We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicest mooses of the whole trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Meandering Moose Lodging
Ranked #5 of 17 Talkeetna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ashland, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nicest mooses of the whole trip”
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Kathy and her assistant were about the most accommodating hosts you will find. It is in a quiet wooded setting about a mile from town. We arrived by train and they were waiting on the platform to pick us up. In addition, they ferried us back to town for a flightseeing tour as well as for dinner--even driving us around to show us all the restaurants and attractions.
They have a unique wake up alarm in the morning: First a few dozen planes taking off for flightseeing tours, then a few dozen Alaskan Huskies barking for breakfast from a sled dog team next door. It was way cool.
We would love to go back.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg and Diane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    51
    11
    2
    2
See reviews for
46
91
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
maryland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We booked the Mangy Moose cabin about 4months ago. I had to make changes to the reservation and Kathy was very accomadating. I too was worried when we drove back to the location, however it was a wonderful place to stay. The cabins and main house were spotless, comfortable sheets, thick towels. Thank you for a great place to stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank klepto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
285 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Easy and simple B&B. Friendly owner and very nice accommodations. Quiet atmosphere set off near woods. Would stay here again. Good price, too! Friendly owner who provided a nice and simple continental breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dalpokes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
541 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 296 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

We had a very nice stay at the Meandering Moose. We had a large group so we stayed in the main house, which had a full kitchen and two full bathrooms. Wifi was free and worked well the majority of the time, which is more than I expected for the location. We were a little nervous how we would get around as nothing is within easy walking distance and we did not have a car, but Kathy transported us at no additional cost, even if it was just to go downtown for a few hours. One thing to be aware of is that guests from other cabins come to the main house for breakfast, and one of the bedrooms and bathrooms is right next to the kitchen. This was not a problem for us as we were up early.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kat0425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We had a group of 14 people of who stayed throughout the property. Some in cabins, some in the bed and breakfast, and some in their own travel trailer on the property. We had a fantastic time! Kathy is a great host who aims to please, but in the end became part of the group. The room in the bed and breakfast my boyfriend and I stayed in was perfect, even with a shared bathroom. The place is kept clean, and is very comfortable. We even bought a set sheets based off our experience with the bedding at the bed and breakfast. I truly recommend this place as it is welcoming and allows for group meals, bonfires, and space to relax. The price was also fantastic as Alaska is expensive. We will not soon forget our time at Meandering Moose!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gypsyg_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hiawatha, Kansas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

The drive to this location was rather worrisome but the little cabin we stayed in was a nice surprise. I was also worried about it being a "dry cabin" meaning it didn't have a restroom but the walk to the restroom/ shower house was not really a problem as it stays light all night in Alaska! The price was good for this cabin. Our cabin was clean.The owner, Kathy, was very friendly. We must have miscommunicated about the time for breakfast as we didn't see anyone stirring at 8:30 a.m. when we were ready to leave. This turned out to be a blessing as the breakfast at the Roadhouse in Talkeetna is not to be missed!

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
1 review
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We stayed in the Mangy Moose cabin (Mama, Papa, 4yo, 18mo) and had a wonderful stay. Kathy was lovely and Scott and Lisa, the caretakers (?), we're absolutely awesome. The cabin was lovely, had everything we needed to cook all our meals there, the beds were comfortable and everything was spotlessly cleaned. We will DEFINITELY be coming back!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BonkersFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Talkeetna hotels
0.9 mi away
Swiss-Alaska Inn Talkeetna
1.8 mi away
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge
#1 of 5 in Talkeetna
895 reviews
1.2 mi away
Denali Fireside Cabins & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Talkeetna Denali View Lodge & Cabins
1.5 mi away
Susitna River Lodging
Susitna River Lodging
#1 of 18 in Talkeetna
284 reviews
5.9 mi away
Denali Overlook Inn
Denali Overlook Inn
#1 of 17 in Talkeetna
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meandering Moose Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meandering Moose Lodging

Property: Meandering Moose Lodging
Address: 14677 E Cabin Spike Avenue, Talkeetna, AK 99676
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Talkeetna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Talkeetna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Meandering Moose Lodging 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meandering Moose Lodging offers cabins and B&B at great rates. Quality accommodations within a mile of Talkeetna. Large Cabin can sleep 8 to 10, smaller cabins for smaller groups or individuals. Our B&B has a suite as well as individual private rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Meandering Moose Lodging reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meandering Moose Lodging Hotel Talkeetna
Meandering Moose Lodging Talkeetna, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing