoyable. Very cabable dive centre mangager JAN. Unforgetable dives with gentle manta rays at the "Stammtisch" and thrilling shark dives at "Vertigo". Nice sites at "Yap cavern", "Lion fish wall" and "Cabbage patch". Georgeous mandarin fish at "Rainbow Reef".
If you plan diving around Yap you should definitely stay and dive at the Manta Ray Bay Resort and Yap Divers.

Room Tip: We would recommend the Ocean View rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Valerija V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

my husband and i had a wonderful stay at this resort. they have it all figured out! airport pick up, luggage to room, cool cloth and cold water on bus, mini tour of hotel/dive shop, friendly staff - it was great! eating all three meals on the ship could get a little redundant, but you felt at home when all the wait staff knew your name, room number, and your "usual" (maria, lilly, and jose are awesome!). blackened sashimi and french fries are delish! while there isn't much of a choice for dive resorts on yap, this place does it right. we stayed in room 200, which was at one end of the floor so we faced the street but was never too noisy to keep us up. the stone shower in the room was amazing. the whole facility is extremely clean too. the dive guide/capt (alex and kintu) set up our dive gear each morning, it was done before we got on the boat! and they did it, without being asked, in between dives - what service! our boat wasn't crowded, 5 divers, and the sites were spectacular. untouched coral, tons of colorful fish, mantas, sharks, nudibranchs - very good stay all around! highly recommend!! oh! and i LOVED how they had a spa- nothing like a nice bath and massage on your off gas day! ian was the best! while small and cozy, this place has it all. i'd definitely return!! AND the staff is very accomodating. ask about anything! and bring a laptop so you can surf the net - they give you a cable you can use in your room ($10) but it is given back to you upon return of the cable, which is really nice. also for those that get sea sick, double up on meds! can get really windy out there depending on what time of year you go!

Room Tip: our delux room was very spacious. ask for one if you're more like a "homebody" and lik...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mizeryztool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

we have sprent a week in the hotel and for diving it is a very good spot with super friendly and helpful staff both in the hotal as well the dive masters and boat drivers. About Yap we expected to see more dive spots/ claening stations but the ones we have seen gave absolute value for money. Having a big ship as bar and restaurant is a very nice additional. However in the ship, the smell of food (old) is everywhere and starts to be enoying after 2 days. We value the hotel not as a five star but it did absolutelly serve our purpose of manta diving and relaxing!!

the minor point of the hotel is that the bed we got gave us hard nights because of a sore back.

Room Tip: take room 106 as being reasonably large, private plungepool and a hard bed!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Esther1606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Manta Ray Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manta Ray Bay Resort

Address: Colonia, Yap 96943-0850, Federated States of Micronesia
Region: Federated States of Micronesia > Yap > Colonia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Colonia
Price Range: £149 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Manta Ray Bay Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Manta Ray Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manta Ray Bay Colonia
Manta Ray Bay Resort Yap/Colonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing