We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievable find!!”
Review of Matanuska Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sutton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Matanuska Lodge
AUSTIN
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Unbelievable find!!”
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We were so delighted to stay here. The Lodge and room were beautiful and very scenic. The view, the very comfortable bed, the Jacuzzi tub, the separate shower==everything was perfect! Brenda and her 2 friends who also helped out were all delightful. Breakfast was made to order and delicious. The grounds were carefully manicured and were so appealing. They gave us great travel advice which we took and loved the Lulu Belle boat in Valdez. This was the nicest place we stayed in on our 6 week trip to Alaska from Texas. We are only sorry we stayed only one night. It requires 2 nights to appreciate this lovely spot.

Room Tip: We stayed in the room on the main floor with a door out to the huge deck. It was superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluebuggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
64
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

This was the perfect place to take a break and just enjoy being in Alaska. The lodge is a great place to relax, is right across the street from the glacier, and has a lake in the backyard. We were welcomed with a moose grazing in the yard.

This is a beautiful lodge and the owner, Brenda has made it her "Queendom" She has many art pieces, treasures, painted furniture and fun quotation boards decorating the lodge. Our bedroom and large bathroom were fabulous. The breakfasts were delicious and generous. We stayed in the room by the kitchen and never heard a sound from Patty and Elliott, who were preparing breakfast.

Our room opened up to the spacious, wrap around deck, our favorite part of the house. It was the perfect place to sit, read, enjoy the view. There is also a great hot tub. If you stay at the lodge, don't miss the most beautiful garage in Alaska, complete with a pool table on the second level.

We enjoyed taking the canoe out for a paddle on the lake. There are also kayaks and a paddleboat.

Brenda goes out of her way to make sure her guests enjoy their stay. We so enjoyed talking with her, Patty and Elliott. They were the perfect hosts.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindainOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 13 August 2013

My night spent at the lodge was amazing, Brenda is such a friendly and attentive hostess and an AMAZING cook! Everything I ate there was fantastic and you definitely don't go away from any meal able to eat another bite. The room was great, the bathroom luxurious and the hot tub was a definite bonus. The whole place has a very home-y feel to it and is clean and neat (with awesome decor). I would highly recommend this place to anyone passing through glacier view, and I will certainly be coming back if I'm ever in the area again

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AriRensink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katy, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Matanuska Lodge is a must if you are even remotely close to this location. What a treat! What do I comment on first . . . the wonderful, warm people there or the crazy accommodations or the ultimate view? Brenda is an artist and the lodge reflects her vision. Everyone there was warm and wonderful! We couldn't have wished for anything else. The view is spectacular, the glacier from one angle and a whimsical lake with the mountains as a back drop for the other. Add a steamy hot tub and voila . . . a little piece of heaven.

Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ginny0015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridgefield, Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We fell in love with the lodge and wonderful folks who made our time so nice. Brenda and staff made us, and my brother and wife, who they graciously allowed to stay in their camper on their property, feel SO welcomed and special. Loved our room, views, dogs (with General in charge), wonderful food, the lake and warmth from all. I can't wait to return, in fact I'm bringing my co-workers out for one night at the end of this month to experience at least one night at the lodge. We thank you all!!!
Warmly, Peggy and Rob, Connecticut

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peggy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We unfortunately only spent one night this July, but wish we could have stayed longer. Every inch of the log house is decorated with Brenda's whimsical but tasteful touch. The bed was seriously more comfortable than my bed at home - I've been tempted to email her to see what kind it is! We stayed in the room right off the kitchen which was a tad bit awkward as there is a lot of activity in that area. Next time (and there will be a next time) we would prefer to stay in an upstairs room. Breakfast was amazing and she even packed snacks for us for our glacier trek (also a must-do with Mica tours). I feel like this place is definitely a hidden gem. It would make for a very relaxing vacation any time of year.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms would be a bit more private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimberle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We stayed three nights and wished we could have stayed much longer. We arrived near the end of our vacation, and I had been anticipating that my wife would be blown away by our room and its setting; she was. Brenda has created an amazingly romantic getaway, with countless delightful touches in the decor and an ambience of total welcome and relaxation. Plus a lot of humor.There are four unique rooms as well as the main room and all sorts of places outdoors to sit back and enjoy being surrounded by mountains. There's even a small lake. The lodge is on the beautiful Glenn Highway, within sight of Matanuska Glacier, so there is much to see nearby. Brenda serves a super breakfast; there are restaurants a few miles to the east for other meals. But I recommend it mainly as a place to just luxuriate for as many days as your travel plans allow. We saw many awesome things in Alaska, but if we ever go back, it would be mainly to spend more time at Matanuska Lodge.

Room Tip: The two upper rooms may cost a bit more; ours was worth it.
See more room tips
Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Evan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Matanuska Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matanuska Lodge

Property: Matanuska Lodge
Address: 34301 W Glenn Hwy, Sutton, AK
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Sutton
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Sutton
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing