We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Wonderful Time!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Meandering Moose Lodging

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Meandering Moose Lodging
Ranked #5 of 17 Talkeetna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Houston
Level Contributor
71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wonderful Time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

2 nights at the Meandering Moose Lodge. We stayed in the Snoozin Moose and the Munchin Moose cabins. The cabins were perfect and the beds comfy. I liked the sleeping loft the best. It has 2 double/mattresses and a small window over the beds. GREAT sleeping! No living area in the small cabins but who needs it with nature all around. A fire pit and picnic tables were located outside. Kathy was very knowledgable about the area and had good suggestions on what to do and where to eat.

We are so glad we stayed in this quant little town and not closer to Denali as we would have missed the gorgeous views of Mt. Kinley.
Thanks Meandering Moose Lodging!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SugarLandHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    50
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
45
85
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dryden, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2011

Stayed here June 25, 2011. Rented the two bedrooms in the main house and also the Mangy Moose cabin. Awesome place to stay if you want to be away from the crowds but still close to downtown Talkeetna. Beautifully decorated and clean.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve42150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2011

Kathy and Mike treated us like friends and we are so grateful to have met them. They gave us great advice on what to see and do in Talkeetna and even drove us around to show us the best views of the mountain. Accommodations were very comfortable, quiet, and clean. Great atmosphere and food, too. Book this place if you can get it, you won't be sorry!

Amy Jo & Tom Harrell

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank onecamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2011

The meandering moose lodging is cozy and clean. The lobby room is well-designed and the host is very friendly. The most comfortable B&B we've every lived. Would be back if we come to Talkeetna again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank justonestep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lodi, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2011

Had a great stay. Twice. The owner was great, friendly, and informative. We stayed in the Mangy Moose cabin with private bath and kitchenette. The bed was amazingly comfy! It was the first place we stayed once we arrived in Alaska, and came back and stayed on the way back to Anchorage. Want to go back again in winter to see the northern lights and the Meandering Moose will be on my list to stay again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cowdungit2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teaneck, NJ
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2011

Although we saw no moose during our recent stay, that was our only disappointment with this warm and comfy B&B. Kathy was welcoming, helpful, and interesting to talk to. We stayed in a first floor room in the main house with a hall bathroom which we happened to have to ourselves on that particular night. Breakfast was help yourself, and that was fine with us. The house was very clean. We loved the fact that the area was quiet and secluded. The dogs nearby were a literally a howl (sorry!!) and were just part of the atmosphere for us. I'm struck by other reviews that complain about unpaved roads and sled dogs. This is Alaska guys. If you want the same old same old why travel? We'd stay here again without hesitation. And did I mention that the pricing is a great value?

Gail Abramson

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GailAbramson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2011

You almost feel you will encounter a meandering moose as you drive into the woods to reach this unique bed and breakfast. Our first floor room in the main lodge gave us direct access to the kitchen, living room and dining room as well as the extensive front porch. Kathy was an excellent hostess and helped us plan our activities.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank twllearn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Talkeetna hotels
0.9 mi away
Swiss-Alaska Inn Talkeetna
1.8 mi away
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge
#2 of 5 in Talkeetna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
1.2 mi away
Talkeetna Cabins
Talkeetna Cabins
#3 of 5 in Talkeetna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Talkeetna Denali View Lodge & Cabins
1.6 mi away
Susitna River Lodging
Susitna River Lodging
#1 of 16 in Talkeetna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
1.2 mi away
Talkeetna Roadhouse
Talkeetna Roadhouse
#3 of 17 in Talkeetna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meandering Moose Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meandering Moose Lodging

Property: Meandering Moose Lodging
Address: 14677 E Cabin Spike Avenue, Talkeetna, AK 99676
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Talkeetna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Talkeetna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Meandering Moose Lodging 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meandering Moose Lodging offers cabins and B&B at great rates. Quality accommodations within a mile of Talkeetna. Large Cabin can sleep 8 to 10, smaller cabins for smaller groups or individuals. Our B&B has a suite as well as individual private rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Meandering Moose Lodging reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meandering Moose Lodging Hotel Talkeetna
Meandering Moose Lodging Talkeetna, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing