We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic cabin experience but kind of fun!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Meandering Moose Lodging
Ranked #5 of 17 Talkeetna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 June 2013

The drive to this location was rather worrisome but the little cabin we stayed in was a nice surprise. I was also worried about it being a "dry cabin" meaning it didn't have a restroom but the walk to the restroom/ shower house was not really a problem as it stays light all night in Alaska! The price was good for this cabin. Our cabin was clean.The owner, Kathy, was very friendly. We must have miscommunicated about the time for breakfast as we didn't see anyone stirring at 8:30 a.m. when we were ready to leave. This turned out to be a blessing as the breakfast at the Roadhouse in Talkeetna is not to be missed!

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Vicky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (186)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 186 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2013

We stayed in the Mangy Moose cabin (Mama, Papa, 4yo, 18mo) and had a wonderful stay. Kathy was lovely and Scott and Lisa, the caretakers (?), we're absolutely awesome. The cabin was lovely, had everything we needed to cook all our meals there, the beds were comfortable and everything was spotlessly cleaned. We will DEFINITELY be coming back!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BonkersFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013

Meandering Moose was a relaxing getaway for my husband and me with our one-year-old. We stayed in the upstairs suite and enjoyed the large room. Kathy was very accommodating to us in allowing us to do some light cooking in the kitchen to comply with diet requirements. The owners live in the lodge, but we had complete privacy. We enjoyed visiting with them and appreciated their loaning us snowshoes and recommending trails.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LAURA H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

I loved this place! The cabin style B&B is unique and a fun way to stay. Kathy is so sweet and accommodating! I talked to her on the phone before our stay and she recommended we do a flightseeing tour through Talkeetna Air Taxi and I'm so glad she suggested it! We also received a $20 coupon per person for staying there. Also, upon our arrival she let us know of events that were happening downtown. We stayed in the Munchin Moose cabin, which was perfect for just my husband and I and gave us a great experience of a cabin but still with comfortable amenities. There were also two air mattresses in the upper attic area which we didn't need, but would be great for a family with kids. I loved that our cabin had a personalized welcome sign with our name on it when we arrived. It was such a nice thoughtful touch that made it really welcoming. The cabin also seemed very clean and on the newer side. Overall, I would recommend this to anyone wanting a comfortable and clean cabin experience. I would stay again if I was in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StephanieG334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meanderingmoose, Owner at Meandering Moose Lodging, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2013

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

We had a wonderful stay in the Snoozing Moose Cabin. It was absolutely charming and comfortable. Kathy was so welcoming and gracious. She let us borrow their own cross-country skis for a nice tour around some of the local ski paths which was such a great way to spend a snowy day. Our flight tour around Denali was cancelled that day but we didn't mind being snowed in one bit- we were delighted to have such a nice place to call home for a few days.

Thanks so much for a wonderful experience!

Room Tip: The Snoozing Moose cabin had one queen size bed in the main cabin and two queens in the upstairs lof...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stephanieskis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Kathy and Mike were excellent hosts, we really enjoyed our time at the Meandering Moose. We stayed in the main lodge and it was very clean with fun moose decorations everywhere. It was very nice to have breakfast ready in the mornings when we woke up and Kathy and Mike went out of their way to make sure we had a good time. I would definitely stay at the Meandering Moose the next time I'm in Talkeetna.

Room Tip: If you are traveling with a group larger than 3 I recommend one of the cabins located throughout the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmilyMissouri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2012

I liked this place. It was the 2nd time I've stayed here and this time in the larger Mangy Moose cabin. Some people were talking about it being a little rustic with not the most comfortable beds and a "small sink". Well, all I can say is IT'S A CABIN OUT IN THE FREAKIN WOODS!!
I thought it was great and wouldn't hesitate at going back. Price is great two. We had 7 people and there was room for everyone.
One thing though to be aware of; they really hit you on the per person charges but they have to do laundry (out in the woods) and I can understand that.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aksasquatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Talkeetna hotels
0.9 mi away
Swiss-Alaska Inn Talkeetna
1.8 mi away
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge
#2 of 5 in Talkeetna
1,091 reviews
2.0 mi away
Grace and Bill's Freedom Hills B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Chinook Wind Cabins
Chinook Wind Cabins
#7 of 17 in Talkeetna
57 reviews
10.9 mi away
Talkeetna Denali View Lodge & Cabins
13.1 mi away
Talkeetna Wilderness Lodge & Cabin Rentals
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meandering Moose Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meandering Moose Lodging

Address: 14677 E Cabin Spike Avenue, Talkeetna, AK 99676
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Talkeetna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Talkeetna
Price Range: £62 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Meandering Moose Lodging 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meandering Moose Lodging offers cabins and B&B at great rates. Quality accommodations within a mile of Talkeetna. Large Cabin can sleep 8 to 10, smaller cabins for smaller groups or individuals. Our B&B has a suite as well as individual private rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Meandering Moose Lodging reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meandering Moose Lodging Hotel Talkeetna
Meandering Moose Lodging Talkeetna, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing