We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shelter from the storm”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Talkeetna
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
House of Seven Trees
Ranked #6 of 17 Talkeetna B&B and Inns
Jupiter, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Shelter from the storm”
Reviewed 16 August 2010

We stumbled upon this unique hostel in Talkeetna when all the other Inns had no vacancies. After going down the list of possible choices, as there are some places that would make you ill, we found the "House of Seven Trees" after a waitress mentioned the place. We were greeted by a cautious but lovely older women, named Pat, who was full of the love for life that we embraced as well. This is a non assuming home with private rooms inside and a bunk house outside. Not to mention a gourmet kitchen that is available for guest to prepare a meal and two clean bath rooms with an abundance of hot water. We opted for the room and loved it. Take the time to get to know the owner, Pat McGee and her dog Mac, and you will be fulfilled with a wealth of local and worldly knowledge that only comes from a lifetime of adventure and spirit. My hats off to this one.
Bill and Sam from Jupiter,Fla.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seasidesam56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    6
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
11
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Talkeetna, Alaska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 July 2010

Oh man! Pat McGee is an AMAZING WOMAN!!! She's so warm and welcoming and the beds are great and the rooms are awesome and Talkeetna is BEAUTIFUL!! There's no SMELL or awkward managers who badger you. Take my word for it!! Next time I stroll through Talkeetna, House of Seven Trees is my new home away from home!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank st_pete007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nonyabizznizz
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2010

I was traveling through alaska. I stayed a night and instantly i was confronted with many questions and all i wanted was a place to sleep for the night. it made feel like i did something bad by all the questions i was asked by the strange old lady. it also had peculiar odor throughout the building. it smelled of mold in the walls, but i couldn't pinpoint it. the scenery totally made up for the spanish inquisition i had to go through to get the room.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pickascreenname70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2008

We stayed the night here because the highway to Denali National Park had to be closed unexpectedly for the day/night. We ended up loving our detour and were so glad that we stumbled upon the town of Talkeetna. It had a unique feel to it. Very quirky, artsy, different. Almost all of the rooms were booked in Talkeetna that night because other people were in the same predicament as us with the highway closure. The owner, an older lady, was really accomodating considering we woke her up after 11:00 p.m. in search of a room. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The bathrooms were also clean and had plenty of hot water. Also, it was a very quiet place in the evening.

  • Liked — The owner, comfortable bed and location
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wahoowa91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Talkeetna hotels
0.3 mi away
Denali Fireside Cabins & Suites
0.2 mi away
Swiss-Alaska Inn Talkeetna
1.2 mi away
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge
#1 of 5 in Talkeetna
897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Talkeetna Roadhouse
Talkeetna Roadhouse
#2 of 17 in Talkeetna
311 reviews
5.3 mi away
Denali Overlook Inn
Denali Overlook Inn
#1 of 17 in Talkeetna
248 reviews
10.3 mi away
Talkeetna Denali View Lodge & Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to House of Seven Trees? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House of Seven Trees

Property: House of Seven Trees
Address: 101 Main St, Talkeetna, AK 99676
Region: United States > Alaska > Talkeetna
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Talkeetna
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
House Of Seven Trees Talkeetna, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing