We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfortable rooms, but...”
Review of Talkeetna Motel

Talkeetna Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Talkeetna
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Talkeetna Motel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Talkeetna
perry, ga
Level Contributor
124 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“comfortable rooms, but...”
Reviewed 25 June 2013

the worse thing about this motel is that one checks in at a bar right beside the very small motel...a very smokey bar! The motel was in process of renovation when we arrived and it was pretty scarey....we thought we had made a huge mistake by booking rooms here. However, the rooms were a great surprise....not ready when we arrived slightly after scheduled time but they were very comfortable and clean....owner/manager/cleaner was quite nice but slightly intimidating. I would not stay here again simply because you have to go into the smokey bar area for check-ins, ice, etc....good location for viewing the "mountain", walking all over town, and down to river.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mville8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    21
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
9
21
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

Stayed here for work- The women who runs it is very nice and hospitable but the rooms are pretty brutal. Something was running on the roof at night and the rooms was creaking. Don't know how else to descrive it- just creaking. I'm sitting on the bed right now and it could use a new mattress. Just came back from a night on the mountain and in my experience that means any room should feel awesome but this one didn't cut it. Hopefully it's cheap but I think it's more for the climbers who just need a warm room at a low rate. They're renovating right now and with any luck the hotel rooms will soon match the friendliness of the owner.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EonCarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hagerstown, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2012

The room was really nice, the owners were very friendly, it is not a fancy motel but considering other places we stayed in Alaska - it is great for the price, we caould walk to the river and to town - nice location and not on the main street

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyCampermeckl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mililani HI
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

We spent one night in Talkeetna on our way from Denali to Seward. We were pleasantly surprised to find this place is a real gem. We arrived quite early in the day but the owner showed us to our room. He said he always heats the rooms and turns the tv on so guests will feel welcome. The room was immaculate. Brand new bathroom floor to ceiling. Room had microwave, fridge, coffee/tea, writing desk and free wifi and satellite tv. This motel is very centrally located in this artsy Alaska town.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank PatGMililaniHI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
227 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

This motel is reasonable value. The room was very clean with a comfortable bed. All you need for a one night stopover. There is free wifi which works well, no breakfast, however a couple of places in town, so it isn't a problem.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gazza53255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seabrook, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2012 via mobile

I have to agree with the other reviews. Don't judge this book by its cover. When we pulled up, the sign for the hotel was propped up against the wall and it looked like a total dive. We were so surprised to find a very clean, tidy room with a practically new bathroom. Not many bells and whistles, but a clean room with blackout curtains which are essential for Alaska in the summer.

Stayed July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Debbie1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kernersville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Don't be turned off by the outside. It's on a side street in small,,,small Talkeetna. The room was clean and small, but big enough for th 2 of us. Bathroom was newer and updated. There is a small microwave and fridge. The is no AC, just a fan. Great shower, nice cup of coffee and breakfast at the Talkeetna Roadhouse down the street that's all you need.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Like2travel869
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Talkeetna hotels
0.4 mi away
Swiss-Alaska Inn Talkeetna
1.2 mi away
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge
#1 of 5 in Talkeetna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
0.1 mi away
Talkeetna Cabins
Talkeetna Cabins
#3 of 5 in Talkeetna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Talkeetna Roadhouse
Talkeetna Roadhouse
#3 of 17 in Talkeetna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
10.3 mi away
Talkeetna Denali View Lodge & Cabins
0.5 mi away
Chinook Wind Cabins
Chinook Wind Cabins
#9 of 17 in Talkeetna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Talkeetna Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talkeetna Motel

Property: Talkeetna Motel
Address: Box 115, Talkeetna, AK 99676-0115
Region: United States > Alaska > Talkeetna
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Talkeetna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
Talkeetna Motel Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing